We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zeus Hotel, Kefalos, Kos” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zeus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Zeus Hotel to your Saves list
Zeus Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kefalos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Zeus Hotel, Kefalos, Kos”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Just returned from this very friendly Hotel in Kefalos, the family cannot do enough for you. It is close to the beach of Agios Stefanos with the ruins of a 5th century basilica. The sea is very shallow and perfect for swimming and snorkling. There are some very good tavernas close-by, our favourites being Kastri and Sacallis. I thoroughly recommend the trip to Nisyros, standing at the bottom of a volcano is amazing! If you book through the tour operator you get a guide which is well worth it. Kosta was very knowledgeable and we learnt so much about the area. We went to Paradise Beach by water taxi which you can catch at 10.30am returning at 5.30pm. We even got dropped off at the jetty nearest to Zeus Hotel! This was a very relaxing resort and we hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor are quieter, away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    64
    22
    7
    7
See reviews for
41
150
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned and I would just like to say what a fab time we had. The hotel room was on the lower floor, basic, but spotless. It was cleaned daily and fresh towels each day. Even though we paid for b&b, the breakfast consisted of bread and jam. I don't eat bread so we opted to have breakfast elsewhere.The family are very welcoming and we had many fun nights with Nikolas, he made me some lovely, lethal alcholic concoctions :-D and Manos who made me the nicest coffees,especially when I had had one to many :-/. The location is ideal as you are close to all the cafes, restaurants and the beach is a 5 min walk, depending on how quick you walk.This is a place that I will definately return tooo. Food is amazing and people are wonderful. Thanks Nikolas, Manos and George for contributing to the wonderful holiday we had. X

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We returned from our 2 week holiday to the Zeus last week. Along with most of the reviews for this hotel we were totally satisfied with every aspect of our trip. The family are absolutely delightful and will do whatever they can to make your stay memorable. We travelled with two teenage girls who were added to our booking at a later date, their planned accommodation was not just up the road (as detailed by Google maps) but was about 2 miles away at the other end of the resort. The family could not have been more helpful and arranged for us to move them to the Zeus at a greatly reduced rate. Without this help our holiday would have been a nightmare! We had been concerned that Kefalos would be too quiet for them but this was not the case. Manos and Nikolas who look after the bar are absolute stars and definitely proved to be an attraction for the girls! The hotel rooms and all public areas are kept spotlessly clean, they provide a good range of snacks at the pool bar and the Greek night is not to be missed! Many of the guests we met return year after year and it is evident why. We usually like to visit different places but will definitely be going back next year along with other members of our family.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor and although some guests seemed to slam doors we heard no noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned from our first trip to the Zeus Hotel in Kefalos. I'd read some excellent reveiws and also a few poor reveiws. From our experience I would say this was absolutely excellent and can't wait to return. The family, Zac, Maria, Sonia, Manos and Nikolas are all excellent hosts. The rooms were fine for what we excected and required. Sheets and towels changed daily, and everypart of the hotel is kept spotlessly clean. An excellent variety of food in the snack bar by the pool at good prices. Paid additionally for a safe box, didn't bother with the aircon, just had another cocktail before bed and then absolutely no problem sleeping. The beds were very comfortable. Slamming doors didn't really bother us, although I was very wary of our door, as it stuck and it had to be pulled hard to close it. Weather was excellent, and in 14 days, we only saw one very small cloud in this distance. Kefalos is on a breezy part of the island, but to be fair this was a god send, otherwise it would have been unbearable. We ate a couple of times at Hippocrates, which was fabulous - free greek salad and honey cake. In fact we didn't have a bad meal in any taverna. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel - always a sunbed available.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just come back from 2 weeks at the Zeus Hotel. We went having read some poor reviews amongst all the good ones so were a little aprehensive at first so I would like to put my opinion.
When we first arrived we were welcomed by Maria who allocated the room. The room was lovely - not huge but plenty big enough for 2 with a private balcony. We had views towards the sea and also towards the hills inland. The room was furnished in a typical greek way. Quite basic but had what you needed. I have stayed in more basic rooms elsewhere. After we had dropped our cases we were served a drink by Nikos and Manos, the two brothers and I must say they were fabulous. In fact the whole family were wonderful. We found the whole experience positive, the cleaning team were superb, but we would definitely go back to Kefalos and the Zeus, rooms cleaned regulalry and bins emptied daily. We booked a late check out for £20 which was really well worth it. The pool area was well maintained and we always found beds available apart from 1 day when we went to the beach first and the area was full when we returned. It didn't matter to us as we had had enough sun anyway. There were a lot of repeat visitors and I agree that it was a little difficult getting to know them as they were already a group but the second week was easier and I would say that it is testiment to the family that so many people go back. The only thing I wish the room had was a kettle but we just bought a £5.00 vale kettle from argos before we went and dontade it to another guest when we left. It is nice to have a cup of tea on your balcony. The Thomas Cook Rep Andy was very imformative and gave us really honest advice. Kefalos is very quiet and ideal for a complete relaxer. We found it a little too quiet (we are early 50s) but do like a few more shops and crazy golf etc. We will definitely go back to Kefalos and the Zeus but would maybe go for a week or do more trips if we went for 2. The locals are typically greek, warm and welcoming and anyone visiting will not be disappointed. A trip to Zia in the mountains is a must and we also did the day trip to Bodrum. 1 point to note is that although there is wi-fi at the Zeus, it is not free and you do have to pay a local charge. We used to walk across the road to the Dolphin Bar and use their free wifi whilst drinking a cocktail or two.

