We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food, Spacious seating!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of True South

True South
298 Beach Road, Black Rock, Bayside, Victoria VIC 3193, Australia
1300 878 360
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Black Rock
Cuisines: Argentinean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Argentinean Restaurant & Brewery.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely Food, Spacious seating!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Had my Xmas lunch here, and thought the food was very nice! The food won't be disappointing so it doesn't matter what you order! I had the Salmon, and it was cooked extremely well. The different salads were also very enjoyable.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    34
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Slow Roast Lamb”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We had our Christmas party here and my boss arranged the food before hand. We arrived, had a drink and the food started to arrive. First a selection of tapas dishes, delicious and filling and then platters of Slow Cooked Lamb which was to die for. The selection of wines is good and the beer is brewed on the premises with a good variety of different types. Not cheap for a shout of drinks, but you are drinking quality stuff.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything under this roof is pretty good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Went there and had a great time ... Service was great and food was even better! A bit pricey but worth it. Great beach views from the roof top, great function area up stairs too. Not normally a cider drinker however tried their own brewed cider and thought very highly of it ... You have to try it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and different salads to enjoy with the meat and seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This restaurant was recommended by family living locally and we were not disappointed. My favorites were the carrot coriander and maple syrup salad and the spicy chorizo sandwich. Great flavors in all the choices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Took some overseas visitors for dinner on 10 Oct and they were very impressed. Excellent service, good food and a fantastic selection of beers. Try the summer ale its delicious. I believe the chef is from Argentina and the tapas style food is very good. You must try the Choripans.
It is really good to have your own brewery on the doorstep.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed True South also viewed

 

Been to True South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage True South, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.