We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seaside Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cerberus Beach House

Cerberus Beach House
Boatshed 212, Half Moon Bay, Black Rock, Bayside, Victoria 3193, Australia
03 9533 4028
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 23 Restaurants in Black Rock
Price range: $35 - $71
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Fish & Chips
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: With impressive modern Australian dishes and a spectacular location on Half Moon Bay, near Black Rock, Cerberus Beach House turns the simple pleasure of fish and chips on the beach into something truly special. Good old-fashioned ‘real’ fish and chips are served in the downstairs kiosk while upstairs, patrons can enjoy a smarter, yet still relaxed, dining experience amidst cool blues and whites, warm timber tables and chairs, and breathtaking views of the bay. Built on the finest seasonal ingredients sourced locally wherever possible, Cerberus’ menu is a tantalising mix of modern Australian options and fresh seafood worthy of the magnificent setting.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seaside Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Had lunch here today and had truly the best scallops I have ever tasted. Having just returned from 5 days in Tasmania and eating some great seafood but honestly this dish left the Tassie scallops for dead. My dish was a small plate and when it arrived there were three really plump scallops sitting atop the most divine pumpkin puree enveloping a small serve of farro and scattered with bright pomegranate seeds. Each mouthful was an explosion of superb taste, the velvety puree, the creamy scallop, the nutty farro and the pop of the pomegranate. For dessert I had the most divine blackcurrant souffle with orange sorbet, amazing!!!!!! I will certainly return and tell all my friends that they must try this hidden gem. To add to the sublime food, the view is fantastic, right on the water.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your rave review! We're thrilled the scallops and the chef's special sorbet hit the mark. Please do spread the word, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    47
    13
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Room with a View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I went to Cerberus Beach House for her birthday on a calm but overcast winter's day. It was a very relaxing and rewarding experience. Beautiful seafood (plenty for those who prefer lamb or duck or something different), top drawer wines all at a reasonable price.
Yes, we will be back ... and back .. and back. I could never tire of the view, and I am sure we won't tire of the menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for choosing our restaurant to celebrate your wife's birthday, and for such a positive review. We're delighted to have helped make her day special, and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A view to kill for and food to live for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a location, one of the few true sea front restaurants in Melbourne with the food to match it. This is not Comme Chez Soi thou some of the courses would make it on to their menu. To give an excellent or very good rating is touch and go. This was my first visit so I gave a very good - I was not blown away, more pleased and smiling than grinning.

The table had really good fish and meat, all of us happy especially the fish and chip man. The souffle dessert was sooooo good. A well balanced winelist complemented the food offering. The quality of the food was distincly higher than their prices.

We had reserved and there were no problems with late changes, the service was attentative not pushy.

I will return here next time I am in Melbourne.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback - we appreciate it and look forward to earning your excellent rating on your next visit! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good views and friendly staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The restaurant is situated on the Beach Road, Black Rock in the grounds of the Yacht Club. Access is via either of two car parks - although one of them (the Melbourne end) is a bit of a walk with a ramp and steps. Weekend lunch-time parking was poor so we parked a couple of streets away thus saving the parking fee and/or a fine for parking in a trailer spot (several of which were empty). Following my booking, several days previously, I received two emails from the restaurant stating that I would be charged for not turning up - or turning up with less guests than arranged. Perhaps this can be justified as the restaurant is not on the main drag with access to passing traffic and (obviously) relies on word of mouth or local advertising.
The staff was friendly and the service efficient. I can understand why it's difficult to get a table - I don't think there were more than a dozen tables for 4 people. However, on this occasion there were few people dining. We had a table for two by the window with lovely views of sails and water. The food was reasonable - if a tad expensive: 2 pieces of bruschetta (with artichoke) - $14. and two soups. We drank tap water. The bill (with tip) came to about $50. I guess the money could have been spent better (perhaps on fish and chips downstairs at the kiosk). However, it's good to do a comparison test of what's available in the area. For a long time there has been some 'same old' restaurants - this at least has prospects.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Hi - thanks for sharing your parking tips, very helpful for other new guests. We hope to welcome you back soon to try something from the mains menu, perhaps even the fish & chips, upstairs or downstairs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice food, Pushy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went there for lunch with friends. The waiter, possibly owner, was very friendly with possible locals. However with us was very pushy to order within minutes of arriving, and then proceeded to open mineral water throughout the meal without asking if we wanted it, all for which we were charged for. Could have something to do with us not ordering wine.
The food was good but a little pricey. Will try other places before going back there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CerberusBeachHouse, Public Relations Manager at Cerberus Beach House, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thanks for the feedback - there definitely appears to have been some misunderstanding because we naturally welcome everyone equally as warmly (locals, regulars and first-timers) and guests are of course not expected to order wine. We are pleased you found the food to be excellent however, and hope it entices you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cerberus Beach House also viewed

Black Rock, Bayside
Brighton, Bayside
 
Beaumaris, Bayside
 

Been to Cerberus Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cerberus Beach House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.