We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Edible Matters

Edible Matters
1345 Hammons Plains Road, Bedford, Nova Scotia B4B 1P6, Canada
1 (902) 446-5588
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 52 Restaurants in Bedford
Cuisines: Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch and were both pleasantly surprised by what was inside. You'll have to forgive me as I grew up remembering this place as only a bakery. I would never have guessed (without reading the sign) that this place served meals. Sorry for my ignorance.

The interior is nicely laid out. It reminded me of a trendy coffee shop that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. A display case showcasing their homemade deserts great you as you make your way to your seat.

Our lunch, consisting of soup, sandwiches, baked beans, salad and desert was all good. The curry squash soup and baked beans lacked a little flavour . The peanut butter chocolate tart was pure heaven. The meal portions are not huge but ended up being enough.

The sandwiches are served on a wood board/cutting board with parchment paper, which I thought was very cool.

The place is well lit and clean. There are several windows between you and the kitchen allowing you to see your meal being prepared and to see all the baked goods and deserts coming out of the oven. Also very cool.

Our waitress was awesome. Very attentive and polite. Our coffee (which was really good) was constantly replenished.

We both loved this place and look forward to going back for the dinner menu.

Visited December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    20
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2014

Friendly staff. Nice ambience with a very unique menu that I understand changes regularly. Prices were quite reasonable relative to what I felt to be high quality well presented plates. All fresh ingredients and lots to see through the glass as they prepare the meals. It's a way out of Halifax but well worth the trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Westminster, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“high quality food, reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Some of the best fish cakes I have had. All of the food was great and made well. I wish we had been able to sit at a table that watches the cooks. Request it if it is available.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Worth the drive from Halifax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

This was our first visit to this location as recommended to us by friends. We did want to order the chicken and waffles but unfortunately they were all out. We ordered the fish cakes with a poached egg and side of back bacon, as well as the smoked salmon benny with homemade tomato sauce. Fish cakes were very tasty and seasoned just right. The molasses beans and chutney on top tied the meal together. I can see why the smoked salmon benny is the top seller. The eggs were poached perfectly and the homemade biscuits are done flawlessly, crunchy on the outside and flaky on the inside. The potatoes on the side tasted great with the homemade tomato sauce. Even the coffee was delicious. Will definitely be back to try the chicken and waffles. Also curious to try their dinner menu.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tantallon, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Date Night Spectacular!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Wow, last Wednesday night my fiance and I went to the date night special. OMG, it was beyond what I ever expected.....Calamari appetizer, glass of white wine, salmon entree and "mouth watering" chocolate mousse cake......we rolled out of there, feeling full. Most importantly the quality of the food and presentation were a perfect 10. We WILL return to date night!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edible Matters also viewed

Bedford, Halifax Regional Municipality
Bedford, Halifax Regional Municipality
 
Bedford, Halifax Regional Municipality
Bedford, Halifax Regional Municipality
 

Been to Edible Matters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Edible Matters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.