We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place and food lovely every time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taverna Katerina

Taverna Katerina
Camel Beach | Agios Stefanos, Kefalos 49081, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 49 Restaurants in Kefalos
Price range: $34 - $42
Restaurant details
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Amazing place and food lovely every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We happened upon this taverna on the way to the beach and boy were we glad we did! We ended up going back there nearly every day and a couple of evenings. The food was lovely and the wine was chilled and served in their personalised carafe - which we actually then bought so we could enjoy the experience at home.

Greek salad is amazing as you would expect. One night while we were eating they brought in a swordfish that had just been caught so the following day - guess what we ordered for our last lunch?

Would definitely return to this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    22
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have eaten at this taverna many times over the years and Dimitri was able to show us a photo he took of us with our friends who we holiday with in Kefalos taken 2 years ago. We were not disappointed as the same good food ("mama's honey cake" is Devine, as is her Mousakka). As we stay close by we know the walk very, very well, but its worth i!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bradford
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

10 of us arrived here around lunchtime after a long hike from Kamari Bay along the beach in the sweltering heat.

We were immediately made welcome by 3 members of staff who re-arranged the entire restaurant to seat us all together.

We had various beers and various light lunches all of which were excellent if a little more expensive than the restaurants in town.

One of our party was celebrating a 60th birthday and at the end of the meal a large birthday cake appeared from nowhere at no charge. A lovely touch. We continued to sit and chat for a while after finishing our meals and nobody bothered us or made us feel it was time to go.

All the staff were very helpful and friendly. A little out of the way to eat at night unless someone drives but would recommend doing so.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great spot, worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

Good spot right by the beach, it is at the bottom of a steep hill but worth the effort, if you go in the morning you can spend the day on the beach and have a very nice meal in the taverna, which offers good value for money.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Very good fish on a wonderful sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Taverna Katerina offers an incredibly nice spot on the sea, very close to Camel Beach, one of the best beaches in Kos.
While for lunch it could be very crowded, in the evening is half-empty: go here to enjoy a wonderful view of the sea when it gets dark, and then sit down and taste the taramosalata, the tzatziki, and the very good fish this Taverna offers you.
The mixed grill plate from the sea is suggested.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taverna Katerina also viewed

 

Been to Taverna Katerina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taverna Katerina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.