We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort to your Saves list
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Interamericana, km 258 | By Interamerican road just outside the city of Santiago, Santiago de Veraguas 0000, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Berne
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We just stopped for a while on our way to Panama City. Initial plans were to stay one night only, but under the spur of our babies we were delighted to spend one more. What to say. Simply perfect. Tidy rooms, wide and well organized restaurant with delicious hand made specialties and a lovely pool. My children were also stunned by the amazing mini-car race track shaped after italian Monza's autodrome. A must stop location halfway from David to Panama City.
Olivier Gallus

Room Tip: All rooms have a view on a charming pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olivier G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Panama city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Twice as restaurant and five days as base for a deep visit in the Veraguas. It was a nice discover because they give a really good service also for small details like a sandwich in strange hours or similar. The food is Italian, real one, not copy. The family who built the place and run the business is from Italy and in 7 years they are not yet tired in up grade.
Ills sont vraiment super!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ivaldipanama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sequim, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel is like Panama, a tale of contradictions. Maybe the visit is worth it for a laugh of these contradictions - and I think it's a case of calling a duck and cow or calling a cow pond a lake. The "eco-resort" is situated to the side of the interamerican highway, on what was previously cow pasture with grandiose views of what I highly believe to be a small man-made pond for watering cows in the summer. The eco and resort part of the name were equally ellusive.

What the hotel is, is a great place to stay on the road from David. The rooms are very nice for the price and clean. The hotel itself is well done. One of the waitresses in the restaurant was fabulous. They should just market it as a great inn for travelers.

The other service was not so great, but in the Panamnaian way very politely served. They offer room service. I couldn't find the menu in the room, and asked for one - oh, we actually don't have menus in the room because most people don't order room service (come again? can I hazard a guess why they don't...). Well, can I have one for the restaurant, ah, for the restaurant, there are different menus for the rooms and the restaurant, we have the restaurant menus in the restaurant. Smile. In your room you use the room service menu. Smile.

Beautiful pool in the picture, right. On check in, sign says $5 per adult for the pool. There are 3 cars in the parking lot (including mine), and you're going to nickel and dime me to use the pool.

But the rooms were very nice and good for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

A two story hotel/motel style situated 11 km from the centre of Santiago on the Pan American Highway in the direction towards David. Built about 3 years ago in the 60’s style concrete construction, which is already showing a little sign of age. It is however a very quiet hotel, set well back from the road on a small artificial lake. The rooms are very simple, basic, but clean and acceptable. The staff are helpful and the restaurant serves quite decent meals. Certainly OK for a one or two night stay. I am not sure there is anything better in Santiago.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012 via mobile

Nice place to stop for a welcome rest from the road; pretty view, wonderful natural setting a step away from the road well insulated from noise or pollution

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Qugulet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I stopped by Hotel Vista Lago last December to check it out and reserve a room for a stay last month. The staff was very nice and showed me a couple of empty rooms and we toured the dining area and other common areas.

My friends and I arrived to the same pleasant staff and were given rooms close to each other. Although there was a large group of 20 something men staying there, the hotel was very quiet and I got a very nice night's sleep. The rooms were very clean and well appointed, although a bit 'spartan', which is fine for me. I loved their use of local hardwoods for all the furniture and bathroom cabinets.

The rooms are very large and I had a patio door out to their gardens and the lake. The next morning I rose to take photos of the sunrise and walk around the lake to take more photos. The breakfast was quick to arrive in the dining area in spite of several other guests also being served. Probably the best dining service I had during the trip.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have walk-out doors for easy access to the flowers and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdfloyd322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We like the hotel and enjoy the restaurant. Good service and clean rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CC2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santiago de Veraguas
7.6 mi away
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Center
Mykonos Hotel & Convention Cente...
#1 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
4.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Gran David
Hotel Gran David
#2 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
Hotel Hibiscus Garden
#1 of 1 in Lagartero
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Express Inn Coronado Hotel & Camping
0.0 mi away
Punta Duarte Garden Inn
Punta Duarte Garden Inn
#1 of 4 in Santiago de Veraguas
4.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Caballo Verde Hotel & Restaurante
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort

Address: Via Interamericana, km 258 | By Interamerican road just outside the city of Santiago, Santiago de Veraguas 0000, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vista Lago managed by professional Italian Managers and local staff, lies down on the banks of a little lake surrounded by hills and virgin forests with an extension of about 50 hectares. In our main philosophy, give the opportunity to our clients to have an experience that could exceed the idea of a classic hotel, is our goal. Relax watching the beauty of the surrounds, enjoy the quiet of the lake and landscape. Perhaps walking along one of our paths into the vegetation and watching the local fauna around the lake. Rooms are ample as the bathrooms with facilities like: A/C, free wi-fi, cable TV, safe and most of them with refrigerator. And we are Italian so we just can't forget how important for us.. eat well! High culinary standard with huge choice. Restaurant is open all day long. Tha swimming pool is surrounded by our garden and next to the bar always ready to serve you a fresh drink of one of out "picadillas" if you'd like to eat something. Free wi-fi all around the hotel. So, let us change this words in little and pleasent attentions that we would like to dedicate to you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Vista Lago Ecoresort Panama/Veraguas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing