We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort to your Saves list
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
Via Interamericana, Santiago de Veraguas 0000, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Berne
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We just stopped for a while on our way to Panama City. Initial plans were to stay one night only, but under the spur of our babies we were delighted to spend one more. What to say. Simply perfect. Tidy rooms, wide and well organized restaurant with delicious hand made specialties and a lovely pool. My children were also stunned by the amazing mini-car race track shaped after italian Monza's autodrome. A must stop location halfway from David to Panama City.
Olivier Gallus

Room Tip: All rooms have a view on a charming pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    16
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
12
20
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama city
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Twice as restaurant and five days as base for a deep visit in the Veraguas. It was a nice discover because they give a really good service also for small details like a sandwich in strange hours or similar. The food is Italian, real one, not copy. The family who built the place and run the business is from Italy and in 7 years they are not yet tired in up grade.
Ills sont vraiment super!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is like Panama, a tale of contradictions. Maybe the visit is worth it for a laugh of these contradictions - and I think it's a case of calling a duck and cow or calling a cow pond a lake. The "eco-resort" is situated to the side of the interamerican highway, on what was previously cow pasture with grandiose views of what I highly believe to be a small man-made pond for watering cows in the summer. The eco and resort part of the name were equally ellusive.

What the hotel is, is a great place to stay on the road from David. The rooms are very nice for the price and clean. The hotel itself is well done. One of the waitresses in the restaurant was fabulous. They should just market it as a great inn for travelers.

The other service was not so great, but in the Panamnaian way very politely served. They offer room service. I couldn't find the menu in the room, and asked for one - oh, we actually don't have menus in the room because most people don't order room service (come again? can I hazard a guess why they don't...). Well, can I have one for the restaurant, ah, for the restaurant, there are different menus for the rooms and the restaurant, we have the restaurant menus in the restaurant. Smile. In your room you use the room service menu. Smile.

Beautiful pool in the picture, right. On check in, sign says $5 per adult for the pool. There are 3 cars in the parking lot (including mine), and you're going to nickel and dime me to use the pool.

But the rooms were very nice and good for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

A two story hotel/motel style situated 11 km from the centre of Santiago on the Pan American Highway in the direction towards David. Built about 3 years ago in the 60’s style concrete construction, which is already showing a little sign of age. It is however a very quiet hotel, set well back from the road on a small artificial lake. The rooms are very simple, basic, but clean and acceptable. The staff are helpful and the restaurant serves quite decent meals. Certainly OK for a one or two night stay. I am not sure there is anything better in Santiago.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to stop for a welcome rest from the road; pretty view, wonderful natural setting a step away from the road well insulated from noise or pollution

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stopped by Hotel Vista Lago last December to check it out and reserve a room for a stay last month. The staff was very nice and showed me a couple of empty rooms and we toured the dining area and other common areas.

My friends and I arrived to the same pleasant staff and were given rooms close to each other. Although there was a large group of 20 something men staying there, the hotel was very quiet and I got a very nice night's sleep. The rooms were very clean and well appointed, although a bit 'spartan', which is fine for me. I loved their use of local hardwoods for all the furniture and bathroom cabinets.

The rooms are very large and I had a patio door out to their gardens and the lake. The next morning I rose to take photos of the sunrise and walk around the lake to take more photos. The breakfast was quick to arrive in the dining area in spite of several other guests also being served. Probably the best dining service I had during the trip.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have walk-out doors for easy access to the flowers and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We like the hotel and enjoy the restaurant. Good service and clean rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort

Address: Via Interamericana, Santiago de Veraguas 0000, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort Panama/Veraguas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.