We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A favorite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kyushu Japanese Restaurant

Kyushu Japanese Restaurant
9 Grosvenor St, Neutral Bay, North Sydney, New South Wales 2089, Australia
(02) 9953 8272
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 97 Restaurants in Neutral Bay
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Neutral Bay, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We go to Kyushu very often, absolutely love the food! They recently have put up there prices but it's still the best japanese food. Sashimi is always fresh and delicious, and just about anything you order is going to satisfy you. It's BYO which is always handy. Book in advance, as they are always busy, and unlikely to get a table from a walk in.. Highly recommend!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    1
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

We had beef and fish for dinner tonight and found the food is disappointing. It is not what we expected as " clean, exquisite" Japanese food. The fish is totally lost in teriyaki souce and batter. There is no freshness in fish at all. Beef is chewy and does not taste anything good.
There is a lot of decent Japanese restuarants out there. The food quality offered in this restaurant is more like what is offered in working class club in Japan.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“For lovers of Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

This was a our second time visiting here, and it was just a s good as we remembered. Bookings are a must, as this place gets very busy. We came with a group of friends, and had a variety of meals. From sashimi, octopus , pork, tempura, beef and everything was just perfect. Prices are very reasonable, and its BYO.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“good dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

I like this place alot! It is on the smaller side so you can feel a bit squished but the food was super fresh and tasty! I definately reccomend the sashimi it was delicious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Popular Popular Popular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We were asked to wait for 30 minutes without booking. But it is worth the time. Teriyaki chicken is great. Sashimi is very fresh.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kyushu Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Neutral Bay, North Sydney
Neutral Bay, North Sydney
 

Been to Kyushu Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kyushu Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.