We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the stay was fantastic and the place ticks all my boxes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gerofotis Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gerofotis Guest House to your Saves list
Gerofotis Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Laka Sympoliteias | Achaia - Egion, Aigio 25100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Aigio B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the stay was fantastic and the place ticks all my boxes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Had a truly nice stay and definitely would recommend the place for anyone who is looking to experiencing some real welcoming Greek hospitality. Customer service went far beyond our expectations and if we had to pass by the area again we definitely would stay over again.

The house is clean and nicely decorated throughout with a lot of original old features, furnitures and decorations that make up a very special atmosphere. The breakfast was nice, we were offered local organic food, really loved it. As for the location, the house is based in a lovely mountainous village surrounded by gorgeous views. A great selection of beaches is just a short drive down the hill, whereas Aigio town offers you a good shopping and a number of restaurants, cafes and bars.

The most I liked in there was the waking up in the morning - except for the birds and grasshoppers there is no other noises around giving you an absolute tranquillity, moreover, the views out of the windows are simply breathtaking.

Also, the house has got a lovely furnished outdoor area - a perfect spot for a glass of local drink or a romantic dinner as we had arranged one in our balcony. The second night we were advised to visit a local taverna which is about 10 minutes walk in the very next village, the dinner was absolutely delicious - definitely worth visiting if you after to try some real Greek food.

All in all, the stay was fantastic and the place ticks all my boxes

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corfu, Greece
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We were there in March to have a short break We live on Corfu and are looking for a base to explore more of Greece. We can say that we very much enjoyed our stay as we we made very welcome. Having an open fire in out room was very swelcome as the weather was rainy and not very warm.

Room Tip: Gound floor as we had our dog with us the room also had an open fire
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

perfect view!!
excellent service - very nice breakfast - lots of good choices in the area for swimming , dinner and night life - traditional building - very nice rooms - privacy - value for money

Room Tip: nice clean rooms with great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

A windy road takes you up from Aigion through ever more beautiful countryside. After about 15 to 20 minutes you enter the small village of Lakka. A place property developers and unsitely buildings have fortunately overlooked. The elegant Gero Fotis is at the end of a lane full of charming houses. The patio takes in an amazing view. The apartment is old style and very homey.
It is a wonderful place to relax, and sufficiently close to the main coast roads to make it practical. There are some wonderful Tavernas nearby. The one above the village of Lakka is so home style it is like being invited to dinner by the locals.
Vassiliki and her son Dimos are extremely helpful and the breakfast features organic local produce (the jam is the best we have ever had!). Highly recomended for those wanting to escape the charmless, modern hospices you find all too often.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

By chance my family and I spent a night at Gerofotis. We arrived late in the afternoon and had to move on again next morning. In spite of the short stay we enjoyed it immensely. I had the feeling of being in a private home and would have loved to explore the village and nearby hills. The view from the terrace and the small balcony was beyond words - so beatiful! In the next village, just up the hill, there is a small tavern where we had a good meal in a great ambience.
I would love to come back another time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gerofotis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerofotis Guest House

Address: Laka Sympoliteias | Achaia - Egion, Aigio 25100, Greece
Location: Greece > West Greece > Achaea Region > Aigio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Aigio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gerofotis Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our mansion is a first class traditional hotel In GeroFotis mansion you can retreat in a peaceful environment while being a stone\'s throw away from busy Aigio and the popular nearby beaches. You will find yourself amidst green vineyards and olive trees, enjoy a breathtaking panorama of the Corinthean Gulf and experience the luxury of a glorious past. The mansion combines mountain and sea as it is located in a traditional village at an altitude of 600m, while the beautiful beaches of Aegio koli and Sellianitika are only 9 and 10 Km away respectively. The mansion itself, preservable by the Ministry of Culture, is a stone NeoClassical building, built in 1892 and renovated to be transformed into a first class traditional hotel in 2003. There is a central reception area with a fireplace and 5 spacious rooms of 2-4 beds, each one with its own unique characteristics, furnished with carefully selected old pieces that give guest a feel of a distant past. All rooms are fully equipped with all mod cons (TV, hi-fi, central heating) and have ensuite facilities.Home breakfast and dinner made with pure ingredients from Aigio region (bread in wood-burning oven, pies, exceptional olive oil, wine, honey).The village has a tavern and cafe and offers opportunities for walks and mountaineering. LocationSituated in a peaceful small Village Lakka Sympolitias in the Northern Peloponnese, Achaia, 9km from the city of Aigio in the area Lakka Sympolitias, our Pension offers a good combination of mountain activities with an easy access (9km 15min) to the nearby coast line of egion (Akoli, Selianitika).40km, 35min from Patras port186km, 120 min from Athens50km, 80min from Kalavrita Ski-CenterNearest beaches:Akoli 10km, Selianitika-Loggos 12km, Egion 11 km(blue flag), Diakofto 20km, Pounta 23km(blue flag), Coral 27km. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Gerofotis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerofotis Guest House Greece/Aigio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerofotis Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.