We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hidden treasure” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerberus Beach House

Cerberus Beach House
Boatshed 212, Half Moon Bay, Black Rock, Bayside, Victoria 3193, Australia
+61 3 9533 4028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Black Rock
Price range: $33 - $65
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: With impressive modern Australian dishes and a spectacular location on Half Moon Bay, near Black Rock, Cerberus Beach House turns the simple pleasure of fish and chips on the beach into something truly special. Good old-fashioned ‘real’ fish and chips are served in the downstairs kiosk while upstairs, patrons can enjoy a smarter, yet still relaxed, dining experience amidst cool blues and whites, warm timber tables and chairs, and breathtaking views of the bay. Built on the finest seasonal ingredients sourced locally wherever possible, Cerberus’ menu is a tantalising mix of modern Australian options and fresh seafood worthy of the magnificent setting.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My partner and I recently had his birthday dinner at Cerberus Restaurant. He requested 'fish and chips' to eat!
I hadn't been there for some time and thought that should be the place for great fish and chips. They were amazing! Apart from the cosy casual ambience of this little gem of an intimate eating place..
The plates arrived in much less time than we anticipated and the food was hot...batter on the fish light and crisp; perfect chips.
All set off with mushy peas and a coleslaw. Delicious.
We will go back again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for choosing us for your partner's celebration Barbara (and happy birthday to him!). We're so pleased we could help make it a memorable one and thanks for sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    54
    14
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A Feast in all respects!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Treasured by the locals and hailed as a find by visitors, this place captures the spirit of Bayside Melbourne! The setting is perfect - overlooking the Cerberus site at Black Rock, facing the water and the foreshore, capturing sunsets and breezes through the wide opening windows - and serving an interesting and intelligent seasonal menu. The food shows attention to sourcing the best ingredients, the cooking is just right, presentation is thoughtful, and staff form a winning team. Decor is a complement to the setting. Wine list is wonderful - with commendable reach and variety without being over the top.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi David - wow, what fabulous feedback, thank you so very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I would really like to keep this place a secret but it is so good that I feel everyone should be able to experience the wonderful food, excellent service and wondrous views! The staff are friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu and every meal we have ordered here has been cooked to perfection.
Definitely a place to visit regularly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Hi and thanks for sharing your 'secret' with TripAdvisor - we really appreciate it. Please do visit regularly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A pearl by the bay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Cerberus is a pearl by the Bay. A small restaurant, lovely located next to the beach, with undisturbed sea- and partly city view.
The food, sometimes with a little bit of an Asian touch, is very njammie and nice presented. They have a good and not overpriced wine list.
The service is always very friendly, personal and the casual ambiance gave us a good feeling from the first moment we went there. So we went back, and back.... and back... and we will go again.... and again and again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you so much for coming back...and back...and back...and leaving us this great feedback. We're looking forward to seeing you again...and again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch with 3 small kids! Incredible food, service and ambience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I brought our 3 children (aged 9, 7 and 5) for what we thought would be a quick bite to eat before exploring Ricketts Point for a family day out. However, once we were settled at Cerberus, we were immediately struck by the beautiful ambience of the place and even our children relaxed! The staff were prompt with their service and friendly and even though they were busy with a full restaurant, they were quick to give us water, menus and a welcoming smile. Then the best bit was giving all the kids an activity pack to keep them entertained! We couldn't believe how happy our children were with this activity pack and there wasn't an electronic contraption in sight! Quickly my husband and I took the opportunity and ordered a bottle of white wine and relaxed in the afternoon sun enjoying a grown-up catch-up with our children happily busy.
We were thrilled with the quality food offered in the kids' menu and with our eldest child being wheat intolerant, the polenta incrusted calamari was music to our ears.
Our 'quick' lunch turned into a wonderful long-lunch. Once it was obvious to us that we had finished our beautiful meal, the wine bottle was empty and the children's activity packs were complete, we realised it was time to leave but we did so reluctantly.
This was a wonderful restaurant and we have been recommending it to all our friends.
Well done to the staff at Cerberus, we didn't realise we could go out for lunch with our children and have a good time and good meal - thankyou, we will definitely be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for such amazing feedback Natasha - we are so pleased you and your family popped in and lingered over a long and relaxing lunch. We hope to welcome you all back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerberus Beach House also viewed

Black Rock, Bayside
 
Beaumaris, Bayside
 

Been to Cerberus Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerberus Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.