We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kampos

Kampos
Kefalos, Kefalos 85301, Greece
+30 2242 071316
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 51 Restaurants in Kefalos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $17
Cuisines: Seafood, Greek, Family Fare, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Our family Taverna opened for first time in 1 May 1987 since then every first of may we are back to serve you our dishes which Antonis and Stella prepare everyday for our customers!!We hope that every person who comes in our place enjoy the greek hospitality and our great athmosphere!!Our menu is not the biggest you can imagine but we guarantee for the quality of the materials!!
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“First meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We could not wait to go back here to eat ,we went here on our fist night and again the food and service was great. The owner even remembered us from last year. Food is brilliant and I am already missing it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    28
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very traditional taverna”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Authentic, friendly, family owned & run Greek taverna. Wonderful home made chips. Excellent Tzatziki. Lamb cutlets appeared very popular - other customers were wowing over them (We're vegetarian). Pumpkin and chickpea croquettes both lovely, so were the dolmades. Food arrives within minutes of ordering. House wine topped up for free later on. Very friendly service. Probably the best Greek food we found in Kefalos.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altofts, Yorkshire, England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“High Standards Maintained”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Kampos continues its high standards of tasty food, excellent service and hospitality. Family run and family cooked food it is a lovely quiet spot for a lunch or evening meal. All the greek dishes are very good but the Kleftiko is superb. Tony and George are great hosts. Try it and don't be put off by the exterior picture its charming inside and immaculately clean.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent food and hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We ate here twice during our recent stay and the food was excellent - we had souvlaki, pork steak, chick pea fritters, what they call pumpkin fritters which are really courgette fritters, chicken a la creme and kleftiko - all lovely - definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York england
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“A Greek charm with an owner who is like a family friend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have visited Kampos at least once every holiday we have had over the last 16yrs. We have watched the family grow. Nothing is too much trouble and the food is excellent. We felt like family friends after the 2nd visit and that friendship has gone from strength to strength. Yes it's nice to get the odd free drink, but it is the warmth and greek friendliness that is so appealing. Location great. The owner is so friendly always smiling, it is always a pleasure to eat at Kampos

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kampos also viewed

 

Been to Kampos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kampos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.