We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamari Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kamari Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kamari Bay Hotel
Kefalos 85301, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Kefalos
York england
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Home from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

First visited this hotel on a last minute deal not knowing which hotel we would be staying at until we land in Kos, when told the holiday staff said "Oh you lucky people" Yianni the owner was present on our arrival and made us most welcome. That was back in 1998 and we have been going back at least once every year. The hotel was always clean. Toni the barman was just a young whipper snapper when we first met, just about to get engaged to Irene who now covers reception. The rooms are good, the pool is excellent and Maria who runs the pool bar is lovely and friendly always willing to help. I know it is B & B but we dont rush back just for the breakfast.It was always the atmosphere of the place and location was spot on for other tavernas and bars. Sadly Yianni will never alter the breakfast but if he did like a number of other greek places we visited he would be having to turn the customers away. There are lots of people who return every year. Half of my family and friends go there Dont let the breakfast (not) put you off

Room Tip: The annex has great views out to sea, the side opposite the pool has great views to the harbour and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    53
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
21
84
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redditch,England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed at kamari bay for two weeks,we had a great time,staff were friendly,rooms cleaned every day except Sunday. We were all in the separate block at the back of the hotel,we never heard any noise from the bar. On the last Friday of our holiday I slipped as I entered the pool,the hotel receptionist was very helpful,phoned a taxi for us to go to hospital, explained to the driver what had happened. Next day everyone at the hotel asked after me,how I was etc. We would go to kefalos again,as it's a lovely resort,plenty of good places to eat.But we wouldn't go back to this hotel.Special thanks to Rachel our rep,you are a credit to Thomas Cook,thank you for all your help also for all your hard work.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the kamari bay in July this was our 2nd time in kefalos so knew our way around. The hotel is fine inside and out but our room was not well cleaned it was like they gave it a quick once over and out,they girls were nice but they def didn't clean up as well as people seen to be suggesting, the night we arrived something was squished in to the floor and it was there for two weeks,also our sheets were not changed once the whole time we were there which was two weeks the top sheet that they made in to fans were maybe changed but the bottom sheet no way my husband cut himself and the blood was on the sheet the whole time. To suggest that us who have complained are only used to 5 star is ridiculous iv never stayed 5 star and iv been in Greece the last 6 year stayin in nothing more than two star.
The people were nice but there is much nicer for the same money round about. We all have different opinions but I can honestly say I don't care about tv in a room or kettle or anything I just want a clean room and bed to go back to no matter how cheap or expensive it is you deserve cleanliness.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Okay no fridge, no TV and a dodgy breakfast we can live with that. All concerned with this hotel and beautiful island should be so proud of the service to all visitors. Once you arrive on Kos whoever you come into contact with you will be assured of a welcome that would be hard to surpass wherever you travel in the world. Kamari Bay and Kefalos is full of exceptional restaurants, friendly Tavernas and fantastic views. The whole staff at the hotel just can't do enough to make your stay so welcoming. The owner Yannis, Tony in charge of drinks, the ladies who keep the rooms and hotel spotless and the lady at the pool will make you want to go back there again and again. Mention must also be made to the Thompson rep Rachel absolutely helpful, patient and most informative. The sea is crystal clear, the beach up by the harbour is the place to chill with two sunbeds and an umbrella for 5 euros a day top notch. Will definitely recommend to anyone please visit this great hotel and beautiful island.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Absolutely brilliant time Yannis and Tony were great company. been to Kefalos many times but would definately return to this hotel .Didnt like our room on arrival as it was beside the bar and didnt have a good view but we were moved the next morning NO HASSEL !!! Cocktails are great Tony knows all the guests by name and remembers your drink, great company, breakfast is a roll or toast with jam orange juice tea or coffee, plenty for me 1st thing in the morning, cant wait to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the 200's
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend, Essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Got back last week from Kamari Bay Hotel, had a brilliant week. We were worried after reading some of the reviews but apart from the breakfast (which we were expecting) being a little sparse and the lack of a small fridge in the room we had no complaints.
We were in the annexe which had a lovely sea view, the sheets were changed regularly as were the towels, the room and shower room were spotlessly clean.
We had a drink at the bar quite a few times and didn`t think it was clique at all, in fact all the couples who had been many times gave us some good tips on which restaurants and bars to try. Tony who ran the bar was really friendly as were Yannis (the owner) and all the other members of staff.
Everyone who stayed in the annexe whilst we were there were very thoughtful about not banging doors late at night.
All in all we can say if we go back to Kefalos we would definately go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Returned from this hotel mid September, can honestly say that anyone who complains about this place has spent too much time and money in 5 star, all inclusive hotels.

This hotel is listed as a 2 star bed and breakfast. Yes the room is a bit small and the shower is basic, but all you do in the room is sleep and get ready. A mini fridge would have been nice to keep drinks cool but no big deal..

The pool area is spacious, plenty of deck chairs with fixed parasols. There is a snack hut with lots of tables in the shade, the food and drink is lovely and well priced.

We did not try the breakfast due to other holiday makers recommendations however there are plenty of places to eat within a ten minute walk from the hotel. With gorgeous views!
People that complain about the breakfast don't understand what traditional Greece is about..a bread roll and juice tea/coffee is what you'll get in most family run places, if you want a fry up, go to the hut and they'll be happy to oblige.

The bar is a bit small but there and tables and chairs in the same room instead.
Tony is the barman and is very hospitable, even with his dry humour. We met some really nice people there who we are going to arrange a return trip with.

Yannis/John (the owner) was very kind, he even lent my girlfriend a book after expressing an interest in the local history.. I.e Hippocrates and the Asklepion-well worth a visit.
He does not demand you leave your key upon going out of the hotel... Whoever said that is knit picking.. They only suggest you leave it on site to lower the risk of loss and therefore the cost of a replacement.

Rooms were cleaned daily, except Sunday which was no problem for us..

Take the photos of the place on this site with a pinch of salt, half of them aren't even of the hotel..

We heard a rumour that Thomas Cook are dropping the hotel in 2014 which we feel is a great shame.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone and would happily go again.

Room Tip: We had room 204 which looked out onto the pool, has shade in the midday sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kamari Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kamari Bay Hotel

Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 hotels in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kamari Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kamari Bay
Kamari Bay Kefalos
Kamari Bay Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamari Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.