We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, so-so service.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Mercato

Il Mercato
1595 Bedford Highway | Sunnyside Mall, Bedford, Nova Scotia B4A 3Y4, Canada
+1 902-832-4531
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 52 Restaurants in Bedford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night
Description: Il Mercato - a truly authentico Italiano trattoria. Experience the very best of Italian food, wine and service. Our handmade dishes are made with passione, using the finest, freshest ingredients from Italian and local producers. Everything - from the music, the scenes, the focaccia to the gelato, even the pottery and lighting - are tutto Italiano!
Halifax
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good food, so-so service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

After making a reservation a week prior to going there, we were sitted in a heavy traffic area next to the bar and the exit (packed with people lining up to get in), so no privacy...
Service was very slow, our waitress did not seem to care much and kept disappearing for long periods of time, dirty dishes were sitting on the table for too long, water was not refilled in time.
Food was good tasting, but we found it overpriced for a small portion size.

We are not likely to return to this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    123
    31
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A Fantastic Italian Restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I have taken a number of colleagues and customers to this restaurant since discovering it about a year ago. The decor and ambiance are wonderful and the service has always been top notch! I consider the food as good as any other Italian restaurant I have ever been to all while being incredibly generous and affordable. I have never had a bad experience, not even a bad component to a visit. The fresh pasta is perfect and the desserts are out of this world!!! Can't wait to be back in Halifax :)

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, NS
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Just a lovely evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is just a lovely a lovely restaurant, the staff mAke you feel like family, service is great and
The food makes you want to go back. There are many exciting combinations but keep room for dessert.
Just a lovely spot to take some special

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic as usual”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This restaurant is consistently top of my list and we are lucky to have it right here in Bedford. I agree with the comment someone else made about the cost of a glass of wine being too expensive but the food is well worth the price.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
375 reviews 375 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

You'll know by the wonderful smells when you arrive that you are in for a fabulous meal. I had the Classic Linguine Carbonara. I had had carbonara in Rome but this was very different. No cream so drier than I expected but fantastic. I preferred this version. The waitress told me that it is the recipe from the region of Italy where either the owner or the chef is from. Four of us had a wonderful experience but unfortunately we were too full to try the desserts. They looked amazing!
I can't wait to return to il Mercato and try the other dishes. I think the prices are reasonable given the quality of the food. The pasta dishes range from $14 to $18.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Mercato also viewed

Bedford, Halifax Region
Bedford, Halifax Region
 
Halifax, Halifax Region
Halifax, Halifax Region
 

Been to Il Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Mercato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.