We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, friendly staff and peaceful surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pantheon Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pantheon Apartments to your Saves list
Pantheon Apartments
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kefalos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Kefalos B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly staff and peaceful surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Would definitely choose again, a few reviews were worrying but, the experience wasnt the same here. Janet and Panos where very helpful and friendly, the rooms were very clean and cleaned regularly - food was good.
Would recommend getting some excusions planned early on and setting some cash aside for this, you can get the all best ones done with around €100, but you don't have to go on all of them to have a good time, we went sight seeing in Kos town and Bodrum (Turkey), otherwise Kefalos can seem out the way. Janet can give you all the info you need to what to do.
The hotel is about a ten minute walk from beach - and the beaches are well worth the walk! The only downside of this hotel is the walk back up the hill but its doable - prob take about 15 mins. Although at set times Panos can drive you up and down.
The location is ideal for peace and quiet but actually not to far away from the pubs and clubs down in kefalos, so would reccomend to party people but just make sure you go in season!

All the best Siobhan and Craig

Room Tip: Bring some mousquito replelant just in case - only had one day where we saw any - so not a major pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    58
    18
    21
    12
See reviews for
48
103
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham,England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Returned last week from holiday at Pantheon and what a great fortnight we had. Superb views from any side of the apartments and the most welcoming of hosts in Janet and Panos. They really want you to enjoy your stay and will help in any way they can without being intrusive. We went self catering but ate here on four occasions as the food was really good. Rooms are very adequate- no shower curtains but that is no problem-with great views overlooking hills, islands and sea. Cannot emphasise enough that the Pantheon is situated high on a hill which takes some climbing especially after you have been for a full evening meal so as the eating places were mainly at the other end of town we hired a car for a few days to cancel out the climb and it made the holiday perfect. Just spoke to Janet and she arranged it all very easily and at a good price. Beaches are also a steep climb back but as long as you are aware there is always a way around it! Panos runs the Pantheon "coach" three times a day which is really helpful and quiz nights twice a week on the terrace were good fun. Superb view from the poolside if you just want to relax and go nowhere.Thanks Janet for a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have just returned from what must be about our 10th visit to the Pantheon, and it was as good as ever.
In fact it is now like visiting family and old friends with Janet, Panos, Babis and Maria plus the children, as we go around the same time each year we meet up with friends from other years.
In fact we only see our friends Kevin & Barb from Liverpool at the Pantheon each year.
The views are stunning, sure its up a hill but so what, we now hire a car but in the past walked reguarly to Laguada Beach.
Food is very good with good portions and as for the breakfasts well they are very very good with more toast than a man could possibly eat though i did try ( thats for you Janet)
I could go on forever but suffice it to say we will be back next year, so please ignore the negative reviews give yourself a treat and book some time at the Pantheon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Having read some of the reviews, I felt I had to share our experiences at the Pantheon in April/ May 2011. We stayed for 2 weeks on a half board basis
We Traveled independently booking the accommodation through Low Cost Holidays, booking our own flights with Ryanair and car hire with Economy Car Hire.
Having never been to Kos before and with traveling under our own steam, we wanted to gather as much info regarding location, distances, times etc, so we joined the excellent Kefalos Haven internet forum.
The friendly and helpful information we received was invaluable. They provided us with step by step directions of how to get to the Pantheon, how long it should take and its location. We drove straight there without a wrong turn and we arrived within minutes of the time we were told it would take.

When we walked through the doors of the with our luggage in tow, we were met with a very surprised looking lady who turned out to be Janet.
When we explained to Janet we would like to check in, she said "I don't think so, everybody who I am expecting has arrived"
Filled with dread we handed our paperwork to Janet, she then made a couple of phone calls came back to us with a couple of beers, sat us down and told us she would have a room ready in 10 minutes.
True to her word the room was ready and we were more than pleased with it, spotlessly clean with every utensil we needed.
We couldn't thank Janet enough.

LOCATION.
Yes it is a bit of a hike to town, but we knew that as we had done our research and yes the climb back up the hill is not for the faint hearted, but what views you have from every vantage point at the Pantheon. I felt like a millionaire sitting on our balcony with views to die for.

FOOD.
The food at the Pantheon wasn't the best we have ever had in Greece but it certainly was not the worst. It was good home cooked food with a few oddities thrown in.
Breakfast was the usual fruit juice, cereal, toast, jam, tea or coffee, nothing wrong there then. Or you could have a variety of cooked breakfasts which were very good.
With a choice of starters, mains and desert you couldn't fault the evening meal.

