We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas Vacation 2013” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Guesthouse Londas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Areopoli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Guesthouse Londas
Save
You added Guesthouse Londas to your Saves list
Near Archangels church | 17th of March square, Areopoli 23062, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Areopoli B&B and Inns
Athens, Greece
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Christmas Vacation 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Last Xmas we've spent a few days - by far not enough - in this beautiful guesthouse. The friendly, warm athmosphere, the amazing home made marmalades and jams together with the exquisite dark bread (baked on wood) from the nearbay village bakery, the charming and very interesting company of the two "boys" (the owners), the breathtaking sunsets from the terraces are a few of many pleasant memories and good reason to come back here as many times as possible into this homey "nest".
We can not understand that anybody could have had a negative experience here ...
Wolf & Maria Mougian

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Aθήνα
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Guest House Londas is an ideal accomodation to every traveleller who comes to explore Mani. The 18th c. fortress-like tower, typical of Mani has been preserved and renovated with a refined taste. Hans and Iakovos, the owners of Londas, transformed the old tower into a harmonic and elegant residence which contrasts mainstream accomodation in the area. Right into the heart of Areopoli, Londas became soon the ideal spot for our studying and relaxation but also of our strolls in nature. Hans and Iakovos were very happy to help us plan our excursions to less known sites e.g. to visit old churches of the 11th and of 13th century, or to abandoned settlements. In addition they offered to us their deep knowledge of herbs and of native flora.
We will never forget the sun bathed minimalistic bedrooms but also the open roof terraces leading our sight to the Messinian Gulf or to the mountains. Breakfast included the most pure local products, bread from the wooden oven, local cheese and homemade marmelade. We still keep in mind the homemade liqueurs under the star-filled sky. Often combined with long conversations about colours in painting or even colours in life, the top-level art of both the owners.

Haris H.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

This guesthouse is unique in many ways, as well as the whole city of areopoli. So if you like feeling as a guest, chatting with the hosts and discover a not so well known but historical+rural area .. bingo. Rooms are traditional like the whole hotel, so expect no hotel but a nice guest room. Facts: There is no tv (although internet), comfortable beds (two singles per room) and a great greek breakfast, it feels like a "old school holiday" should feel :-)

We just visited greece, because of reading about this authentic region+hotel and especially this really enthusiastically managed guesthouse in the newspaper http://www.zeit.de/2010/42/Londas-Griechenland.

We have not been disappointed, it was even one of this rare expectations where all wishes came true.

Thanks to Mani and thanks to Jakob&Hans!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire, England
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hans and Iakovos make visitors feel like personal guests in their beautiful home, from the welcoming glass of wine on the roof terrace, to the fascinating conversations over the wonderful breakfast. Come here for peace and relaxation, and as a base for exploring the fascinating, wild Mani peninsula. Iakovos' paintings capture the essence of the place, and I would love to have one on my own wall at home (not something I say lightly or often). Bookshelves are filled with local history and wildlife, maps and art books. The hosts are generous with their local knowledge and suggestions. This is the kind of place that makes me (and many others I guess) fantasise about owning such an idyllic home in the sun.
My only minor quibble is that the beds are too hard for me (normal in Greece), and the singles can't be pushed together as a double.

Room Tip: The top floor room is small but has more natural light (tower houses have very small windows by thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have stayed at Guesthouse Londas several times over the years and it is truly a very relaxing and splendid experience.

The attention to detail for the interior décor, the exceptional and respectful maintenance for the historian 18th-century tower-house, the fresh and delicious breakfast, the relaxing time sitting on the roof terrace with the amazing view to the shimmering olive groves, and of course Iakovos and Hans friendly company with the amazing knowledge over region of Mani, are some of the highs that will drive you again and again to Londas.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The Londas guest house has been an excellent find. The property itself is a stone built tower house inside Areopolis town maybe 200 years old or more. There are tell tales of the painstaking renovation the two gentlemen owners have carried out. Attention to detail wherever you look.No frills and thrills. Natural materials everywhere.
The room we stayed in was on the top floor and had a patio overlooking the surrounding area and beyond. The views are breathtaking. The place is so tranquile you feel that you are back in time..

The room was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast was excellent. Fresh local produce in abundance was on the table and the service impecable. There was no pressure on time.
Although the guest house is a business it did not feel like that.
The whole of Mani is steeped in history and the owners are always willing to point in the right direction if you wish to explore the past or the present of the area.
We will sure be back!

Room Tip: Top floor room has beautiful patio area with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans K, Inhaber at Guesthouse Londas, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
We thank you for the excellent review!
Iakovos & Hans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Londas is like a second home for me - a serene sanctuary of minimalism, good taste and calm. Having stayed here on numerous occasions over the last 15 years, I always look forward to languishing over the delicious breakfast in the barrel-vaulted dining room (a home rather than a place just for guests), and to having a sundowner on the terrace with its spectacular views to the sea, mountains, and towers of the old village. It is the perfect base for hiking in the Mani peninsula and swimming in hidden coves, and in the village there is plenty of choice for eating and drinking. The hosts, Iakovos and Hans, are discreet but welcoming and a mine of information for how to fill your days. With only 4 rooms, it is always a peaceful place to stay even in high summer.

Room Tip: I like room 3 the best - entered through a tiny door it feels like a place you might want to hide as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Guesthouse Londas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guesthouse Londas

Address: Near Archangels church | 17th of March square, Areopoli 23062, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Laconia Region > Areopoli
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Areopoli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening it's doors in 1988, Guest­house Londas has ac­quired a grow­ing num­ber of ad­mir­ers and friends who re­turn to the wel­come and com­fort of this unique Man­iot Tower House. The friend­ly and dis­creet atmos­phere of the beau­ti­fully re­stored tower is a re­fresh­ing al­ter­na­tive to the for­mal­ity and uni­for­mity of main­stream ac­com­mo­da­tion. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Londas Greece/Areopoli

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guesthouse Londas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.