We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great break for food on trip David-Panama” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galeria Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Veraguas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Galeria Hotel
Save
You added Galeria Hotel to your Saves list
00000 | Inter Via Santiago, Even Side of Dairy Queen, Santiago de Veraguas 83202, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Panama
Level Contributor
138 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great break for food on trip David-Panama”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I have been stopping at this hotel/restaurant for several years. It is near the mid point on the drive from David to Panama. Having twelve knee surgeries it is a needed rest from the road. Depending on the time of day, I like the shrimp omelet in the morning, major aleman soup for lunch and grilled chicken breast in the evening. I have stayed a few times overnight but not since the renovation to the rooms. The wait staff know me by sight and there is always a warm welcome. The food is inexpensive and a good value. If you want desserts, the warm pecan pie with ice cream is excellent.

Room Tip: I have not seen the renovated rooms but I usually had a nice room with a queen bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    16
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
6
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Tablas, Panama
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

Last time I stayed here was for a Patronales de Santiago Festival and The attention, service and accommodations were very good. Now I have come with the Mrs. for an event on the Hotel and we stayed in for our own advantage, Radical Change!!! They have done a whole new section and everything is excellent. New rooms, new beds, new tvs, new pool... I think I don't have to keep on going. I would really recommend this nice place in this nice city. The restaurant at the hotel is very good too. I don't really know if they have room service.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We usually stay here for a nite on our way from Panama City to David. The rooms are average. The Restaurant is awesome they have great food with very good prices. There is a shopping center next door to the hotel as well as fast food places if you don't want the local food served at restaurant.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the hotel our more quite than ones up front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas TX
Level Contributor
152 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

If you rent a car in Panma City and you plan to drive across Panama this is a good hotel to stop at. It is right on the Panamerican Highway and is the halway point to David. It offers adequate parking and is located within walking distance to a number of restaurants including MacDonalds for breakfast or Kentucky Fried Chicken for lunch or dinner. The hotel is clean and very convenient and the beds are comfortable. Price is reasonable for a no reservation walk-in at $55 a night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Galeria Hotel is located in downtown Santiago , about 150 feet from the national bus terminal and 40 feet from a medium size shopping centre giving access to medical offices, dental offices, a large grocery store(El Machetazo), fast food places like McDonald, etc.

Plenty of secure parking spaces surround the Hotel.
A spacious lobby with a seating area offering a large digital TV screen, pleasant reception staff create a good first impression ( see photo provided).

As to the double bed room( see photo) I took, it comes with a woodframe and clean good quality linen including a comforter, 4 pillows, and end table with its lamp, a Sony TV digital screen with spanish CNN ( no English speaking channel), 2 large mirrrors, a large commode, telephone service, a closet incuding a safe, a round white plastic table with its 2 plastic armchairs. A large window with double curtain lets in the sunlight if desired; of course, Panasonic airconditioninng with inverter , so silent it is hardly heard.

Small toilet amenities ( shampoo, body lotion, squeeze liquid soap tank in the shower) with real hot water.

Regular door key is provided with inside chain; a guard stands at the entrance at night .

What is missing : breakfast is NOT included in the 50-dollar double room.

Room Tip: Take a room on the right side ( not the side next to shopping centre) for more peace at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I have stayed here several times over the past 3 years. Price is $49.50 for a king or double, before discounts. Santiago is expanding and so is this hotel.

Clean. Prompt maid service. Close to hwy but not on it so not loud. Good beds and linens. I have gotten to know some of the staff here. good staff. Mari and Laura are very good at the desk. marisol is very good in the restaurant. There is always staff around.

Restaurant is good with good value. Always a crowd at peak times but no waiting. plenty of staff.

I've always been able to count on the Galeria. Walking distance to grocery story, cinema, in strip mall as well as other places. Hotel is always crowded with business, travelers passing through to beach or mountain areas or elsewhere.

Other hotels near are updating and building too. They do a good, brisk business here, both hotel and restaurant.

Rooms have well working split unit ac and flat screens, less channel options than city. no pool for those seeking that.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penonome, Panama
Level Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Restaurant at my hotel was very overpriced. Asked some locals for a recommendation and ended up at the Galeria. The Galeria restaurant has above average service, excellent food and excellent prices. Prices were less than one third of prices at my hotel. The Galeria is on the Interamerican Highway and centrally located only one block from one of the bus terminals. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Galeria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galeria Hotel

Address: 00000 | Inter Via Santiago, Even Side of Dairy Queen, Santiago de Veraguas 83202, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Veraguas
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Gallery, located in Panama in the province of Veraguas. With good promotions, with some benefits like: Restaurant. T.V. 32 "LCD. Cable TV. Simmons Beautyrest beds and Presidential. Air Conditioning. Agua Caliente. Safety deposit box. Pool. Gym. Wi-Fi high speed. Electric Locks. Room services. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Galeria Hotel Panama/Veraguas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galeria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.