We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true review- good and bad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Playa Pesquero

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Playa Pesquero to your Saves list
Hotel Playa Pesquero
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Pesquero | Carretera a Guardalavaca, Rafael Freyre 11300, Cuba   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A true review- good and bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Me and my family of 10 stayed here for 15 nights from the 29th October, (ages from 22 up to 65), we originally booked to stay in another hotel but due to the damage from hurricane sandy we were told 3 days before flying out that we were staying at playa pesquero instead- to begin with we were gutted however our opinions very much changed.
I must say we had the best flight with thomsons premium and I will now never fly with anyone else it was fantastic.
When we first arrived at pesquero there was broken trees/plastic/rubbish all over the walk ways around the hotel to get to your rooms (this was due to the hurricane and the poor hotel looked like a bomb site), we had been put in rooms so far away from the main complex and from each other, the rooms were awful there was damp walls, bugs everywhere and a ants nest in the bathroom we also had a friendly cockroach there to greet us.
After a terrible night sleep (in my clothes- there was no way I was sleeping in that bed without being covered) we were all moved to a different block where all our rooms were together, we were closer to the main complex and not a cockroach in site. The receptionist and Thomson rep could not be faulted.
From then on our holiday got better, we had a few issues including the Italian restaurant where the staff were so rude (I have been to Cuba 3 times and never met a rude Cuban until now), a few members of the bar staff were miserable and liked to grunt at you a lot, some of the restaurant staff were equally as grumpy and when asking for anything it was a massive effort, the dancers of an evening had the talent but clearly did not want to be there and couldnt be bothered to keep in time with anyone else on stage- it was hard and smbarrasing to watch and one last thing the french canadians are probably the rudest people i have ever met unfortunately nothing can be done about them however they tend to mainly go to cuba in november so I will be returning at a different time of year next time! but that's about it as far as "bad" goes for this hotel... Now for the reasons why you should go...
The beach is beautiful especially right down to the end of the right side,
The food is incredible- absolutely anyone can eat here, our favourite was the beer garden tapas menu especially the calamari and the romantica restaurant is amazing!
The ice cream parlour is the best thing ever but awful for the waist line haha the lady in there is always smiling and so friendly make sure you try the mango ice cream- wow!!!
The mojito bar is a must- best mojitos I have ever had and the service is great!
The "egg lady" in the buffet made mine and my boyfriends mornings! She remembers you and can't do enough to help (I wish I could remember her name).
You can always get a sunbed whether its round the pool or the beach.
The sun cruise excursion with the dolphin swim is the best trip ever I have swam with dolphins 3 times and this is the best! Fabulous day!
The entertainment team do everything they can and are brilliant but it is a shame not one of the dancers look like they want to be there when doing the shows- luckily the entertainment team make up for it (lea, Ellie, Dickson, marsial)
The Cuban people should be so proud of themselves on how they managed with the hurricane, within 4 days of being there the hotel was completely cleaned up including a brand new roof on one of the buildings! They work so hard!
I would definitely recommend this hotel, if you want to relax and have fun and eat and drink well then book it! Thank you playa pesquero! X

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,917
    1,889
    627
    237
    132
See reviews for
1,845
2,401
162
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,189)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This is mine and my partners second time to playa pesquero. My experience of this hotel Has been nothing but positive, I can't fault it. The staff here are brilliant, despite a lot of them having suffered damage to there homes from hurricane sandy they still come in to work with a smile on there faces. I have nothing but admiration for them. The hotel itself is lovely. The rooms are nice and clean and the food is lovely. The beach is amazing.
Me and my partner always get involved in the activities by the entertainment area and I would like to give a special mention to Lia, Eli and Dixhan from the animation team. We knew Lia and Eli from our previous visit and we got to know dixhan during this visit. I can't speak highly enough of these 3 people. They all do a fantastic job and are such lovely genuine people and they really made the difference to our holiday. We both have already decided that will be returning next year. A new addition this year is the jungle volleyball court next to the entertainment pool which is brilliant. This year we met some great people and we all played jungle volley ball everyday which was so much fun which the guests and entertainment reps.
This hotel is huge but it has something for everyone and I would recommend it to anyone thinking of staying at this resort.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I have traveled Cuba frequently, and stayed at many resorts. Playa Pesquero was certainly the best we have stayed at in 15 years. The people are friendly, the service is great and the food is actually really good. My favorite was the Seafood restaurant, had the lobster and it was great and was free as one of your a la cartes. There is no need to pay to go to the Bistro as the food every where is good.
The beer gardens is open 24 hours, and you can actually get a cold bottle of beer there and some great snacks.

