We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Memories Holguin Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rafael Freyre
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Memories Holguin Beach Resort
Save
You added Memories Holguin Beach Resort to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Playa Yuraguanal | Playa Yuraguanal - Holguin, Rafael Freyre 82.200, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
1 review
“Awesome resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We were at the resort from April 21 to April 28. The weather was perfect, hot every day. The people who work on the resort are all super friendly, always wanting to make your vacation as great as possible. The rooms are airconditioned and very comfortable. The food was varied and plentiful. I really liked going to the lobby bar, the best cappuccino ever. I would definitely recommend this resort to my family and friends. We had a great time and will be returning again

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    117
    43
    10
    4
See reviews for
85
96
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Have stayed at this resort numerous times. beautiful resort and very friendly staff! Also was married there. Excellent place for a wedding! Have traveled with two children and this is a great place for family vacations

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We went from April 10 to April 17, 2015 and had the best weather all week. I believe it rained one time and it was at night.
The food was decent, never going hungry by any means. We brought ketchup and used nearly the whole bottle due to the kids.
The Cuban and Italian restaurant were really really good!
The entertainment was probably best I've ever seen. The Magic show was incredible! !! The kids still talk about it now.
The rooms were immaculate and the maid was amazing. But with no brushes on the bottom of the doors, ants definitely come in so make.sure you leave no food anywhere. We also had 2 big cockroaches come in the room. The maid killed them for us.

If you are traveling with kids. DO NOT STAY AT THE FAMILY SUITES!!!!! The problem is that the suites are a 10-15mins walk from lobby, add another 10mins from kid pool near beach. The shuttles are available but out of 5, only 3 were operational and all were usually battery dead by the afternoon. The walk to the room after a long day with little kids is not fun!
One other issue is then shade around the pool, I woke up at 5am every morning to walk down and secure a few chairs for the day.
Requests for Management:
Have shuttles solely for Family Suites.
Have more working shuttles.
And put up more shaded areas near the pools.
Would we go back? I suppose if the price was right and not in family suites. Get an adjoining room.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver S, Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review, yesterday
Dear Phil,

Many thanks for your time and for your lines.

In the meantime, we will do our best to improve our services and keep our standards in such way that many more guests decide to visit us and enjoy the best of our traditions together with a superior level of comfort.
One more time thanks for providing part of your precious time to share your experience of Memories Holguin with the TripAdvisors readers.

The Management Team of Memories Holguin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in this resort from April 17-25 and we hit the heat wave. It was 39 degrees every day and not a drop,of rain. Bring lots of sunscreen lotion with you.

This is a very decent resort with 7 pools that are placed on a hill. It is for everyone, singles, couples and families with kids. There are about 70 stairs to get to the breakfast/ lunch buffet from the beach. If you have problems walikng, this is not for you even though you have an option to walk up the hill without taking stairs. Your walk is long. You can ask for a golf car service but there are very few cars available.

There is another lunch buffet ( not breakfast) directly on the beach at El Criollo restaurant where the seleciton of food is smaller. You can also have fresh hamburgers, hot dogs and pizza on the beach.

This resort is 11 years old and has older furniture/tv but it is kept very clean and that is what we liked about it. Our made was fantastic. Though, it would not hurt to make an upgrade. what extra you have in your room? It is two 750 ml bottles of rum that are in a bar. You get two beers, soft drinks and water in your fridge which is filled daily. and there was not once they missed filling it. I have to admit that for the money we paid for our trip, there is no complaint about the room as we spent most of the time on the beach/ pool.

Maintenance Services are also great. Our safe stopped working the second day. when I called zero I was told to stay in the room and somebody will come over. The service person came wirhin 2 minutes. I had to call one more time for another rason and the service person came within 5 minutes. This was truly amazing!

Breakfast was great, lunch and dinner not bad at all. We only went to buffets so we can't comment on restaurants. Selecion is limited especially at the beach restaurant. Food needs to be covered as there are a lot of birds and flies around. My suggestion would be to dip to the botom of every dish. We truly enjoyed all the soups so congratulation to the Cuban cooks. If you like ketchup, bring your own as Cuban's ketchup tastes like BBQ sauce with garlic but you can live without ketchup for a week, can't you? Services in the buffets were great. At El Criollo we were served by one girl who remembered us and broght us wine as she knew what we were drinking. this was very nice.

Pools are great but there are limited spaces for shades. Towels were not a problem and chairs neither. at the beach the lawn chairs ar given by the beach person so we tipped him daily. This system protects people from taking too many chairs and not using them. you are not asked to tip daily but we did anyway.

Ocean is shallow so there is not mucn swimming there. water was refreshing in the morning but warm in the afternoon. Sand was nice, smooth and white, nice to walk on.

Entertainment was absolutely the best we've seen and we take trips 2-3 times a year. We had a great experience with Jaymara and John (?) who are in the fitness centre. twice a week they have Zumba, other days step class and stretching but they will accomodate classes to your needs. Jaymara gave us a private salsa lesson which was great. we just wish we would have strated it at the beginning of our trip. Thank you Jaymara. You work so hard on a daily basis and you are still very pleasant and friendly.

