We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stenna Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Stenna Apartments to your Saves list
Stenna Apartments
2.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Kefalos Village, Kefalos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Kefalos
Deal, Kent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Stenna apartments are in an excellent position close to the restaurants and shops. Cleaned regularly and fairly spacious. The only issue we had was that rooms 1-10 had no privacy between balconies. There is a bit of a slope to get to the apartments or it is over the wall by use of the chair.

Room Tip: best rooms are 11 - 20, which offer more privacy between balconies. Beware of fridge in room 1 as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    9
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We just got back on Sunday from a week at Stena. Were put in no. 7 to start but the balcony there was on the end, with no red railings like the others so absolutely no divide between us and next door, so zero privacy. We felt forced to stay inside all night as next door were outside talking all night. It would have been like sitting right next to someone on the bus had we gone out too. So we were moved to the other apartment block, which has proper dividing walls . We were in no 12. This was much quieter as on the other block you face some sort of machinery that goes off periodically (generator?) in the garden of someone's house opposite.

The apartment was cleaned every couple of days. Cupboards smelt bad - very moth ball like, so did not want to use any plates from there.

The kitchenettes have a 3rd bed and a small window with a mosquito gauze. The bedroom has no gauze and really sheer curtains, and with the sun coming up the bedroom side of the blocks, t was like trying to sleep in broad daylight. This was quite awful, and along with the rock hard beds, made the whole week problematic for sleep. We ended up dragging one mattress into the kitchen area to sleep in every night, put on the floor alongside the other bed. It is marginally dimmer in here but the door to the apartment was frosted glass, so again, too much light really. The main reason we slept there was we could not stand the heat in the bedroom - had to keep the doors shut all night due to mozzies.

TIP - buy some RAID spray and douse all rooms thoroughly with the stuff before leaving to go out and eat. Ensure windows shut first and do under the wardrobe area. This really does work to kill any mozzies in there. Just be really careful to shut the balcony doors behind you when you enter and exit that area once back in the apartment. We suffered 5 awful nights of bites before a local told us about this stuff. We went round killing as many as we could see before this,before bed, but all it takes is one to give you 10 bites during the night.

Had to book a late stay as flight home was 2-50 am. Was charged an extra 30 Euros for this, which I think is over the top given people here have reported staying a whole week there for 50 euros.

Take some earplugs and an eye mask for sleep. Up the road, the next apartment has a dog that barks a LOT. There are also various cockerels in the area plus really noisy bikes entering the parking area late at night sometimes.

Good base though - 10 mins to beach, which even this time of year was quiet. Most days we had about 8 empty sunbeds either side. Don't pick the end beds though as this places you next to an empty sandy area where local families come and the Greek families are without exception VERY chatty and noisy. Kefalos beach is a very average beach but did the job. Well worth taking the speedboat over to Paradise beach, which lives up to its name- absolutely stunning and water MUCH warmer here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room in the apartment block which has the slanted dividing walls between balconies, un...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

just come home from kos,stayed in the stenna appts in kefalos,ab brill,anthoula was very nice and friendly,nothing was too much trouble and the rooms were cleaned every day.great location for everything,having visited kefalos many times i have found these appts one of the best.there are a load of pools around that area,and very near the beach.

Room Tip: air conditioning is a must in kefalos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bootle boy
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

first time at the stena apartments (number 10) lovely view good strong clean beds,kettle, two cooking rings and a good fridge,rooms cleaned every two days, great location, handy for everything,theres no pool but thats not a problem as you can use any hotels pools for the cost of a bottle of water. we stayed from july3rd to july 17th and we are going back to the stenna for a month next year. totally satisfied with these apartments.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms get the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We have stayed at stena two years running ,which ever of the two blocks you stay in you will find them very clean and very spacious. 10/10 . Upstairs rooms have good sea views .very good budget rooms. fridge , kettle, and a couple of rings . Great location for the beach and harbour road .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here the beginning of September.Basic but very clean and tidy.Enough plates etc for 2-3 people. Good size fridge and a kettle. Nice to have breakfast on the balcony and then relax there after a hard day sunbathing by the pool, (most hotel pools are open to non residents). A short walk to beach and restaurants, but look for the white chair by the wall as it is an even shorter cut to the supermarket etc. We have already booked again for next year for the ridicules price of £52 for a week!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The apartments were clean and comfortable, and a short stroll to the sea. The balconies were facing the sea, I imagine the upstairs balconies got a good view, we were on the ground floor, so could see the sea beyond the restaurants and a vegetable garden. There were only a couple of mugs and a plates, a large saucepan, frying pan and the "kettle"jug. This did not bother us as we did not cook while we were there, except for breakfast.
The only down side was that the rooms became unbearably hot as the sun rose as there were no shutters, just curtains, air con was available at 6Euros a night, which we didn't get.
Short stroll to the Kontessa Apartments which had a large pool and an extremely friendly staff, they made us very welcome.
Best bar was at the end of the road - Memory bar, long drinks - 2 Euros, beer 1.50. they are on the front and have a couple of sunbeds you can use as long as we had a drink. Perfect when the Grand Prix was on, I went on the beach while my boyfriend watched the racing!!

Room Tip: think upstairs will have better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stenna Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stenna Apartments

Address: Kefalos Village, Kefalos, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 43 Specialty Lodging in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stenna Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Stenna Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stenna Apartments Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stenna Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.