We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Find!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ionikos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ionikos Hotel to your Saves list
Ionikos Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kefalos 85301, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Kefalos
milo55
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Great Find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Booked a week in the Ionokis at the last minute & happy that we did.The Hotel is set in a great location on the best beach area of Kamari Bay, which is probably the best beach in Kos,it is just a few steps from the hotels pool area so you are spoilt for choice.The pool & the surrounds are really well kept amongst lovely gardens,there is also a super bar/restaurants serving throughout the day.The rooms are simply furnished in typical Greek style,kept spotlessly clean with regular towel & linen change.Close to lots of excellent Tavernas & bars, between a 5 & 15 minute easy walk away either along the beach or road.Our stay was made even better by Chris who can't do enough for you & very friendly.The only reason for not giving a 5 is perhaps the breakfast,which is rather basic ( although the lady serving is lovely) but for the price of the hotel you can't complain,if you want something more,plenty of eateries nearby.Overall,a cracking Hotel & will certainly be back.Kefalos is not for everybody,if you like authentic Greece, a great beach,good food & lovely scenery,perfect.If you want Clubs,Kareoke,etc~avoid!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have lovely pool/seaviews.Some rooms have a fridge,worth asking if you want one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    14
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
2
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We were recommended to go to Ionikos from our friends and we were not disapointed, we had a wonderfull stay there! Family and other staff what are running this hostel are just fantastic - always caring about you, never tired of their job (they actually look like they never sleep or relax!!!), they were so nice and smiling all the time. The food was fantastic (we loved their greek salad, papoutsaki and gemista) although the breakfast is really really simple but we did not mind to buy our own yogurt/cheese/vegetable/fruit for breakfast in a localshop about 2 min away. Whole hotel area is maintained very well - clean pool area, beatiful garden, clean and simple rooms and bathrooms (they clean your room every single day!). Hotel is practically on the beach that is sandy and one of the most beatiful in Kos. Definitely recomended!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the ionikos early July this hotel is in a fantastic location right on the beach and its the best section of the beach too.
The hotel grounds and pool area are very well maintained and much more 3star standard. The rooms are very basic with small bathroom but for what we paid no complaints as it was always clean. The staff in the hotel are both friendly and helpful.

Kefalos is a lovely resort with lots of nice restaurants, we loved Argo for Greek food and the Aussie BBQ is great for steak.

All in all great holiday in nice hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front over looking the sea looked beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladbeck, Germany
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Nice hotel with pool & sandy beach at Kefalos. Small room with an impressive view above the property i.e. pool area to the blue sea. Clean bathroom. Poor Greek breakfast. Staff is very friendly. International guests.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our second time at the Ionikos and we've just booked our third. The breakfast is a bit boring but sufficient to get you through until lunch. The salads and omelettes at lunchtime are fantastic. The hotel is right on the beach and it's only 5 euros for 2 sunbeds and an umbrella. Loads of good quality eating places within easy walking distance. Room was kept clean and towels and bedding changed more often than necessary. We took a mosquito net to peg over the door at night and slept like a dream! This is a very quiet hotel - everyone seems to be in bed by 11 - and the only noise you hear is cicadas. Chrissy speaks perfect English (American) and works very hard to ensure you enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have just come back from a weeks holiday staying at the Ionikos Hotel
It is a lovely family run hotel where nothing is too much trouble
The hotel is clean and comfy situated on the beach front and about a 20min
walk into the harbour area.
You can walk either down the main road which has restaurants/shops and bars on either side
or along the beach where there are more restaurants.
The pool area has a bar and snack bar and the food is fantastic / really good
We would recommend this hotel and will definatly return ourselves

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hotel Ionikos is situated very close to the beach of Kefalos bay. It is equipped with a small but clean pool, a restaurant and a bar. We stayed here for one week and the hotel left an ambivalent mark.
The hotel and the gardens surrounding it were very nice and well tended. It’s only a short walk to the beach and nice tavernas (we always ate at “Kastri” and were very happy with the meals and the service). There is a small supermarket and a car & scooter rental nearby.
From our point of view the stuff was a bit harsh and not always friendly. The payment of our room was not as easy as we thought, because the manager only accepted cash. Our room was not always well cleaned and the towels were not changed frequently. And last but not least the breakfast is very basic (no buffet) and neither varied nor fresh.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ionikos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ionikos Hotel

Address: Kefalos 85301, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Kos > Kefalos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Kefalos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ionikos Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ionikos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ionikos Hotel Kos/Kefalos, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ionikos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.