DRINKS
Drinks are reasonable and are in line with what you would pay anywhere else in the town and you can settle up whenever you like, although I tended to settle up at the end of each evening, just so I knew where we were up to, money wise.

We had a FANTASTIC 2 weeks at the Pantheon and Janet was the perfect host, even when we were leaving Janet had still had not been paid by Low Cost for our stay and she told us not to worry about it.

We felt it was amazing value at £110 for 2 weeks HB per person.

Would we go back ? DEFINITELY.

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We just returned from a 2 week stay at the pantheon and we have to say we where most impressed after reading such bad reviews. Janet and Panos are the most helpful and accommodating people we have ever met in a hotel they were always very helpful and cheerful and would do anything to make your holiday a pleasant experience.
The food in the restaurant was very good although we where self catering we ate there a fair bit as it was also very reasonably priced with a good selection.
Our room was spacious and clean with clean sheets and towels every 2-3 days all the rooms face the sea and although we were on the ground floor we still had an excellent view over Kefalos and the bay.
The hotel is situated on top of a hill and it is about a 15 minute walk to the edge of town we did not find this an issue as we often used the courtesy bus driven by Panos at 10.00 13.30 and 18.00 the bus is beautiful! we also walked it several times, and you do not need to be an athlete like someone suggested, just not lazy.If you stayed down in the town you would not have the amazing view that the pantheon has.The pool area was fantastic and very quiet with not any more than half a dozen couples around the pool and no loud music.
We had a fantastic holiday and would recommend the Pantheon for your stay Janet is totally 5 stars and deserves a medal. don't read the negative comments some people just like complaining about everything.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the sea, rooms in the 2nd building would be quieter and rooms on the top floors w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Where do I begin, after reading other people's views on here before travelling I was so worried about staying at the Pantheon however they couldn't have been more wrong we had the best holiday ever.

Our room was spotless unlike some of the pictures I've seen on here (were they really taken in the same place) yes it was basic but there aren't many hotels in Greece for that amount of money that would have more in it. We had two large single beds plenty of storage with loads of hangers which was a bonus, a dressing table with lighting and a mirror. The kitchen was a good size with all the utensils you could need. The bathroom was a good size with no dirty shower curtain unlike some places I've stayed it was more like a wet room which was a big plus point. The balcony was large enough with a table, chairs and washing line so all was good with the room.

Our room was cleaned on a regular basis with clean bedding and towels.

The view from our room and hotel was spectacular you can't put a price on it it is worth going back just for that.

The pool area was clean and tidy with enough sun beds and umbrellas for everyone without having to come down early to put towels down like some places we've stayed before.

There was a poolside bar open until 3pm every day serving snacks and drinks at very reasonable prices it served things like sandwiches, burgers, pizzas, salads, jacket potatoes.

In the restaurant any guest was allowed to purchase the 3 course half board menu for only 9.50 euros each or there is an a la carte menu with everything you could need. The food was amazing and great value for money. We ended up eating there a lot as it was so good.

The best part of our holiday however was the amazing Janet, Panos and family. They truly made our holiday so special and we feel like we've made some great friends. Janet is around all day every day and never stops she's always on the go. She knows everybody on a name basis and I think she is one of the nicest peeople I have ever met. She was genuinely happy to do anything for everybody and is worth going to visit this hotel just to be looked after by Janet and her family.

We paid to have air on in our room as it was so reasonably priced at only 5 euros a day.

The hotel is a short walk away from the main strip of bars and restaurants but this wasn't ever an issue for us. We hired a car from trust rentals in the main bit of Kefalos for only 35 euros a day for 4 days which was really good value for money.

We had the best holiday ever and recommend this hotel to anyone do not listen to those grumpy people below as their reviews simply aren't true and we look forward to returning in the near future!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Please don,t be put off by any negative comments you may read on this page,yes the hotel is isolated,and out of the way but all the information available tells you this.We have stayed at many places and at many 5 star hotels,and have never had a better hoilday.The views are to die for,and the peace and tranquility is superb,however this is not what makes this place so special.It is purely down to Janet,Panos and her lovely family and staff.From first arriving you are made to feel so welcome,and nothing is too much trouble.My husband and I were celebrating our Pearl wedding anniversary whilst we were there and we were made such a fuss of,and everyone went out of their way to make it such a special and memorable occassion..You are made to feel part of the family,not a paying guest.This was our first visit,and it will most certainly not be our last,can,t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room to get the best views,across the bay and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pantheon Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pantheon Apartments

Address: Kefalos, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pantheon Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Pantheon Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pantheon Apartments Hotel Kefalos
Pantheon Apartments Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pantheon Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.