We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oakley Hall Hotel

Save Saved
You added Oakley Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oakley Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7EL, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Sizzler
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Oakley
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A very enjoyable New Years Eve at the dinner/dance, the food was excellent as was the service. The event was well organised and our room was clean, comfortable and the staff were friendly, would definitely come again.
Would also like to recommend the afternoon tea in the library, so good I've been twice.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    303
    72
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
29
266
8
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here on January 4th, simply for a night of luxury as a reward for hard work. A better choice could not have been made. I chose to book Dinner B&B in the Courtyard suite (worth the extra £20), and from the lovely first view if the hotel itself it did not disappoint as many hotels do despite some good reviews....The staff were friendly, but not intrusive, throughout our stay. This is a family run hotel and it is clear that everything has taken thought and care to put it together and run so smoothly.
The Courtyard suite is on two levels, and the standard of fitting is superb. Lovley shower and very comfy bed. They even leave a sheet of up to date weather forcasts with some choccies in the room on arrival. We arranged an early check-in to maximise relaxation, and had the afternoon tea for two. Beware...it is enough for 3/4, but they will let you take some away if you have room later. We also booked for dinner, which was lovely as well. One dish, the pheasant, was superb. Breakfast is cooked to order, and again, lovely.
The grounds are pleasant to walk around weather permitting, and we hope in the future the beautiful walled garden will be restored as done by other estates to get revenue from visitors and supply the kitchen. A nice touch is the illumination of the garden at night, again done with thought. Look out for herds of deer near Garden Cottage.
If you want to treat yourself, relax, get married or just for some luxury in business, we feel this hotel will not let you down. Looking for an excuse to go again in the future !

Room Tip: Any in the Courtyard, especially the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My husband turned 40 on 2nd Jan and i had read such good reviews of this hotel i booked us in for an overnight stay. Just for once the timing of my husband's birthday made it something to remember. Pulling into the grounds the hotel looked amazing. On booking in at reception our room had been upgraded which is something that never happens to us. The courtyard room was lovely. The bed was big and comfy, the bathroom had heated flooring and double sinks with a big walk in shower and it was decorated very tastefully and so peaceful. The meal in the restaurant was very very good, with good portion sizes. The drinks are a little pricey but not ridiculously so and we had the whole restaurant to ourselves. Breakfast was also delicious and we had a view of the gardens while we ate and saw deer, rabbits and squirrels. The staff were all very professional but friendly. Normally my husband's birthday is a bit of a non-event being just after xmas and new year but this year it was finally special and i would love to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here after seeing reviews on this site.
We stayed in the courtyard rooms they are so comfortable I have never slept so well.
Food 1st class and staff superb to go with it.
Only thing that lets hotel down is reception and bar area, just not in keeping with the style of hotel, really lacking of atmosphere with the quality of the rest of this place.
Grounds quite beautiful area so nice with great pub Resturant down road (red lion)
Would defiantly come again
Happy new year Oakley hall hotel and thanks

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We just spent an amazing Christmas at Oakley Hall thanks to the fabulous staff and amazing setting. We stayed in the charming cottage in the grounds, which was very comfortable and only 4 minutes walk away from the main hotel.
The main thing that made the stay extra special was the fabulous staff, for whom nothing was too much trouble,despite the very busy time. They made the effort to treat us as if we were worth getting to know and this made us feel very welcome.
As for the food...there was plenty of it and it was delicious.
All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay at a special time of year, we are already saving for next year!!

Room Tip: The cottage was perfect for up to 6 people, but not very good cooking facilities for self catering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I stayed here on Friday 30th November as part of a 'girls night out' - Dined in their restaurant and stayed in th Coutyard rooms.
Check in was trouble free, howver if staying in a courtyard room, don't unload your luggage to check in as you'll need to take the very short drive around to the courtyard.
The room was beautiful, immaculate, quiet and had a perfect view. The restaurant - First class service and exquisite food.
Overall a perfect stay with a 12 out of 12 success rate with the ladies that stayed.
All staff were extremely attentive and helpful. Jonathan (reception) made everyone feel welcome and a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: if needing a quiet room - courtyard rooms are perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

We took advantage of a very good Travelzoo offer which gave us one night's bed and breakfast and a five course tasting menu for dinner.The hotel is approached via a long winding drive and when you arrive it is very beautiful indeed. The hotel is set in over 300 acres of grounds and is imposing and immaculate. Check-in was handled professionally by the team of two at reception and we were allocated a courtyard room at the rear of the main hotel. The room was decorated in a modern contemporary style and was spotlessly clean with a very generous bathroom containing bath and shower. A short stroll through the rear gardens brought us to the main block and we sat in the bar area with very nice cocktails until we were called to our table. The food was excellent, very well presented and cooked and the five courses included prawns wrapped in potato spaghetti, a delicious lamb main course and a rather nice pannacotta for pudding. The experience at Oakley Hall was very special and we would have liked to spend more time enjoying all the hotel had to offer. I must mention the cooked breakfast which was huge (and lovely) and the serving staff who were excellent- very personable and professional.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oakley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hall Hotel

Address: Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakley Hall Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakley Hall has now been beautifully restored to its former self. Offering a perfect setting for weddings, conferences, team building and corporate events. Now with 18 luxurious bedrooms and one three-bedroom cottage Oakley Hall is one of the finest venues in Hampshire for your country retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Oakley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakley Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.