If you want to be close to the beach, you can ask for room 620 which is pass the playground. There is also Le Criolla restaurant there. If you want to be close to pools, ask for the numbers between 418-425 or 550-557.

Suggestions to the management of this resort:
- cover food, salads, fruits and cakes
- add brushes at the bottom of doors in rooms (check Memories in Cayo Coco) it protects bugs from coming in from the outside
- add name labels to all servers so we can compliment them in our reviews

Room Tip: top floors are the best, ask for non smoking room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver S, Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Marianna,

Thanks for your nice comments about our pool and our food. Our staff has received your compliments and appreciates your effort to communicate it to others.

Thanks as well for pointing out the clean rooms and the sugestions giving by you, actually we are working on it.

We hope that some day you will come back to our city. Our staff will be delighted to welcome you back.

The Management Team of Memories Holguin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My best friend and I stayed at this resort and it was our best vacation yet...We were treated like queens!! The staff were so accommodating. Joel, who was working at the restaurant reservations, made sure we got the restaurants we wanted and took the time to explain the menus. I don't eat fish and he had the restaurants make a special menu for me. He also worked at the bar and even before I ordered, he already had my drink ready for me!!
The rooms were always clean and they are very spacious. The grounds of the hotel are spectacular. Beautiful trees and flowers every where.

Room Tip: We were up near the lobby, which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver S, Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Karen S

Thanks for your comments. We are glad you could enjoy your stay in our facility, which for us is pure satisfaction.

We are grateful for your review and at the same time we are glad your opinion of our hotel is the best.

Thanks for your compliments to our service and nice meals. We hope to have the chance to have you back with us very shortly.

It was very kind of you to recommend us and provide such great punctuation.

The Management Team of Memories Holguin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Recently spent a week in April 2015 at Memories, Holguin. Hotel need some repair, simply painting would make a world of difference. Rooms are dated and sometimes you can smell the sewer. Hotel does not have simple things like straws for your drink, no coasters, no paper towel, no Kleenex in rooms, no body lotion, conditioner or shower caps. Be sure to bring your own. This resort is NOT a 4 1/2 star, more like a 3 1/2 star. I have been to many four and five star hotels and this hotel definitely does not meet the criteria.

The entertainment was very good, the beach had lots of seaweed but the sand was white and you could always find loungers and a hut to sit under. The food was not bad, but the steak was very tough. They had plenty of fruits. You could always find something to eat. The pools were very clean and had plenty of loungers to sit on. Staff were friendly.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs not for older people or anyone with knee problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver S, Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Bbcccddddsdsrrr,

Thanks for your nice comments about your recent stay in our hotel. We are extremely happy you had a wonderful time among us and we appreciate the fact that you have recommend our hotel to others.

In regards for the amenities in the rooms, let me tell you that we have a customer service line to ensure you have everithing you needed during your stay 2906, anyway my apologies that you did not get this service.

We will be at your service any time you decide to visit us again and thanks again for your time.

Best Regards

The management team of Memories Holguin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We travelled family of 3. Check in was very fast. Shuttle to our room very efficient upon arrival. As other reviews were stated a lot of stairs, it was true. But we find a way to find short cuts on our way to either the beach or the reception. Our rooms were in building 700's wich we found 5 minutes to the beach and same for the reception/buffet. The staff is always there to meet your expectations with a smile. Animation staff always invited customers to participate in different activities, dining room service always greeting you with a welcome, gardeners always warmth people with a "hola". In general this resort is a genuine place of attraction for your next holidays.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver S, Manager at Memories Holguin Beach Resort, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Gill,

Thanks for leaving such positive review of your stay in our facility. We are very happy to know that you had a really nice stay and we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We expect to have you around very soon and wish you the best.

The Management Team of Memories Holguin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Memories Holguin Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memories Holguin Beach Resort

Address: Playa Yuraguanal | Playa Yuraguanal - Holguin, Rafael Freyre 82.200, Cuba (Formerly Hotel Riu Playa Turquesa)
Location: Caribbean > Cuba > Holguin Province > Rafael Freyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Rafael Freyre
Hotel Class:4 star — Memories Holguin Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 531
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape to the lush paradise of Holguin, Cuba and enjoy a wonderful stay at the Memories Holguin. Resting on beautiful Yuraguanal Beach, this impressive and charming all inclusive resort is the perfect place for families, couples, and singles alike. Memories Holguin features affordable accommodations with great amenities. Enveloped by lush foliage and tropical vegetation, Memories Holguin harmonizes perfectly with the natural environment. The hotel's main guestrooms are decorated with vibrant, tropical colours, and feature signature Memories amenities to ensure the height of comfort and style. Guests of all ages will delight in the abundance of activities and entertainment that run day and night along with several spectacular pools. Holguin beaches of white sand are among the most beautiful in the Atlantic ocean described by Christopher Columbus himself as "the eyes of the most beautiful country that man has ever seen". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sirenis Playa Turquesa Hotel Holguin
Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa Hotel
Occidental Grand Playa Turquesa Cuba
Grand Playa Turquesa Cuba
Memories Holguin Beach Resort Holguin Province, Cuba

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Memories Holguin Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.