We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Superb rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakley Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oakley Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Oakley Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7EL, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sizzler
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Superb rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We too up our first Travelzoo offer some months ago and booked to a one night visit in November. The hotel is smaller than it looks with just 18-20 bedrooms and large impressive public rooms; the small number of rooms results in good service from fewer staff who multi task and make you feel like a house guest. Despite the fact there was a wedding that night the service in the bar and restaurant was excellent. The staff are unpretentious and relaxed we really enjoyed the light humour, they clearly enjoy their jobs which is so nice to see.

Our courtyard bedroom a few minutes walk away from the hotel was well above the average with every gadget you needed, fresh mik in the fridge and bottled water, the rooms are spacious and well appointed and the parking outside makes everything easy.

We had the 5 course taster menu, the food and service was exceptionally good, first class well presented food, portions were small but beautiful and simply divine.

On Sunday we took a 3 miles walk thought the grounds and fields to a small church in Oakley, bring your walking boots the countryside is lovely and on your doorstep. There is a very pretty cottage in the grounds which you can book, if you wanted a romantic break do look at this it is like a fairytale so well located away from the hotel yet near enough to stagger to if you decide to eat in the hotel.

The offer we took up was excellent value, the location is easy from where we live in Surrey, we'll certainly return again when we need to relax and breathe some fresh air. You can stay here for less than the cost of a good meal in London.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    102
    27
    8
    4
See reviews for
45
335
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, AUS & Prague, CZ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I selected this hotel as it is a short drive from Basingstoke and looked quiet and luxurious. The main building has been beautifully refurbished, but in fairness I stayed 40 minutes in this building though, as it is not where the rooms are.. The rooms are a short 2 minute drive from the building, so a tip: do not unpack all your bags from your car and drag them to reception! Check-in, and then drive the car around to the courtyard rooms and then take your bags out. very convenient having the car park right in front of your room, and with only 18 hotel rooms you don't hear any noise. The rooms are very well furnished and have everything a business traveller needs.



THE PROS: Modern, clean and comfortable room - looks brand new. White Company amenities, huge bathroom with heated floors, friendly hotel staff, huge grounds.

THE CONS: F&B room service was a bit hit and miss - and the hotel does need to tighten this up. Eventually what was served up was delicious and well presented albeit a touch overpriced.



Will definitely look to stay here again, it really is a beautiful hotel and very well positioned for business in Basingstoke. Looking forward to booking a clay pigeon session next time!

Room Tip: The clock tower suite looks to be the number 1 choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We spent just one night here last Saturday - we arrived to a really efficient and friendly welcome from Reception staff - our Court Yard room was fabulous - cosy with beautiful soft furnishings - White Company toiletries provided - we enjoyed a lovely lunch in the bar, five course tasting menu in the evening - good wine and great food - before leaving in the morning we enjoyed a hearty breakfast - for sure we'll be making a return visit - thank you to all staff we had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the Court Yard rooms - beautifully furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
256 helpful votes 256 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel cannot be recommended highly enough, both the establishment itself and the staff who worked there, my Wife + myself booked this break via TravelZoo which included a 5 course tasting menu, and full breakfast. We stayed in a courtyard room which I assume were originally stables, but whatever they were fitted out to the highest degree, including little touches such as Chocolates, fresh fruit, little biscuits, and even fresh milk to go with the included tea + coffee

The evening tasting food was laid out to perfection, not too large, but ample, whilst the breakfast was part help yourself to the usual cereals, cold meats, and cheeses, juices, whilst the included option of eggs, kippers etc were cooked to order, and brought to the table along with toast, teas, coffees etc.

We have been on similar TravelZoo stays, but this hotel was the very best. After dinner we went for a walk around the hotel, and it is made up of little meeting rooms, which I suppose in its original days were the bedrooms, and from the 1st floor you could look over into the bar area on the floor below.

The gardens are enormous, and well laid out, and after breakfast we took a short stroll along the footpaths around the hotel, and in the summer you get the impression that after your evening meal you would be able to sit outside with a drink, and watch the deer gracing out on the lawns

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our fist visit to Oakley Hall with a Travelzoo deal.

The place was absolutely fantastic. The rooms were spacious (ours was just a courtyard room, not an executive), well laid out and with all of the required facilities (daily truffles, plenty of tea and coffee, large bath and large shower, slippers, robes, two 32" tvs and selection of DVDs).
The staff were very friendly and helpful.

As part of our deal we had a 5 course tasting menu, which was lovely: some small portions, but adequate for a tasting menu; also fish options were promptly arranged on request to replace meat dishes.

Breakfast each morning was prompt and excellent, with a good selection of cooked foods, pastries, juices, cereals, etc.

We cannot wait to find an excuse to go back and relax!

All this place is missing is a nice spa area (jacuzi, sauna, steam...)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMSEY, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at the Oakley Hall Hotel.....fantastic food and service,particular from Ganesh, paul and Michael......thanks ver much. Rooms were luxurious,comfortable with attention to detail....far beyond expectations! Public rooms a little soul less but this didn't detract the overall enjoyment.

Room Tip: We stayed in the a courtyard room, very quiet, the cheapest and excellent value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband and I went on a one night DBB break through Living Social. From the minute you arrive you are treated like special guests. We had a courtyard room which was wonderful. Little touches like chocolates, fruit basket and even a rubber duck in the bathroom. We had a five course tasting menu and when the first course came out you knew it would all be good.

Breakfast was enormous and very very tasty.

All in all a brilliant stay - thank you

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakley Hall Hotel

Address: Rectory Road | Basingstoke, Oakley, Basingstoke RG23 7EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Basingstoke > Oakley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Oakley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakley Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Until 2009 Oakley Hall Hotel solely hosted weddings, meetings, conferences and events, before becoming established as one of the leading hotels in Hampshire, along with the 2 AA Rosette restaurant. In 2014, a major £4 million restoration project saw Oakley Hall Hotel returned to its full glory. With 50 beautiful bedrooms, suites and even a delightful 3-bedroom Garden Cottage from which to choose, guests can indulge in a luxurious stay, enjoy a relaxing drink in the 1795 Bar & Lounge and a fine dining experience in the award-winning 2 AA Rosette Glasshouse Restaurant. Outside there are acres and acres of stunning grounds to explore. From a gentle walk to an early morning run or an afternoon of clay pigeon shooting, there are plenty of things to do. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Oakley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakley Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.