We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view, fabulous food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerberus Beach House

Cerberus Beach House
Boatshed 212, Half Moon Bay, Black Rock, Bayside, Victoria 3193, Australia
+61 3 9533 4028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Black Rock
Price range: $33 - $66
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: With impressive modern Australian dishes and a spectacular location on Half Moon Bay, near Black Rock, Cerberus Beach House turns the simple pleasure of fish and chips on the beach into something truly special. Good old-fashioned ‘real’ fish and chips are served in the downstairs kiosk while upstairs, patrons can enjoy a smarter, yet still relaxed, dining experience amidst cool blues and whites, warm timber tables and chairs, and breathtaking views of the bay. Built on the finest seasonal ingredients sourced locally wherever possible, Cerberus’ menu is a tantalising mix of modern Australian options and fresh seafood worthy of the magnificent setting.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, fabulous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is rapidly becoming one of my favourite restaurants in Melbourne. I've probably been to the Cerberus Beach House about 10 times now and it has been just perfect every time. Fast, friendly staff, spectacular view, beautiful white decor and the food is just fantastic. Highly recommend. (Oh and I have a new favourite beer now - two brothers, taxi - yum!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    54
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Paul L”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Perfect location, ideal way to watch the sun go down, Sunday evening great food good service live soft music a long way from home however the staff make you feel like you are having dinner in your best friends dining room !!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of Melbourne's best restaurants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Cerberus is my current favourite restaurant in Melbourne, love it! Been here 6 times, summer and winter and the staff are good, the views magnificent and the food always delicious. The wine list is excellent value and always good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We have had many meals here and the standard of the food has always been excellent. This visit was with a group of friends one of them a vegan and the kitchen was excellent in catering for her needs. We did give them notice of the dietry needs in advance but she was so happy with the meals available to her. Great views, good service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice view but maitre d quite rude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Having taken a visitor here a few weeks ago, he asked to return for his birthday.

We arrived at 5.30 on a Thursday and the maitre d looked quite bemused when we said we'd booked, even though our names were on his list. He behaved as if we were inconveniencing him.

The restaurant was empty bar one couple. We asked for a window seat but were told they were booked up. No-one had arrived to fill any of the window seats by the time we had finished our meals- a little annoying.

The food is nice and the rest of the waiting staff pleasant, however we would probably not go back. It tainted a special occasion.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerberus Beach House also viewed

Black Rock, Bayside
 

Been to Cerberus Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerberus Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.