We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maritsa Studios Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Maritsa Studios Hotel to your Saves list
Maritsa Studios Hotel
Kefalos, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“good value, lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

great owners, lovely setting if you are at the back location ok if you like walking, a lovely small harbour a walk away with plenty of bars and eateries, quiet place if relaxation is what your looking for,as Maritsa does not have a pool you are able to use Manolis which you see on arriving at Maritsa.
Lovely Beaches if you like watersports plenty to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
3
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed there 2013 May good clena apartment well equipped bedding and towells changed every day peacefull sopt well worht the money and the owners were very nice and helpfull would recomend this any time and will defo be going back

Room Tip: I stayed at the front of the hotel and as its set back from the road it was peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornaby on Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

we stayed at these apartments in may and we could not fault the owners they were always on hand and very helpful apartment was spotlessly clean typical greek standard but we did have kettle and toaster 5 min walk to nearest supermarket and bars etc use of pool next door were you got drinks and snacks so no problem there kefelos is a beuatiful part of the island and the marista is a fine base to stay although it is at end of resort this was not a problem for us a nice walk down of an evening to fine restaurants the three brothers is a great place to eat food good and owners very welcoming and freindly. Rate this property on our last day we asked to keep room on as we had late pick up were willing to pay but marista would not take anything from us Super servive from Super people cant wait to go back .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

In summary: I had a good four-day stay here in August. It's simple accommodation that is excellent value for money but not for you if you like a lot of luxury.

For a studio for one or two people the accommodation is basic but well sized. Tidy and clean although not new. Beds comfortable, 2-ring hob, kettle, sink, en-suite bathroom.

Air con available at a reasonable extra cost but which is quite fair considering the room price (and the owner also waived the small fee for use of the room's safety deposit box).

Owner very friendly and helpful. Small supermarket just down road. Swimming pool not on this site but one in the appartments next door (which also has a small bar and some food), which people are welcome to use, I guess the quid pro quo being that one should buy drinks there.

Additional pro: quiet, at edge of town (5-10 mins walk)
Additional con: as is apparently common in Greece, the shower had a wrap-around curtain and did not have a hook for the shower head. Shower water may be cool early in morning and late in evening (I didn't mention this to the owner so this may change).

For those coming in from airport via bus, the driver should be familiar with it, but it not it is just 5 mins walk uphill from the 1st supermarket as you drive into the sea front), Note that this is in the part of Kefalos that runs along the sea front (apartments about 10 mins walk or so from sea) rather than up the hill in the older village itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Kos is beautiful, soft sandy beaches, clear blue sea. Visited in September and there was a lovely breeze off the sea. Stayed at Maritsa Apartments, unfortunately they were shabby and dusty (we were put in a three bed, and moved to a two bed, after 3 days). We could use the facilities at the Manolis apartments close by, which have a lovely pool, so no chasing the sunbeds at dawn! However Manolis have more noise from the lorries and bikes on the road. Enjoyed a lovely holiday which was down to the Island, and friends we met. Location was on a main road but you can walk down to many very reasonable restaurants. We would love to go back to the Island but not these apartments. On the last day Maritsa could not give us the late occupancy, but another guest offered us the use of their shower before we left at 5.30pm, Maritsa was reluctant to let us have one towel to use, doubtful that she would get it back. Check out the photos.....

Room Tip: Pot luck! We stayed in 2 out of 12 and they were pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We arrived fairly late but Maritsa was up and waiting for us. I walked to the next door accommodation to scrounge up some sugar for the tea. They gave me some which was very kind and then that friendliness continued for the rest of the week wherever we went.
There was a review that said the supermarket was a good distance from the studios but it is about 1/2 a kilometre down the hill on the opposite side of the road. Open 8-12 midnight.
We didn't do the sightseeing thing but walked to a restaurant for breakfast the to the beach. Then lunch and back on the beach.
Some of the property looks scruffy and some is unfinished but all of the restaurants were lovely with good food and not expensive.
We were on the ground floor and I think we would have preferred to be upstairs as you get a little outside space to sit. We also had 2 beds which wasn't great for a married couple.
It seemed reasonable to have A/C which was extra (€50 with the safe)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Maritsa apartments are pretty much what you expect on a budget holiday to Greece. Very basic: one room with 3 simple single beds, wardrobe and table; kitchenette with two ring cooker, kettle and toaster and a few cooking pots; shower room.. and that's about the lot. Upstairs apartments have a small balcony, downstairs have the terrace. You should probably pay for the air con in the height of the summer if you get a room without a proper window at the back as it's very warm in the night.

The rooms are cleaned twice in a week with sheets and towels changed mid week and Maritsa, the owner, is on hand all day should anything need her attention.

There is no pool at the Maritsa however next door at the Manolis there is a lovely pool with free sun beds and a reasonable cafe/bar. Bambis, the manager/owner there is very friendly, but you can use pretty much any pool in the area - for the price of a beer or a snack.

The nearest supermarket is less than 5 minutes away, not a 10 minute hike as previous reviews have suggested. The beach is also around 5-7 minutes away - lovely clean beach with crystal clear sea and an abundance of sun beds (5 euros for 2 beds and a parasol for the day). The walk into the Kefalos harbour is a good 30 minutes but you can find a good selection of bars and restaurants strewn all along the route - you could probably eat in a different place every day even if you were staying for a fortnight, there are that many but, sadly, many are almost empty as this is such a quiet resort. Prices become increasingly expensive the closer to the beach/harbour you are but we never spent more than 40 euros on a meal (2 people with wine!) and we never had a bad meal. There's no explanation for Kefalos being so quiet as it's a perfect place for a family holiday or, in my case, a week of doing absolutely nothing but relaxing, reading and sun bathing.

I do have to mention the cats! If you don't like cats then beware. There are around 15-20 or so all living in the vicinity and whilst non of them are unfriendly, most are not used to company so tend to leave you alone - unless you feed them. If you do like cats you should also be aware that not all of them look to be in the best of health which might be quite upsetting if you're a bit of a feline fan.

I would highly recommend the Maritsa apartments if you're looking for a cheap break in a quiet, pretty location, just don't expect too much luxury or a hectic nightlife!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritsa Studios Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritsa Studios Hotel

Address: Kefalos, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These pleasant and simply furnished studio's are set back from the main road, set in pretty gardens, on the outskirts of Kamari Bay in Kefalos. Close by are a variety of bars, shops and restaurants catering for all tastes, the sandy beach is just 10 minutes walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Maritsa Studios Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritsa Studios Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritsa Studios Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.