We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saturday night dining” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cerberus Beach House

Cerberus Beach House
Boatshed 212, Half Moon Bay, Black Rock, Bayside, Victoria 3193, Australia
03 9533 4028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 restaurants in Black Rock
Price range: $38 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: With impressive modern Australian dishes and a spectacular location on Half Moon Bay, near Black Rock, Cerberus Beach House turns the simple pleasure of fish and chips on the beach into something truly special. Good old-fashioned ‘real’ fish and chips are served in the downstairs kiosk while upstairs, patrons can enjoy a smarter, yet still relaxed, dining experience amidst cool blues and whites, warm timber tables and chairs, and breathtaking views of the bay. Built on the finest seasonal ingredients sourced locally wherever possible, Cerberus’ menu is a tantalising mix of modern Australian options and fresh seafood worthy of the magnificent setting.
australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Saturday night dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I had boasted to my family how good this restaurant was, but on this occasion it was very disappointing. Two of the steak dinners were very rare and certainly not what was ordered. I must say though, the manager offered a refund and apology for one of them. Time was getting on so there was not enough time to reorder another main

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya C, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your review.
We appreciate and take on board all feedback to ensure we better the dining experience we strive to offer. We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Sonya C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    93
    40
    12
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bayside heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We have dined here a few times and have never been disappointed. The best romantic lunches we have had in the most cosy upstairs table in the corner overlooking the beautiful bay. The view is breathtaking and really takes you away and makes for the most relaxing experience. The menu is tasteful and varied and the wine just hits the spot. The service is always first class. Everything to love about this place.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonya C, Marketing Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We at Cerberus Beach House always strive to make every experience here special.
Your feedback will be shared amongst all our staff members.
Thank you again!
Kind regards,
Sonya
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mothers Day Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Of course its booked out on Mothers Day and limited options but this little oasis packs a massive punch. New chef we hear and level stepped up a notch. Grannie and mum enjoyed 5 star food and a few vinos, along with some amazing melbourne views. Been there half a dozen times and just continues to deliver absolute first class food. Just amazing find!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great views great sevice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I wanted to take my wife somewhere different to celebrate our tenth wedding anniversary. So jumped on the web and found the Cerberus Beach House in Black Rock.Well what a find! Went on a cold Friday night great views of the lights twinkling around the bay, would be fantastic in daylight hours as the restaurant is upstairs and right on the water. Food was tasty fresh and well cooked only criticism if any was one of the fish dishes was a bit on the small side apart from that very delicious which more than made up for the portion size.Our waitress was was one of best I have come across very friendly great sense of humour and very efficient,. service was spot on. Food and Wine reasonably priced and to top off a very pleasant night on learning it was our anniversary gave us a discount on our drinks when we got our bill nice touch indeed! We will be back for lunch in the near future to catch those great views.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Bayside fish n chips with view to die for...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Amazing bayside views of HMS Cerebrus wreck and Red Bluff at The Black Rock yacht club. Friday nights have long been a family tradition bringing picnic table and chairs, a crisp white wine and rigging up to enjoy the sunset. Standard fish and chip takeaway fare downstairs with restaurant upstairs. Very busy Friday nights... Spectacular views over Port Phillip Bay at sunset all seasons!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerberus Beach House also viewed

Black Rock, Bayside
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Brighton, Bayside
 
Beaumaris, Bayside
 

Been to Cerberus Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerberus Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.