Keep an eye open for Alfredo on the beach, he will get your drinks for you and he is quick.

Only thing to keep in mind for next year is to travel before they set the clocks back so you do not lose an hour of daylight.

Would return and recommend this hotel to any one who wants to go to Cuba.

Room Tip: Bungalows 17 and 18 are the best for the pool bar and general location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

This was the second time we had been the Playa Pesquero after we first went in July' 2011. We arrived on the 29/10/12 and only heard about hurricane sandy a few days before so we were worried about the state of our hotel, however we were made aware that prior to our arrival the animation team reps, tourists, cleaners, waitresses etc had all chipped in and cleaned the hotel up in just days. We could only see a small amount of debris and numerous snapped or damaged trees in the beatiful gardens surrounding the resort. We had 2 cloudy days and the rest stunning blue skys. The reason we came back again is not just because of the glorious weather, and white sand beaches but because of how hard the animation team work, last year we met ellie and leah,and they were again there this year along with a new member of our now favourite trio, dixon. They instantly remembered myself and my girlriend by our first names, amazing considering the amount of people that have been there between our last visit and now. Every day the animation team wil make u feel welcome, they simply cant do enough and considering the awful damage they suffered to their homes its amazing they can put a front on it and continue to work 16hr days. Leah, ellie and dixon are the reason we will going back again in 2013.
I will do a quick pointer of other highlights you should partake in if your visiting:-romantico, seafood and grill- best 3 of the alicarte menus. (lobster in romantico is lovely). Drinks wise- as always the spirits with mixers are very strong so something easy to drink other than wine and beer are champagne (free) and rum punch, very fruity. Activities- along with a core group, we played beach volley ball twice a day most days. Its located next to the activities pool and is often organised by the king of volley, dixon, who at just a stocky 5ft6 shouldnt be good but is an absolute machine, must of looked odd when i tried to spike one down on him considering im a gangly 6ft3. Its jungle rules too, meaning if a wild serve is going out but then smacks into a palm tree and back into play then that counts. Great way to get plenty of colour too. Other fav activities of ours would also be tennis, water polo, water volley, table tennis. some rooms could do with bit of decorating but not ugly, just bit tatty. Maids are excellent, polite and friendly. Contrary to other reviews tips are not expected but baring in mind the average monthly income in cuba is 12-15 cc peso per month, (roughly £8-10) then the odd tip here and there is greatly appreciated. Mojitos in thw mojito bar are brilliant but strong as my girlfriend will tell you after i was left to go to dinner alone one evening when after several mojitos she conked out in the room.One pet hate i do have are the french canadians that will go around all day with huge beakers which they often rudely smack down on the bar expecting a barman or barwoman to fill it up with any drink they desire. I dont understand why they cant just get off their behinds and grab a drink when they are thirsty not hold a water bucket like a saint bernard around their necks all day. So as you can see i could write books about this hotel, its fantastic value for money and the people make it brilliant!
Look out for ellie, leah and dixon and you wont be disapointed!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

this hotel is the biggest we have been in but you never felt crowded in. the room was lovely but i requested a top floor room and got a ground floor one not a great start.the beach was really nice and pool area spacious plenty of shade if you want it.we went in wedding party( 27)and everything went very smoothly i am the grooms dad.the wedding and the meal on the beach after was excellent.the food in the buffet restaurant was quite good and there was plenty of choice for me the rest of our group also enjoyed it.there was plenty of places to eat in the day the kids with us loved being able to go and get an ice cream when ever they liked. so did i.its a great hotel for families but we prefer smaller hotels so we wont go back staff were very helpful .great coffee

