We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice romantic place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo I Tre Baroni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo I Tre Baroni to your Saves list
Borgo I Tre Baroni
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via di Camaldoli, 52, 52014 Poppi, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Poppi
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A nice romantic place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Quite with beautiful settings.

Not too sure if the head waiter is one of the owners or a close family friend but we found his manner rude and abrupt.

The rest of the people are very helpful and friendly. If I were the wonder, I would replace him. We ate out rather than be served by him.

Otherwise, we enjoyed ourselves at Tre Baroni.

Wonderful scenery and very relaxing place.

Nice antique furniture in spacious rooms.

They recommended a wine tour to Frescobaldi Nipozzano which was just fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andreabaroni, Proprietario at Borgo I Tre Baroni, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
The head waiter Mr Luigi is not one of the owners and he is not a close family friend. He no longer work with us since 01 October 2012. The first condition to work at I Tre Baroni is the kindness and the gratitude to work with our guest. If a staff member does not have this requirement, is not possible tfor him to work at I Tre Baroni. So it's the reason 'cause the head waiter no longer work at I Tre Baroni.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    66
    23
    9
    2
See reviews for
44
123
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The hotel is fantastic ! The area is quiet en very beautiful. The people are very kind and willing to help or to give advise for visits, walks ... The food in the hotel was absolutely good. We stayed at the hotel for about 10 days and every day we had something els to eat (typical Toscane). The rooms were comfortable and clean. I recommend this hotel if you want a quiet holiday, good food, good wine en a very good service.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were booked into this hotel for 6 nights half board but left after two even although we were charged for all bar one night's accommodation. The hotel is NOT in Poppi but 6 miles further up a mountain road.
As a wedding venue I suppose it is good, guests were asked to drive a further 4km up the mountain road to another otel for our meal on the Saturday evening & the music played till 1.30am. On the Sunday we were told there would be a wedding lunch. When we returned at 5.30pm there was no parking, we were directed to park in the village 1km away & told we would receive a meal. We felt the service was not up to standard & that as the kitchen was still serving lunch at 6pm they were unlikely to serve dinner at 7.30pm.
The management basically told us to take it or leave it!
Half board is actually not a good description as apart from breakfast it only included tow evening courses, no water, no bread, no coffee.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

My husband and I held our wedding in I Tre Baroni in June 2012 and it was just amazing! We travelled from Northern Ireland and brought 60 guests with us, most of whom stayed at the resort. From the very outset, the service and attention from Andrea and Marta was second to none. They organised everything we asked for, provided us with lots of wedding ideas and made our day just perfect. Our guests loved the venue and over two months later everyone is still talking about what an amazing place I Tre Baroni is. We cannot thank Andrea and Marta enough as they made our dream wedding a reality. If you're thinking of having a Tuscan wedding you must check this place out!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antrim, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

As parents of the bride we just had to tell everyone what a simply wonderful experience we had in I Tre Baroni. Our daughter found the venue as a result of other glowing reviews so we travelled from Ireland to Tuscany to check it out. We were immediately impressed, not just by the hotel and sheer beauty of the surrounding area, but by the managers and owners of the hotel.
Marta & Andrea were very professional in their approach and their expertise became clear immediately. We booked right away (very reasonable deal) and the wedding took place in June 2012.
We had over 60 guests and the hotel was totally ours for 2 days. Their preparation, support and incredible attention to detail made the wedding a totally fantastic occasion.
We have so many great memories of I Tre Baroni we could write for hours, but if you are considering I Tre baroni as a wedding venue, call them and talk it over. Weddings are their speciality, they will organise the ceremony, the music, the cake, the photographer, etc. They take much of the hassle out of wedding preparations.
Our wedding guests also had a great time and were hugely impressed.
You could not ask for a more friendly and helpful staff, we have to thank everyone at I Tree Baroni for making our daughter's wedding day a dream come true.
PS.
Check out Poppi Castle as a great setting for the wedding ceremony

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

The hotel and it's pool are a wonderful escape from the crowded Tuscan towns. The 5 euro breakfast was extensive and the staff helpful and friendly.
Dinner was probably the most expensive and worst dinner we've had in over three weeks touring italy. 90 euro for one beer, the cheapest bottle of wine, no entree, a main course and desrt each. The head waiter was as threatening as Robert de Niro on a bad day and a 'welcome' glass of procsecco might well have added another cost to the bill had we not virtually put our hands over the glass to stop him pouring it!! There is a wonderful cheap Michelin rated village eatery called Il Cedro less than ten minutes walk away! Walk there... It's great and very good value... A nice place to stay but don't have dinner!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst touring Tuscany and Marche.

Rooms were clean and tidy, only downside was the lack of air con.

The hotels biggest asset is the blonde receptionist who spoke perfect English, never stopped smiling and could not do enough to help you. Conversely their weakest link is the head waiter who was polite but never smiled and always appeared surly.

Their appeared to be little or no tidying of the pool area.

We ate in the hotel one night, food was O K, but was not going to set the heather alight.

Breakfast was good but was unfortunately served by the surly waiter.

All in all a reasonable hotel for the price.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo I Tre Baroni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo I Tre Baroni

Address: Via di Camaldoli, 52, 52014 Poppi, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Arezzo > Poppi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Poppi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo I Tre Baroni 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo I Tre Baroni, situated within Casentino forest National Park, is just 4 km far from the millenary Hermitage and Monastery of Camaldoli. It is the result of an excellent renovation of an ancient Tuscan farmhouse and offers 24 rooms. Borgo I Tre Baroni arises out of the love of our work and history, giving new life to the ancient Camaldolese country of Moggiona. The rooms Rooms also provided with independent external entrance, are equipped with all comforts, such as Internet wireless access. They are furnished with Tuscan style and attention to details, offering a view of valley and Poppi Castle or of Camaldoli forest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Agoda, Budget Places, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Borgo I Tre Baroni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel i Tre Baroni
i Tre Baroni Poppi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo I Tre Baroni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.