We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation of my life!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Poppi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany
Save
You added Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany to your Saves list
Larniano 21, 52010 Poppi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Poppi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best vacation of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been all over the world and have had great adventure. Tuscookany cooking school at Casa Ombuto with Paola was the all time winner. The ultimate experience of terrior. Asthetically overwhelming. I cried when we left.

Room Tip: There are only 6 or so rooms. All very lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
45
38
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

There is nothing to fault about this experience. If you want to learn the experience of cooking for your family/friends and stay in a magnificent villa and be looked after totally, then this is the best you can attain.
In 10 weeks of travel throughout UK and Europe, the one thing I really wanted to experience was a well organised, true experience of cooking Mediterranean.
I had limited time with all my travels and I chose Tuscookany. It was the only trip I booked prior to leaving Australia. It met every expectation and more.
The accommodation was magnificent and better than any photo can show but nothing compared to our chef, Laura Giusti.
Her smile was permanent, her laughter, her stories, her broken English made for an amazing holiday...Laura made our experience. Her knowledge and expertise in what she taught us was amazing. Tuscookany has an incredible talent in Laura and one you should all have the opportunity to enjoy.
Our wonderful site manager Laura Enrici was terrific. She looked after us so well.
We experienced so many things and visited Arezzo and Poppi as well. The trips they organised were wonderful.
The pool was incredible, the hot tub amazing. The food, the staff, the entire experience was sublime. If I have to visit anywhere else I have already been to, this is one place I want to return. They do this very well. Congratulations. I will return one day and only wish I could take all of my girls as well.

Room Tip: As most places staying as a couple is better but the quality of a single room was still well up ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel4fun2go, General Manager at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Tina,
What a lovely review - you really make us a proud and I am sure that Laura is smiling from ear to ear! The Mediterranean Italian cooking holidays are more intensive as we have the morning classes and I am so pleased that you enjoyed it so much. Laura will be giving an Italian cookery course in our new villa Bellorcia from this year onwards - how about joining us. Thank you so much for taking your precious time to write this review and happy cooking. The Tuscookany team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

For someone who had no confidence in cooking this experience was fabulous. Paola is the most patient as well as the most inspiring of instructors. The ambiance of the villa is delightful, the food superb, the staff cannot do enough for you. I am recommending this course to whoever will listen to me. One of the best holidays that I have had. I have actually been able to reproduce what I learnt now that I home.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel4fun2go, Owner at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Cathy,
Thank you so much for your great review for our Tuscany cooking classes at Tuscookany. I am particularly happy to read you have had a chance to try the dishes at home and they work! Happy cooking! Warm regards from all at the Tuscookany team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

One of the best vacations I've been on! This was a combination birthday/anniversary gift from my husband and I couldn't have been more surprised and delighted! Casa Ombuto was absolutely gorgeous, beautiful setting, staff that couldn't do enough for you, and our chef Paola was sensational. She not only taught us to cook some beautiful and delicious dishes but showed us the true culture of the region.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel4fun2go, Owner at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Lilly,
We are flattered that we ranked number one on your bucket list - thank you so much for the compliments. We hope to welcome you back to one of our Cooking schools in Italy in the future! Regards front the Tuscookany Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My wife always wanted to someday to do a Tuscany cooking school. Deciding this was the year, we searched online and found Tuscookany.com. We are way beyond happy with the decision we made to spend the week at Casa Ombuto with Chef Laura Giust. It was so much more that a great learning vacation. It was a Wow! We had so much fun meeting and preparing meals with new found friends, learning ways to prepare new and out-of-this-world tasty dishes, enjoyed the watchful and delightful skills of Chef Laura, actually being a part of the beauty of Italy and its people, and, I learned ways to actually be helpful in the kitchen when we arrived home. The Tuscookany cook book used for the week is so well organized, helpful, so user friendly, and a great keepsake. It is now a fixture in our home kitchen. Our dinner guests beg for the recipes of the served fennel, orange and olive salad with pork tenderloin with pancetta, grapes and walnuts followed by zabaione with strawberries. Thank you Chef Laura Giust!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel4fun2go, Manager at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Jim, Wow what a great review about our Mediterranean cooking in Italy. It looks like you have been practising at home a lot too! Thank you for taking the trouble to write this review, Laura and all of us from Tuscookany are proud! Happy cooking!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

With careful planning and a bit of research (also reading suggestions on Trip Advisor), we decided to take the train from Rome to Arezzo (2 hrs), rent a car at Avis (right across the street from the Arezzo train station) and drove 45 minutes to the Casa, just outside Poppi. It all worked our very well and we arrived at check-in time as planned. Yes, driving on Italian roads is QUITE the experience, but by the end of our vacation, we had become quite used to the craziness and there was a lot less shrieking. GPS was a good idea, but often sent us on the "scenic" route (i.e. single lane, curvy roads with no shoulder, cliffs on one side, mountain on the other). Great way to see the countryside however!

Everything at Casa Ombuto is beautiful, well maintained and nearly perfect - the rooms, kitchen, dining areas and poolside.

What else can I say that hasn't already been said by all the previous reviewers? This was a fantastic experience - probably the most enjoyable vacation I have ever had. Everything was wonderful - food, friends, wine, grappa, service and especially Laura & Lauretta and the girls! Grazie! Looking forward to my next Tuscookany experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travel4fun2go, Manager at Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Mel, Thank you so much for this great review. We do recommend car hire as you have plenty of free time to explore the area when you are not having your italian cooking classes and indeed a GPS is a great tip! Happy cooking and warm regards from the Tuscookany team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

It's been 3 years since we did the cooking class, and it sounds like things are just as wonderful now as then. There are not enough superlatives to describe Paola! The accommodations are also wonderful, just as they have been described by others. The excursions stil are good dinner table stories. All I would skip would be the grappa! P.S. I could only submit this if I lied about when we went...ahlora!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany

Address: Larniano 21, 52010 Poppi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Poppi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Poppi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tuscookany at Casa Ombuto is a luxurious villa set in the hills of Tuscany offering exclusive hands-on Italian and Mediterranean cooking vacations. We offer all-inclusive luxurious one-week Italian cooking classes given in English. Have fun and learn to cook at our Tuscookany Casa Ombuto cooking school in Tuscany. Guests stay in Casa Ombuto and have the cooking classes at Casa Ombuto in a professional kitchen designed for this purpose. It is an all-inclusive cooking vacation including a culinary excursion with visits to a cheese farm, wine tasting and olive oil farm, four cooking lessons and superb meals accompanied by the finest Italian wines. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Ombuto - Cooking Vacations Hotel Poppi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Ombuto - Cooking Schools in Tuscany, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.