We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come in and enjoy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Hacienda

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santiago de Veraguas
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Hacienda
Save
You added La Hacienda to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Interamericana, Santiago de Veraguas, Panama   |  
Hotel amenities
Palm Desert, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Come in and enjoy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

From the front desk, the bedroom, the restaurant to the casino, all were excellent. The room was conformable with new TV and AC. One of the best meals we had in Panama and a US style late coffee for $1.50.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room overlooking the courtyard and near the front desk. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    32
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
17
17
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Best value along PanAm Hwy when driving the length of the Republic of Panama. We love this little hotel and restaurant at the far western end of the city of Santiago. From Panama City, you drive all the way through town and when you think you must have missed it: there is the Hotel La Hacienda awaiting in the bright colors of Mexico. Inexpensive excellent value--that's why the 5 star rating--cannot beat the quality + price combo; quality in all the ways that we think matter to a traveler: clean, welcoming, good beds, great hot shower, good food, good service. We have stayed at La Hacienda at least a dozen times over the past 6 years and the staff continues to be very good and the restaurant serves good, hearty Mexican food which is just right for the half-way point on a drive from Panama City to Chiriqui (most western province of the Republic of Panama bordering on Costa Rica).

Room Tip: Most rooms are back from the PanAm Hwy. The ones at back are most quiet and away from the pool. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

From the outside it looks like a gaudy, quirky concrete monstrosity. When we first entered our room we noticed even the furnishings (wardrobe) was concrete. However despite being quirky the rooms are very comforatable and well equipped with nice bathroom with "proper" hot water, a/c, flat screen TV (though not much to watch in English) and 2 free bottles of water!
The hotel is cojoined to a casino, so entertainment is available there if you like - mostly poker machines but a couple of poorly patronised card tables. There is an ATM in the casino if you need it.
The hotel has a pool with a dinky little water slide. Next door is a water park but this wasn't open when we were there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were driving from Panama City to Bocas del Toro, via Santiago. Its a bit too long to do in one shot. Actually way too long, the drive over the mountains is beautiful but its a haul. Anyway we picked this as a stop over.

We were very pleased. Its basic but nice - cozy room, clean, ez to find (cant miss it) and the staff is extremely nice and helpful. Its attached to a casino if you are down with that program but separate enough that you can totally ignore it if not.

Free wifi, decent resturante. Very kid friendly with a great pool setup.

Perfect for an overnighter.

Oh don't speed on the transamerica. Just saying.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Like most people who stay overnight in Santiago, we were here less than 24 hours as we took a break driving from Panama City.

The room is adorable, festively painted and comfy. Tile floors and fixtures.

I would've liked the place even more if it were less than the $81 rate but I'd heard nightmares about some other Santiago stopovers, so glad to have a safe & tidy way station for the night. As long as the wifi and cable tv worked, I was a happy camper.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Great rest stop with Casino attached. Pool, restaurant, big flat screen TV ( English & Spanish). Water park right next door for the kids. Wonderful stop over spot to break up a road trip from one side of the country to the another. Colorful Mexican decor. Mexican/Italian food in the restaurant

Room Tip: Parking: spaces can be cramped. Best choice are the ones directly in front of the hotel that are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachland BC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Stayed in this hotel Feb1st- 6th ,On our way to boquete ,Held up there due to road blocks by local Indians , It was a relief to say the least to find this Hotel ,Nice patio and pool area,Friendly staff ,Rooms are large two double beds and clean ,plenty of hot water ,Free WiFi,Nicely decorated in the Mexican style,brightly colored,A little out of town but cabs were cheap,To far to walk to the town's restaurants,Restaurant on site was okay but found the food pricey,as was a beverage above the average price of other local restaurants,But on the whole a good place to stay if passing thru Santiago,Would stay there again .

Room Tip: Help if you had knowledge of spanish ,Saff have little understanding of English,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Hacienda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Hacienda

Address: Via Interamericana, Santiago de Veraguas, Panama
Location: Panama > Veraguas Province > Santiago de Veraguas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Santiago de Veraguas
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Hacienda 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Also Known As:
La Hacienda Hotel Santiago De Veraguas
La Hacienda Panama/Veraguas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Hacienda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.