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, uk
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Just arrived back from 2 weeks- 2 adults, 2 kids. We were vey worried about going due to the hurricane, but apart from some damage in the gardens (trees blown down etc) and the sea a bit murky for the first couple of days, there was nothing to worry about. All restaurants, shops up to full service. Our room was large and clean- we had 2 double beds and 2 single beds (best part of the holiday having a double bed to myself much to my husbands horror!... )
A few pointers- walk around the headland to the right of the beach, it was unspoilt and lovely. We went to the left, but be careful, the were locals that followed us out of sight of the hotel security and kept asking us for money, giving us a sob story etc one male kept following us and became quite intimidating, so my husband had to tell him to leave us alone. however, if you keep ypur wits about you, do go to the left as there's the river and a quieter cove with really clear water.
We did the dolphin trip- it was amazing, we don't normally agree with/condone animals in captivity but the Marine park is in the sea and surrounded by mangroves and mountains. W paid about £200 for the 4 of us and our daughters paid extra to do the tricks, which were about £15 each for 3 different tricks each. You don't get lunch on this trip so take a snack if needed. We also did the island catermaran, which was about £180 for the 4 of us. We were a bit disappointed with this trip, as you spend a lot of time on the boat, then a short time snorkelling, quite nice lunch on an island with some free time. It just didn't feel worth the money to us.
We also went on a horse and cart to guardevalaca, it was £20 return for this, but it did take an hour so we felt value for money. The market there was only a touristy market with souvenirs which was dissapointing , but the beach was beautiful.
We didn't feel there was enough activities for children really, particularly the age they are at (11,12) most of the animation stuff tended to be taken up by adults. However, our daughters enjoyed the beach and the sea.
We spent a lot of time snorkelling and we are all strong swimmers. The snorkelling is great if you go left of the gazebo and quite deep, but beware of the jellyfish! There were a few big Ish ones and a lot of smaller ones and we all had a few stings (nothing major, felt like a little electric shock).
Seating around the pool was incredibly frustrating. The selfishness of people astounded me! Most loungers are taken up by people and claimed even when they are not there for most of the day! One couple had claimed 2 areas of the seating, one large under cover area suitable for a family or group and were then sat a bit further along. When asked whether the covered area was being used, they told us that they kept the area in case it rained! In the meantime, ourselves and others were relentlessly walking round and round just looking for a chair!
We went to the cubano , romantico and Italian restaurants, all nice but service slow at times, a refreshing break from the buffet though. Be warned, the queue to book the a la cartes is busy in the morning. Also, availability is tight, but you can go back late afternoon and ask for any cancellations.
We tipped the staff every so often, (the room cleaner, drink man occasionally etc)and the odd members of staff would expect it, but not all.
Try a Brazilian coffee- wasn't on the menu, and not for the light hearted but a coffee I will not forget! Also, have a heaven cocktail- yum!
The resort is huge and there were loads of people, a lot of Canadians and French Canadians as well as Manchester flights. You can be as involved or not as you like at this resort- go to all the shows, activities etc or just do your own thing, there is a lot of food and drink at all times so you can suit your own needs.
The resort is bigger than we would choose and more people than we would choose, but a lovely resort, hard working and friendly staff, lovely beach and lovely country with loads f history, and overall a great family holiday.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a really good stay there staff were all friendly.Rooms were nice and clean food and drink was nice.the holiday reps and all the staff were really helpful and happy.we done the steam train trip and the tour around cigar factory which I found really interesting the trips were all really cheap u will have a really good time u cuba one of my favourite holidays :)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rafael Freyre
0.0 mi away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 mi away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 7 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ottley's Plantation Inn
Ottley's Plantation Inn
#1 of 6 in Basseterre
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Palms
Royal Palms
#1 of 3 in South Hill
5.0 of 5 stars 34 reviews
0.0 mi away
South Caicos Ocean & Beach Resort
0.0 mi away
Resort Catalonia Punta Cana
Resort Catalonia Punta Cana
#76 of 98 in Punta Cana
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Playa Pesquero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Playa Pesquero

Address: Playa Pesquero | Carretera a Guardalavaca, Rafael Freyre 11300, Cuba
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Playa Pesquero 5*
Number of rooms: 968
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Playa Pesquero reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Pesquero Cuba
Playa Pesquero Hotel Cuba
Hotel Playa Pesquero Cuba
Hotel Playa Pesquero Holguin Province, Cuba
Playa Pesquero Holguin Cuba
Playa Pesquera
Pesquero Playa
Playa Pasquero

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Playa Pesquero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.