We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible and disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hermes Hotel to your Saves list
Hermes Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Diakogiannis Sevastianos, Kefalos 85301, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“terrible and disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am still in this hotel. It seems that I didn't get a luck for the room - it's absolutelly nothing like was in the pictures - old hashioned, everything broken, very very noisy and it is not familly room like we ordered - we got only one room for kids instead of two. thank you for upset our wedding aniversary mood, I will never be back here again and higly not recommend. I asked to change the room, but they refused to do this.

Room Tip: very noisy, old fashioned, and not necessarily get what you ordered - instead of 2 kids bed we got o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    81
    32
    15
    9
See reviews for
60
162
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

just returned from 2wks at the hermes hotel there was 12 of us and what a good time had by all Diana and Sabastion go out of their way for u and nothing is too much trouble. This is me and my husbands 2nd time at the Hermes and i can asure you we are definatly goin back nxt year for my husbands 50th birthday. The hotel is kept spotlessly ciean all the staff work hard and go out of their way to speak to all guests. Spiros at the pool bar is exellent and makes all snacks fresh to order he also waits on in the hotel in the evening along with nikos the bar chap at night who wears some funny tshirts is brill lovely cocktails.I cannot fault this hotel and would very highly reccomend it. Thank you to all at Hermes hotel see you nxt year cant wait Debbie and Mark Shaw and all the rest of party..High rooms have best views we stayed in room 213 top floor amazing views worth the steps xxxxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bothwell, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed In the Hermes June 2013 its our third visit went for 2 weeks this time. The hotel never disappoints us, The staff are friendly the hotel is clean the views from the top block of the hotel are worth the climb. Nothing really changes here which is ok and is very quiet. feel they could maybe put some kind of entertainment like maybe a Greek night and give the guests a chance to have a laugh and make a fool of themselves trying the local dance moves.
Sebastion and Diane are nice people and a special mention to" Nico with the black dog", he stopped on his scooter and gave my wife a lift to the village, she wasnt feeling to good and had to go to the chemist,its a bit of a climb but again worth it.
We would recommend Kefalos and the Hermes for a perfect holiday, you should try Marias Bar run by 2 of the friendliest guys you will ever meet Manos and Yianni,would definately go back out best meal was in Stammatia restuarant lovely family great food.
Overall Kefalos is a part of Greece that is becoming harder to find it has the character, and the feel of the Greece we first visited 26 years ago, things change, but enjoy it while you can,God Bless You All and thank you,will maybe see you soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

stayed at this hotel for 7 days very friendly staff very helpful very basic hotel no coffee makers no kettle which if you wanted had to pay for as we had to pay for the air con we payed for b and b and got toast if you wanted anything else you had to pay for it so went out for breakfast every morning nothing good to say really about this hotel won,t be back I,m afraid

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed here for a week and we are so happy that we chose this hotel. The staff go completely out of their way to accommodate you. Our five year old son was treated like part of the family & so were we.

I really would recommend this
hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corringham, England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Recently returned from the Hermes hotel and would just like to say that we had the most amazing chilled-out fortnight in excellent accommodation. Having had a very difficult year, personally, myself and my partner wanted to go to a laid-back resort and have a relaxing time. Based on the fact that I had hokidayed in Kefalos in 1986! and the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, we booked a late break at the Hermes.
Can only echo comments by others - great hotel run by a lovely family who go out of their way to make sure that guests have a good time and nothing is too much trouble. Rooms were modern and cleaned daily with Sheets and towels being changed virtually daily. Only gripes we had - and these were very small-were that our toilet cistern /whistled for England when it filled and there was no blind on the door which /meant that we were woken on the first morning by sunlight streaming through the glass! Both issues were reported to Sebastian who explained that the whistling was caused by high water pressure and that. he would try to get a blind for the door. Needless to say, this being Greece' nothing was done! However we overcame the problems by only flushing in the hours of daylight and by and by putting a towel up at the door!
However apart from this can only thoroughly recommend the hotel and all the staff- Sebastian and Diana who were just lovely and Nicos and Spiro who worked hard behind the bar to keep everyone he entertained and refreshed best of luck in the US this winter, guys!
Kefalos itself has a wide range of cafes, bars and tavernas with plenty of choice for everyone. Top of our list had to be Harry's [Limani taverna:-). Harry was there in 1986 when I last visited but is just the same. The Food is great - can particularly recommend the stuffed chicken - and coupled with Harry's repartee, hugs for the/e ladies, all of whom he wants to marry, and a great selection of numerous t-shirts, this is THE place to go for a great night out!
Can also recommend Captain Johns, Argo [great spaghetti marinara], and Sebastian's.
We hired a jeep for 3 days and went round the island-highky recommended as there are some lovely places to visit-Mastichari and Limnionas are lovely, quiet and very Greek.
All in all, a lovely relaxing break and we will definitely return. Just a point to note-heard a rumour that one of the main tour operators ' Thomas Cook, may be pulling out of Kefalos next year so may be worthwhile checking this out if you.re planning on returning next year

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My partner and I stayed at the Hermes hotel in August.The room was very basic but very clean the sheets and towels were changed daily except Sunday,there is a hairdryer and a small fridge but if you want to have a tea or coffee in your room it cost 5 euros per wk, it might be a good idea to take travel kettle.The breakfast is a bit of a letdown continental breakfast is tea or coffee,juice and 2 slice of toast or cereal.instead of toast.The pool bar has very nice food at reasonable prices.The hotel is spotless and the staff are friendly and helpful.Rooms at the top of the hotel have a wonderful view but there is a steep climb to get there so not for anyone with walking problems.Rooms have to be vacated by 11am or 7pm if you pay 25 euros,our pick up time was 1 05 am so it was a long time to wait around.All in all I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.Best place for food is Sydney's bar which is a short walk away, once you have eaten here you won't eat anywhere else.It was a most enjoyable holiday would go back again.

Room Tip: If your fit the rooms 316 upwards are great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Diakogiannis Sevastianos, Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kefalos
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hermes Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 310
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermes Hotel Kefalos
Hermes Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermes Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.