We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel away from it all” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anthoula Hotel

Save Saved
You added Anthoula Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Anthoula Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kefalos Area, Kefalos 85301, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Kefalos
wells, Somerset
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Hotel away from it all”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Great hotel and value for money despite its low star rating. Anthoula welcomes everyone with a warm smile and can't do enough for you. The rooms are great, some with studios comprising kitchenette and dining. At the top of the hill in the old part of town and secluded and unspoilt. Pool is wonderful and no fighting for sunbeds. Breakfast very basic but ok. If you want entertainment don't choose this hotel as it is so peaceful it is almost unreal but a fab place for total relaxation and the pool bar offers variety of food and cold or hot drinks. Anthoula will give you a life into town if you want one and is always on hand to help. Deserves a much higher star rating but we got a bargain break which was just what was needed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    38
    40
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
58
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Anthoula and her family are great hosts. They made us so welcome. The hotel was spotless the room clean and bright. We spent a load of time by the pool it was lovely. I cannot recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Returning to the Anthoula following our trip in July 2011 (reviewed here too), just wanted to confirm that this place is still an absolute gem. Everything still stands from our earlier review - it's a fantastic budget getaway - the rooms are spotless, the pool / poolside as good as anywhere, the weather faultless, and Anthoula herself is a tremendously hard-working host who is welcoming, attentive and provides a service that is well beyond the hotel's star rating, and the cost of the holiday. I would recommend paying extra for a safe in the room and for the air conditioning; although there is 'no crime' you can never be too careful, and the rooms without AC at night are just too hot to sleep! The local resort of Kefalos was quieter than in 2011 (the recession biting) but the restaurants etc were still great, and if anything cheaper than a couple of years ago. Would highly recommend eating at the Santa Barbara and also the Sydney Bar and Grill. Hired a quad from Katerinas and explored some more, with a few days at Paradise Beach - well worth the 10 / 15 drive. Came back fully refreshed with a healthy tan, well fed, and forgot all about work for a week - what more do you want??! Only recommendation / action point would be for Anthoula to invest in some new beds and pillows - 2 single beds pushed together doesn't make a double - with the wooden bed frame there was about a foot gap between the 2 mattresses! And the pillows were shocking - had to raid the housekeeping cupboard one night! A few double beds and some new pillows would really make a world of difference; but honestly it's not even an issue really - when you're paying about £20 a night for the room it's all good! Will definitely be going back next year for some R&R. Anthoula - keep up the good work! :o)

Room Tip: Beach facing rooms on the front of the hotel have a fab view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Anthoula is very pleasant and obliging. Beautiful accomodation, first class pool, excellent rooms which include full size fridge, kettle, hair dryer. Free mini-bus service (at least four times a day) down to kamari bay. If you are walking down to or up from kamari bay and Anthoula is passing in the mini-bus she will stop and pick you up. We have been twice and hope to visit again soon.
Sandra & Peter Yapp

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel & was greeted at the reception by Anthoula, showed us where everything was & how everything worked. Breakfast included every morning, only a cheese roll but who eats in the morning anyway :) Anthoula works so hard to make the hotel as nice as it is making breakfast from 8am to the bus service she runs to & from the beach throughout the day to serving snacks at the pool & then the bar at night is open till around midnight! Very clean, nice pool, very helpful staff, no problems at all & would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forfar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We read the excellent reviews and they certainly lived up to our expectations. We chose this accommodation not because of the B&B aspect as we rarely go for breakfast and this one was was barely a breakfast but we didn't mind that. We booked it because of the setting, the reviews and the fridge. We also got it at a fabulous price on jet2. The cleaners are super efficient and the rooms are simply Greek which we like. We had a lovely view up to the fort at the side of the hotel. Our favourite place to visit was up the hill to Kefalos village and we spent many a night with a glass of wine watching the hustle and bustle in the cafe opposite the shop. It's only a 10min walk up but it has that real Greek feel and is less commercial than down at the front and its a faster walk up to. My partner particularly liked this holiday as we came across a mountain bike company called Kos Mountain Bike Activities in Psalidi in Kriptoris village and he was out for 60k ride but they tailor rides to suit all abilities. My favourite day was walking up to the top of Zia hill. The views were spectacular and we took photos of the wee church, the cross and the weather worn statue. The walk took an hour and a half to get up. The walk down was tough on the knees though but worth it and we stopped for lunch up from the main throng - much nicer. Other places to visit: Die Grobe Muhle cafe. We found it by chance. It's a windmill converted into a lovely cafe. We also visited the kite surfing beach and not forgetting Thermes which is free to get in, peacock forest - lots of peacocks and chicks and the 16th century castle worth a visit. A car is a must as there are so many great places to visit. There is lots to do in Kos and we will return soon and would definitely stay in Anthoula's.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Just come back from a 2 week stay at Anthoula's in Kefalos - we wanted a cheap holiday where we could just relax and this is what we got. The hotel and the rooms are very basic, with hot showers only in the early morning and at 5ish in the evening, as other reviews have also mentioned the breakfast consists of a bread roll with jam and cheese, but the coffee is nice. We missed breakfast on a number of occasions due to sleeping in, but the pool bar opened at 11am and we were able to buy ourselves a snack (You are only allowed to consume food and drink around the pool that has been purchased at Anthoula's - but everything is quite cheap) or walk into the local town. The hotel is situated at the top of a hill and there are 79 steps to walk down, however this only takes about 10 minutes. The town is quite with many supermarkets and restaurants to choose from (Argo is the best).

Although basic, the hotel is very clean with clean towels and bedding provided by the maid service every day. Anthoula is so friendly and she offers a bus service up and down the hill a few times a day.
We also rented a quad bike from Katerina's based in the town for a few days, this was a great way to get around the island.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better view and the shower water is warmer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anthoula Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthoula Hotel

Address: Kefalos Area, Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 hotels in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anthoula Hotel 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Anthoula Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthoula Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anthoula Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.