We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, individual and great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostal Veraguas

Hostal Veraguas
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santiago de Veraguas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hostal Veraguas
Save
You added Hostal Veraguas to your Saves list
Barriada San Martin 5, Calle C Norte, Santiago de Veraguas, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming, individual and great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My girlfriend and I have stayed at this hostel a number of times and we found the owner very helpful and friendly. The hostel is clean and has a very unique "waste not" style starting with the numerous labeled garden edibles to the painting on the walls from previous lodgers. Very near to the bus stop (40cents to the terminal) and a mini market and budget restaurant. If you´re on a tight budget this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
8
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Out of all the hostels and B&B's in Panama I stayed at (and there were quite a few over 4 weeks) I found the Hostal Veraguas to be one of the more hospitable and by far the cheapest. Lydia (owner/operator) is a sweetheart and will do whatever she can to make your stay pleasant. She also gives discounts on lodging if you do community service work with her or help around the place! Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: If you prefer sleeping solo she has nice private rooms upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We used Santiago as a stopover for our journey from Santa Catalina to Boqueta.

The Verugas Hostel is a long walk, or under two dollars in a cab fare, from the city centre. But we think it is worth the extra steps into the suburbs.

The hostel owner is lovely, obliging, well prepared, has a good hold of English and a fun sense of humour.

Our room was the Santa Fe double, which was beautifully decorated and included a full canopy mosquito net over the double bed, sofa, balcony, bath/shower and large fan (no a/c but we found it was fine with just fan). Very good value.

Santa Fe Room - double with bath/ shower - $10 pp

Our room certainly seemed like the best room, with dorms being slightly more simple.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbleton, Quebec
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

We were expecting much more from this "hostal". We knew that we were in for some originality, but we found a weird place to stay. Very noisy neighbourhood to start with and far from the center of Santiago. The good point is the very amicable owner Lydia and that is about it! In our two travel books, they mentionned "breakfeast included!", which was not the case. The room had no glass or screen windows! We had the top floor room and we could see downstairs in the available kitchen through the large cracks in the wooden floor! It probably also meant that the people in the kitchen could see us moving around and even using the toilet!The toilet was not really clean and the odor was strong...We recommand that you stay away from this "hostal!".

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

Hostal Veraguas is a great place to stay. Lidia, the owner is extremely friendly and welcomes travellers with a friendly smile. The place itself and clean and unique, with interesting style rooms and murals all over. In addition, should you have some skill or talent which would help in making the place better, or more interesting, she is more than willing to negtiate discounts, or even free stays for your efforts. She also has the coolest little dog.

So, if you're in Santiago and need a place to stay, I wouldn't reccommend going anywhere else!

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostal Veraguas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Veraguas

Address: Barriada San Martin 5, Calle C Norte, Santiago de Veraguas, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Santiago de Veraguas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a local budget hostel, we offer lodging for travelers; several dorms and privates, hammocks or bring your own tent. We also offer free wireless internet or use of our computer, kitchen usage, storage, TV and movies, tourist information, parking, book exchange, etc. We also provide for low price Spanish lessons, information about volunteer work in the communities, universities, international phone calls (you must provide phone cards available next door), cheap laundry service and continental breakfast for a $1.00 extra. For after hours services, please call ahead on time. We can customize a travel package for you and your group. Possible activities include surfing instruction, scuba diving, sea kayaking, tubing, horse riding, etc The volunteers get special rate and the same for the ones staying longer. Ah! bring your friends and you get discount (just let us know). ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hostal Veraguas Panama

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostal Veraguas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.