Room Tip: We stayed in 305 which was up one flight of stairs. Nice view of sea one way and hilss inland the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just back from a fabulous fortnight at the Zeus - our 14th in 15 years. I wanted to address some of the comments about the hotel written previously -1) Neither Zak or Maria are Greek gods so cannot be held responsible for the warmth - or otherwise - of the sea or the strength of the breeze. 2) I have stayed in many rooms and never had a lumpy bed - they are a little narrow but perfectly ok and you are only paying for a 2 star hotel - don't expect 5 star luxury. 3) Breakfast is basic but you can have as much tea/coffee/orange juice and bread and jam as you like and with 4 rashers of bacon or 2 boiled eggs for a euro you are not going to go hungry. 4) I have always paid for air con, safe boxes, keeping on rooms - even in some 5 star hotels. I could go on but suffice it to say this is a wonderful home from home where over 50% of guests are returnees - we spent virtually every day greeting old friends and waving off new ones If you want a chilled holiday with great staff and food and a lovely atmosphere you really cannot beat it.Thanks to my Greek family xxxx

Room Tip: Superior rooms are gorgeous but the others are fine - those on the right are cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I have stayed at many hotels over the years ranging from non rated to 5 star and can honestly say this has to be one of the best.

Yes the rooms would be classed as basic if you were staying in a 5 star hotel but for a 2 star I would say they are underated. All rooms have a fridge, hairdryer and iron, they are cleaned every day (including change of towels). Some rooms also have TVs

There seems to be complaints about noise and banging doors but I would disagree. There are 2 sets of doors between the bar and rooms which are kept shut and noise, if any is kept to a minimum. There were a few banging doors but only because some ignorant guest dont understand what a door handle is for.

The pool area is comfortable with plenty sunbeds so no need to get up too early to put your towel out. The snack bar serves inexpensive food of a high quality.

The family bend over backwards to help all guests (not just those that frequent the bar).

Again there seems to be complaints about having to pay extra for late checkouts, safes and Air con but this isnt unique to Zeus, it is standard practice.

I personally cant fault any aspect of Zeus and will certainly be returning for a 3rd year next year.

Keep up the good work Zak, Maria, Manos, Nikolas and Sonia.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Zeus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeus Hotel

Address: Kefalos, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Zeus Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Zeus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeus Hotel Kefalos
Zeus Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zeus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.