We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting way to see limestone caves.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diros Cave

Diros Cave
Areopoli, Greece
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Areopoli
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 5000 meters of subterranean caves boat trip lasting 30 mins and 10 minute walk. One of the most beautiful lake caves in the world.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Interesting way to see limestone caves.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Being fond of limestone caves we decided to check out Diros Caves during our stay in Kardamyli.

I'm used to walking through caves so it was a lovely surprise to see the stalagmites, stalactites and other structures from a boat. It was a rather relaxing experience.

The views of the Aegean outside of the caves was beautiful too.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    46
    14
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, England
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Prepare to be stunned!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This network of caves is extensive and spectacular, simply the best we have seen in Europe.

The entrance fee includes an informative and very well-illustrated guidebook, in English, that compensates to some extent for the Greek-only commentary by boatmen.

There are no fancy colour effects or piped classical music, just well-placed white lighting. This lets you really appreciate the very varied natural colours of the stalactites and stalagmites – from pale green to deep reddish brown, though most are white-ish. For much of the boat trip everything is very close up and personal. Tall folks need to watch out for their heads.

Don’t miss this well-presented natural wonder.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Impressive short trip under the surface of earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Very interesting visit. The staff very helpful. I find that the entrance fee is a bit overpriced. I have visited the caves as a child a long time ago and I can tell you that nothing has changed ever since. Except maybe the photographer who sells photos from visitors at the exit. I find that the facilities need to be renovated.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Easy to reach, spectacular view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

You can reach the cave of diros' by the car, the parking place is just a few meters away. The cave has a mixed type of course. Half of it on feet and the rest of it is by boat, guided tours only, with small groups and of course a guide to give plenty of informations. Photography is allowed but only with no flash.the cave walls are magnificent but so fragile especially to light. Ask if the restoration progress is complete and if the cave is open for tourists before you go there.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
290 helpful votes 290 helpful votes
“All Greek to me!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

These somewhat inaccessible caves are reported to be among the best in the world. But they are not easy to reach. The drive from Kalamata takes 3 hours, from Stoupa it’s about 1½ hours. The roads down the Mani peninsula are very mountainous unless you approach the site from Sparta via Gythion. The ticket to visit the caves cost 10 euros (adults) or 7 euros (concessions). In early October there is about one boat every half hour. You walk down some rather dark, wet steps and are given a life jacket. Then you board a small punt, seating 6-10 passengers, and off you go. Although our party consisted entirely of English speakers, the gondolier spoke only Greek, and that not particularly clearly. So when he said ‘Mind your head’ no-one took any notice. His commentary was a waste of breath. The caves are certainly worth seeing, although our fragile craft wobbled quite a bit and we had a few near misses as we negotiated our way through some quite narrow passages. Several people started to ask ‘When is he going to do the commentary in English?’, a futile question typical of those who do not understand the Greek attitude to tourism. The boat trip is followed by a walk (total duration about 45 minutes). Flash photography is allowed. Altogether this was a worthwhile experience which would certainly have been improved by providing a (recorded) commentary in various languages.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diros Cave also viewed

Kyparissia, Messenia Region
Elafonisos, Laconia Region
 
Methoni, Messenia Region
Gialova, Messenia Region
 

Been to Diros Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diros Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.