We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Sea change and the best location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerberus Beach House

Cerberus Beach House
Boatshed 212, Half Moon Bay | Off Beach Road, Black Rock, Bayside, Victoria 3193, Australia
+61 3 9533 4028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 29 Restaurants in Black Rock
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $35 - $51
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Award-winning beachfront restaurant upstairs serving locally sourced modern Australian cuisine with a unique wine list, warm Bayside welcome, and stunning 180 degree views over Half Moon Bay. Or visit our kiosk downstairs and enjoy traditional fish & chips on the beach.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Sea change and the best location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

What a beautiful day we had today beside the sea side
with a wonderful group of women.
We shared some great small plates enjoying seafood and a variety of tasty morsels to share and for dessert we had the most amazing banana soufflé with hazelnut and chocolate ice-cream
Staff were friendly and engaging and we found the hospitality here first class.
I will be back as soon as I can all the way from the eastern suburbs and hours drive but worth the journey.
The sailing regatta made today a spectacular vista with the sea glistening and children running in and out of the shallows, just the best spot for a really scrumptious lunch

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    71
    25
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is rapidly becoming one of my favourite restaurants in Melbourne. I've probably been to the Cerberus Beach House about 10 times now and it has been just perfect every time. Fast, friendly staff, spectacular view, beautiful white decor and the food is just fantastic. Highly recommend. (Oh and I have a new favourite beer now - two brothers, taxi - yum!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Paul L”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Perfect location, ideal way to watch the sun go down, Sunday evening great food good service live soft music a long way from home however the staff make you feel like you are having dinner in your best friends dining room !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of Melbourne's best restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Cerberus is my current favourite restaurant in Melbourne, love it! Been here 6 times, summer and winter and the staff are good, the views magnificent and the food always delicious. The wine list is excellent value and always good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have had many meals here and the standard of the food has always been excellent. This visit was with a group of friends one of them a vegan and the kitchen was excellent in catering for her needs. We did give them notice of the dietry needs in advance but she was so happy with the meals available to her. Great views, good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerberus Beach House also viewed

Black Rock, Bayside
 

Been to Cerberus Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerberus Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.