We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Murtenhof & Krone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Murtenhof & Krone to your Saves list
Hotel Murtenhof & Krone
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rathausgasse 1-3, Murten 3280, Switzerland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Murten
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NYC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Pros: the staff. We had particularly great interaction with Mark at the front desk, and everyone there was very friendly, multilingual and helpful (and I must say in contrast to most of the people in Murten, wow). When we checked in they gave us a choice of two rooms. One had a lakeside view but was not as good because it had one big bed and one small bed (we were two friends traveling). The other had two separate beds but no view to speak of (just the outside street). The first room with the lakeside view was...interesting. We called the little bed sleeping in the hole. Clearly it wasn't that bad as you can see in the photos but yeah, it's not ideal to sleep in that tiny space and you also can't watch the TV from there which is on the wall. The bathroom was...retro, to put it kindly. The towels looked like they were dishtowels! The view was awesome, but you had to be right up in the window to see anything.

The second one, the room we took, was Ikea-like in furnishing and was basically a place to sleep at night. It was fine, but not especially comfortable. The beds were not comfortable and kinda cheap. The walls were also kinda thin. The bathroom had a really loud echo for some reason and they only gave us one cup at the sink! The TV, though was totally unacceptable. It was in theory a color TV but that meant that there would be flashes of color (often the whole screen being blue) alternating with black & white. Interesting. Yeah, yeah, on vacation you're not supposed to be in the hotel watching TV but at the end of a long day it's nice to kick up your feet and relax with a watchable TV.

The breakfast was kind of mediocre, certainly compared to other hotels in Switzerland. The rest of the hotel space was kinda weird and funky but not necessarily in a bad way. Overall, it was fine for a couple of nights but it's not somewhere I would be running to again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    17
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
49
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange CA
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We reserved a standard room, non smoking. When we were shown the room we could smell the smoke. I said we had to move and luckily they had a suite available with a lake view. Nice and roomy they gave it to us for a bargain price. We were at the end of our long trip and a splurge was ok. We enjoyed the rooms. Large front room, bathroom, and bedroom. A fan kept us cool enough at night.

We left the bathroom light on and left the window open at night for air circulation. Mistake. A zillion bugs were in our bathroom. We didn't make that mistake again.

The owners, especially Ariste, and their staff were especially helpful. One staff member helped us find an electronics store that had a GPS (we had just broken ours). Ice was available for the room. The hotel had a few free parking spots and we lucky to get one. The restaurant served very good food. We had the lake fish and it was great.

Breakfast had smoked salmon, meats, cheeses, other selections. Grocery store just down the street. Great location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

We found this hotel to be all we could wish for. We had a lovely spacious room with lake view and its own little terrace. The food was good and the service and friendliness of the staff was impeccable. Location perfect. Sorry to leave this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo Ca
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We were a bit disappointed with size of the room for the price. Yes, it is Switzerland but it was a shock as the room, bath (tiny), TV (12 in?) all so small. We had a lake view but sadly were not in the room except a short overnight. The restaurant was closed that day ( Monday). The hotel public rooms were very pleasant and old worldly which we like. We may have had a room in the section that was originally the Krone so older small rooms.
Location is very good, right in town, walking distance to the train and all the sights of the small town and ramparts walkways. Buffet breakfast was OK but not extensive. Try the hotel directly for the best price, we booked elsewhere, unfortunately.
Dinner at the nearby Hotel Schiff was very good, pleasant atmosphere and service, could order smaller portions if wanted.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scooterdog28
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2009

Stayed for two nights in July this year. Our room was quite small and in the eves of the hotel. Not much of a view but clean and comfortable. The hotel reception staff were very helpful.

Decided to eat in the hotel and were not disappointed. Reserved a table overlooking the lake. The food was wonderful, one of the nicest meals we had in Switzerland. It was quite expensive but worth it. The service was outstanding, not at all pretentious.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

Our room overlooked the street - not a problem as the place is pretty quiet once the daytrippers have gone. Everything was comfortable, but the decor! Lime green painted walls, lime green net curtains, and even the prints on the walls seemed to have faded into a ...er... lime green colour.

Breakfast was fine, and possible to sit overlooking the lake. The hotel restaurant fancied itself a bit too much for our tastes; the staff were a bit "proper", which doesn't make for a relaxing experience.

Staff at Reception were friendly and welcoming, and the public areas were clean and comfortable.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

We stayed here for six nights in June. The hotel is inside the town walls and looks out over the lake from the dining and breakfast rooms and some bedrooms. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and were given information about the hotel and the area. We booked a standard lake view room that was quite small and was a bit dated. However it was clean, comfortable and had a good view over the lake. The public areas of the hotel were more modern. We took the half board option and though this limited the choice of food, it was always very good. On the odd occasion when we didn't like the dish offered they happily made us an alternative. They have an extensive a la carte menu. One of the real strengths of the hotel is the atmosphere and excellent service.
Murten is an interesting old town and the surrounding area is worth a visit. You can get around very easily using public transport with good train and boat links to the main towns and cities. It is only about 5 minutes walk from the hotel to the trains, buses and boats.
Though it is not one of the areas normally visited by British holidaymakers we thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Murtenhof & Krone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Murtenhof & Krone

Address: Rathausgasse 1-3, Murten 3280, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Fribourg > Murten
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Murten
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Murtenhof & Krone 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Murtenhof & Krone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Murtenhof & Krone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.