We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest in scale, but rich in authenticity” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello dei Conti Guidi

Castello dei Conti Guidi
Piazza della Repubblica 1, 52014 Poppi, Italy
+39 0575 520516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 attractions in Poppi
Type: Castles
Attraction Details
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Modest in scale, but rich in authenticity”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A walk through - and up and down - this castle gives you a real feel for medieval Italian life, Much more on a human scale than the major castles with their inaccessible grandeur. It's possible to imagine life as it was lived here.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    51
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Classic Tuscany medieval hilltop town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you want to find a Classic Tuscany medieval hilltop town to add to your tour I can recomend this gem . Easy to find, easy to park great views, history and unlike Florence/Senna/Pisa etc.it's not jam packed with coach loads of tourists.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortona, Tuscany, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Count Guidi Castle of Poppi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This 12th century castle is located in the center of the small town of Poppi, near Arezzo.in excellent condition, you can visit the entire castle and climb to the top to see the panoramic view. visit also the Conti chapel with the fresco's while in Poppi and if you have young children, visit the zoo too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A little highlight of our holiday in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We'd done three days in Florence, a day split between Siena and San Gimignano, and an afternoon in the Chianti hills where we were staying. All very splendid and you have to do them. But then we dived into into the wilder, high green hills and hairpin bends of the Casentino region, via Regello, Vallombrosa and a detour to the top of Monte Secchieta. Of this a cycling website wrote " Monte Secchieta, with its highest point at 1421 m and a climb of 34.89 km is a race bike friendly route." Only if your name is Bradley Wiggins, I fear. We drove. But I digress. Carry on to Poppi - the place is not as twee as the name suggests, so don't think you are in a tourist trap. High up, views, arcaded main street, terrace - and the castle.
Okay, they say the trip up to the top of the castle's tower is not for those with vertigo, so i sent husband up there to admire the panoramic views of the Casentino and beyond. You can roam all over this perfect little castle with its decorated rooms, and excellent animated diorama of the battle of Campaldino. There is a small guide in English to help you. A lot of work has been done to renovate the castle and there has also been a big project by schoolchildren and others to connect with their own past, one that modern globalisation has rendered alien. We didn't have time to see everything, and my Italian isn't very strong when it comes to listening an speaking so I would not have appreciated some of the audio material.
Outside the castle is an open area with a cafe/bar where we stopped for a coffee and a pastry. Here the local teenagers had gathered in numbers, but no bellies hanging out, no muffin tops bulging, no arms covered in tattooes, no drunkenness or sullen pouting. They sat laughing and drinking coffee or beer and taking photos of themselved, and they just looked happy, friendly and relaxed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Gem of a castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely castle really well maintained with some interesting new material developed by local schools. Quite a lot to see. The library was extraordinary, amazing collection of books on view.Great view over the countryside

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello dei Conti Guidi also viewed

Chiusi della Verna, Province of Arezzo
Camaldoli, Province of Arezzo
 
Arezzo, Province of Arezzo
Anghiari, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Castello dei Conti Guidi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello dei Conti Guidi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.