We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't get fooled by the pictures” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort to your Saves list
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Via Interamericana, km 258 | By Interamerican road just outside the city of Santiago, Santiago de Veraguas 0000, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Panama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't get fooled by the pictures”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

On a recent trip to Chiriquí we stopped at this hotel looking for a decent place to eat lunch. The name was inviting, so was the web page and other information we found on the internet.
Really, I would imagine it very difficult to run a hotel in that condition. It is in the middle of nowhere. We went in the dry season, which probably makes matters worse because you have to add heat to the desolate landskape and an almost dry lake bed. The place is small and quiet but that is little excuse for not keeping up maintenance or having a decent restaurant service.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same, I think there are only 40 or less
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
14
22
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We arrived after a long drive. We were shown to our room immediately and as it was lunchtime, we thought lunch would be a good idea. There was a convention going on in another room and we were asked to wait until they had finished serving them. We went away and came back half an hour later to find various staff and their visitors sitting spread around the tables in the restaurant, without one kept for us! Eventually one of them was asked to move by -perhaps the restaurant manager??- who was working on his computer. A small discussion ensued and someone reluctantly move to share a large table with a colleague.
The bedroom was pleasant enough, sparsely furnished clean and overlooking a small lake. I did think this has the potential to be beautiful, but as no-one has planted anything lakeside or tried to create a garden, it remains a brown pond with some rather scruffy ducks and it isn't. What a shame. However, the view from a small hillock on the other side of the lake at sunset is worth climbing the hillock for. We had a good walk in the afternoon, although we had to plead for the directions,( we were eventually taken to the start) but the track became 'unlabelled' which could have resulted in a bit of a disaster if we had carried guessing where it went, as sundown was approaching fast.
Hoping for a beer in the evening we were almost driven out of the bar area because the staff were watching footie on the TV - at full blast. They looked a little surprised at our request for enough quiet to have a conversation, but turned down the volume when we asked. The small swimming pool was so full of people who were neither eating nor sleeping at the hotel that we didn't use it.

We had to reach Bastimentos by 4pm, so we planned on a 6.30 am breakfast, agreed the night before, as 6.30 is opening time. We arrived to find doors to the kitchen locked and only a receptionist in sight. We had to chase the restaurant staff for half an hour to get our breakfast. The female staff at the reception did their best to chase them too, and I felt quite sorry for them and rather guilty as they were on the front line. They did their best but its the management who need to oversee that the restaurant is run properly

Although this is a useful stop and the rooms are clean I wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: One storey lake view -standard rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We just stopped for a while on our way to Panama City. Initial plans were to stay one night only, but under the spur of our babies we were delighted to spend one more. What to say. Simply perfect. Tidy rooms, wide and well organized restaurant with delicious hand made specialties and a lovely pool. My children were also stunned by the amazing mini-car race track shaped after italian Monza's autodrome. A must stop location halfway from David to Panama City.
Olivier Gallus

Room Tip: All rooms have a view on a charming pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Twice as restaurant and five days as base for a deep visit in the Veraguas. It was a nice discover because they give a really good service also for small details like a sandwich in strange hours or similar. The food is Italian, real one, not copy. The family who built the place and run the business is from Italy and in 7 years they are not yet tired in up grade.
Ills sont vraiment super!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is like Panama, a tale of contradictions. Maybe the visit is worth it for a laugh of these contradictions - and I think it's a case of calling a duck and cow or calling a cow pond a lake. The "eco-resort" is situated to the side of the interamerican highway, on what was previously cow pasture with grandiose views of what I highly believe to be a small man-made pond for watering cows in the summer. The eco and resort part of the name were equally ellusive.

What the hotel is, is a great place to stay on the road from David. The rooms are very nice for the price and clean. The hotel itself is well done. One of the waitresses in the restaurant was fabulous. They should just market it as a great inn for travelers.

The other service was not so great, but in the Panamnaian way very politely served. They offer room service. I couldn't find the menu in the room, and asked for one - oh, we actually don't have menus in the room because most people don't order room service (come again? can I hazard a guess why they don't...). Well, can I have one for the restaurant, ah, for the restaurant, there are different menus for the rooms and the restaurant, we have the restaurant menus in the restaurant. Smile. In your room you use the room service menu. Smile.

Beautiful pool in the picture, right. On check in, sign says $5 per adult for the pool. There are 3 cars in the parking lot (including mine), and you're going to nickel and dime me to use the pool.

But the rooms were very nice and good for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

A two story hotel/motel style situated 11 km from the centre of Santiago on the Pan American Highway in the direction towards David. Built about 3 years ago in the 60’s style concrete construction, which is already showing a little sign of age. It is however a very quiet hotel, set well back from the road on a small artificial lake. The rooms are very simple, basic, but clean and acceptable. The staff are helpful and the restaurant serves quite decent meals. Certainly OK for a one or two night stay. I am not sure there is anything better in Santiago.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to stop for a welcome rest from the road; pretty view, wonderful natural setting a step away from the road well insulated from noise or pollution

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort

Address: Via Interamericana, km 258 | By Interamerican road just outside the city of Santiago, Santiago de Veraguas 0000, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Lago with managed by professionel Italian Mnagers and local staff, lies down on the banks of a little lake surrounded by hills and virgin forests with an extension of about 50 hectares. In our main philosophy, give the opportunity to our clients to have an experience that could exceed the idea of a classic hotel, is our goal. Relax whatching the beauty of the surrounds, enjoy the quiet of the lake and landscape. Perhaps walking along one of our paths into the vegetation and watching the local fauna around the lake. Rooms are ample as the bathrooms with facilities like: A/C, free wi-fi, cable TV, safe ans some of them with refrigerator. And we are Italian so we just can't forget how important for us is.. eat well! High culinary standard with huge choice. Restaurant is open the all day long. Tha swimming pool is surrounded by our garden and next to the bar. Free wi-fi around the hotel. So, let us change this words in little and pleasent attentions that we would like to dedicate to you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort Panama/Veraguas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.