We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Tuscany medieval hilltop town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello dei Conti Guidi

Castello dei Conti Guidi
Piazza della Repubblica 1, 52014 Poppi, Italy
+39 0575 520516
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Poppi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Classic Tuscany medieval hilltop town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you want to find a Classic Tuscany medieval hilltop town to add to your tour I can recomend this gem . Easy to find, easy to park great views, history and unlike Florence/Senna/Pisa etc.it's not jam packed with coach loads of tourists.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    95
    8
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cortona, Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Count Guidi Castle of Poppi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This 12th century castle is located in the center of the small town of Poppi, near Arezzo.in excellent condition, you can visit the entire castle and climb to the top to see the panoramic view. visit also the Conti chapel with the fresco's while in Poppi and if you have young children, visit the zoo too.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire England
Level Contributor
89 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“A little highlight of our holiday in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We'd done three days in Florence, a day split between Siena and San Gimignano, and an afternoon in the Chianti hills where we were staying. All very splendid and you have to do them. But then we dived into into the wilder, high green hills and hairpin bends of the Casentino region, via Regello, Vallombrosa and a detour to the top of Monte Secchieta. Of this a cycling website wrote " Monte Secchieta, with its highest point at 1421 m and a climb of 34.89 km is a race bike friendly route." Only if your name is Bradley Wiggins, I fear. We drove. But I digress. Carry on to Poppi - the place is not as twee as the name suggests, so don't think you are in a tourist trap. High up, views, arcaded main street, terrace - and the castle.
Okay, they say the trip up to the top of the castle's tower is not for those with vertigo, so i sent husband up there to admire the panoramic views of the Casentino and beyond. You can roam all over this perfect little castle with its decorated rooms, and excellent animated diorama of the battle of Campaldino. There is a small guide in English to help you. A lot of work has been done to renovate the castle and there has also been a big project by schoolchildren and others to connect with their own past, one that modern globalisation has rendered alien. We didn't have time to see everything, and my Italian isn't very strong when it comes to listening an speaking so I would not have appreciated some of the audio material.
Outside the castle is an open area with a cafe/bar where we stopped for a coffee and a pastry. Here the local teenagers had gathered in numbers, but no bellies hanging out, no muffin tops bulging, no arms covered in tattooes, no drunkenness or sullen pouting. They sat laughing and drinking coffee or beer and taking photos of themselved, and they just looked happy, friendly and relaxed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Gem of a castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely castle really well maintained with some interesting new material developed by local schools. Quite a lot to see. The library was extraordinary, amazing collection of books on view.Great view over the countryside

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimona, Israel
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A typical castle in a beautiful town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

A genuine Italian castle, with interesting rooms. It's too bad it only opens at 10:00, as quite a few people were hanging around outside, obviously wanting to get in quite a bit earlier and get on with the arduous task of sightseeing. Some of the rooms contain some interesting exhibits prepared by local high school students, and the tower is not a difficult climb.
It's too bad that it's not possible to visit the kitchen or servants' quarters, both of which I assume existed, to get a feel for day-to-day life in the castle. The castle and its town are worth a visit, as they are both wonderful examples of medieval Italy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castello dei Conti Guidi also viewed

Camaldoli, Province of Arezzo
Poppi, Province of Arezzo
 
Chiusi della Verna, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Castello dei Conti Guidi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello dei Conti Guidi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.