We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great price, great conversation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Veraguas

Hostal Veraguas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Veraguas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Veraguas
Save
You added Hostal Veraguas to your Saves list
Barriada San Martin 5, Calle C Norte, Santiago de Veraguas, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, great price, great conversation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at Hostal Veraguas 3 nights while I was touring the country of Panama. It was the first time I had ever stayed in a hostal, and I found it to be quite acceptable and a great experience overall. The owner is very nice, and the place is clean and well equipped for longer stays or short trips.

I would definitely stay here again when I need comfortable, clean accommodations inside the city of Santiago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
7
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vasto, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Since the first time I have been in Hostal Veraguas, I felt it was a place to come back to, not only for the warm hospitality of Lidia ( the owner) and the affordable prices but also for its unique peaceful and home-like atmoshpere. So I became affectionate friend, rataher than a guest, as it became like a second home since I was spending there my days-off when working in Panama. Definitely my favourite room was Santa Fè, which has its unique charm which I prefer to the most luxury hotels.
Santiago, despite not offering very much as a city, has an interesting district and it is in a strategical position to visit Panama or to rest if coming back from Costa Rica.
Lidia is also environmental-concerned and she offers eco activities and she likes to talk about new ones....and, if youlike painting, will give you the unique experience of leaving a footprint of yourself on the hostal walls.

Room Tip: Santa Fè and San Francisco, both on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

This hostel offers a variety of rooms from dorm style to double private rooms. Prices are of the lowest I found in Panama and for what is offered it is more than reasonable.The whole place has lots of charm which is even topped by Lidias warm, friendly and always helpful person. She owns the place and operates it with all her heart. She will be eager to solve any inconvenince you might experience and is always interested in suggestions for improvement. Some aspects of the hostel go into the camping direction but with the pleasant part of having a roof over your head and Wifi if you need it. There are two kitchens you can use, one Panamanian style with a fire place and one quite good equipped "normal" version. Since the whole hostel is built around her own house and so to speak in her garden you will also be abled to get to know some Panamanian plants from kitchen herbs to fruit trees and orchids. I stayed here several times alone and also with company and I'm sure to come back whenever I will be in Santiago again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I have stayed at this hostel a number of times and we found the owner very helpful and friendly. The hostel is clean and has a very unique "waste not" style starting with the numerous labeled garden edibles to the painting on the walls from previous lodgers. Very near to the bus stop (40cents to the terminal) and a mini market and budget restaurant. If you´re on a tight budget this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Out of all the hostels and B&B's in Panama I stayed at (and there were quite a few over 4 weeks) I found the Hostal Veraguas to be one of the more hospitable and by far the cheapest. Lydia (owner/operator) is a sweetheart and will do whatever she can to make your stay pleasant. She also gives discounts on lodging if you do community service work with her or help around the place! Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: If you prefer sleeping solo she has nice private rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

We used Santiago as a stopover for our journey from Santa Catalina to Boqueta.

The Verugas Hostel is a long walk, or under two dollars in a cab fare, from the city centre. But we think it is worth the extra steps into the suburbs.

The hostel owner is lovely, obliging, well prepared, has a good hold of English and a fun sense of humour.

Our room was the Santa Fe double, which was beautifully decorated and included a full canopy mosquito net over the double bed, sofa, balcony, bath/shower and large fan (no a/c but we found it was fine with just fan). Very good value.

Santa Fe Room - double with bath/ shower - $10 pp

Our room certainly seemed like the best room, with dorms being slightly more simple.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Quebec
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were expecting much more from this "hostal". We knew that we were in for some originality, but we found a weird place to stay. Very noisy neighbourhood to start with and far from the center of Santiago. The good point is the very amicable owner Lydia and that is about it! In our two travel books, they mentionned "breakfeast included!", which was not the case. The room had no glass or screen windows! We had the top floor room and we could see downstairs in the available kitchen through the large cracks in the wooden floor! It probably also meant that the people in the kitchen could see us moving around and even using the toilet!The toilet was not really clean and the odor was strong...We recommand that you stay away from this "hostal!".

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Veraguas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Veraguas

Address: Barriada San Martin 5, Calle C Norte, Santiago de Veraguas, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a local budget hostel, we offer lodging for travelers; several dorms and privates, hammocks or bring your own tent. We also offer free wireless internet or use of our computer, kitchen usage, storage, TV and movies, tourist information, parking, book exchange, etc. We also provide for low price Spanish lessons, information about volunteer work in the communities, universities, international phone calls (you must provide phone cards available next door), cheap laundry service and continental breakfast for a $1.00 extra. For after hours services, please call ahead on time. We can customize a travel package for you and your group. Possible activities include surfing instruction, scuba diving, sea kayaking, tubing, horse riding, etc The volunteers get special rate and the same for the ones staying longer. Ah! bring your friends and you get discount (just let us know). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Veraguas Panama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Veraguas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.