We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must dining experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cantine

Le Cantine
Via Case Nuove, 52020 Pergine Valdarno, Italy
+390575896547
Improve this listing
Price range: $20 - $59
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A must dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Wow, wow, wow - thank you for numerous wonderful meals and for the friendliness and service whilst dining at Le Cantine. Not to mention the local wine and grapper. Thank you Flaviano, Eliza, and Mateo for numerous memorable dining experiences - I hope to return someday and I recommend to anyone not to miss this scrumptious authentic Tuscan cuisine! Jan

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    35
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Food, wine, service, ambience - everything was absolutely fabulous. Elisa, Flaviano, Mateo are very welcoming, warm and friendly. We would return in a heart beat & would recommend it highly to everyone.
Sally & Rob

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic friendly restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Visited Le Cantine twice during our vacation and had a wonderful experience both times. The waiter spoke perfect English and was extremely welcoming, polite and helpful. The good was just as we'd hoped authentic Italian food should be, delicious, simple and authentic. The view from the terrace, watching the sun turn the Tuscan hills a multitude of colours, made the experience even more perfect! My little dog was even made welcome and we all went away singing the praises of this little gem of a restaurant.... Don't miss it if you are in the area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBigiarini, Proprietario at Le Cantine, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Drewus68,
Thankyou very much for your kind review. We take our job very seriously and we are really happy to know that our efforts are so well repaid by the satisfaction of our costumers.
We hope to see your family again!
Greetings
Le Cantine's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best dining experience from our two weeks in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

From staying in the area to having lunch as you travel between Florence and Rome, this family run restaurant should be on your list.
Seven of us (old friends from high school, 30 years ago) stayed in a villa five minutes from Pergine Valdarno. The walk to the restaurant was an easy ten minutes through the town. The area represents best of Italy outside of the big cities. We planned on just buying local produce and cooking ourselves, but one day when buying some wine one of the folks from Le Cantine saw our bottles and told us to follow him. We looked at each other, shrugged and followed.
For the next two hours we sat outside on a great patio enjoying a variety of anti pastas and wine from the restaurants own vineyard. Everything was great, food, service, wine, price and location.
We were hooked and decided to come back a couple of days later for dinner.
It was extra nice that the chef and staff had a good grip on English and were accommodating to our one vegetarian. I have been in the restaurant industry for over thirty years and honestly there wasn't a single item I or the rest of the table didn't enjoy. Great food doesn't need to be lavish when the chef is using quality fresh ingredients.
I'm telling you, even something as basic as the crushed fresh tomatoes Elisa(the chef) put on the Bruschetta was really good. The food came out hot or cold accordingly with good presentation. For wines, we enjoyed a number of the house reds, whites, a couple of the rosato (blush) wines in addition to two bottles of their desserts wines and finally their own grappa
(which I will always think is a good substitute for jet fuel)
And that was just the food, we had smiles and joking from the staff, we were never rushed but I know sometimes if your from the states and your in Europe you also might feel like the waiter has forgotten about you.(Not Here!) from a distance I could see we were being checked on and we never lacked for water or food and everything came out in a paced and timely fashion.
From what I understand the restaurant has been around since the 70's and even though it seems to have often gotten good reviews I noticed some concerns that it had closed.
Recently, the original family stepped back into ownership and they are running it again and I would see a lot of pride from the dad to the daughter (the chef) and everyone else.
We had a great time, so if your staying in the area or looking for a place while traveling it's right off of A1.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElisaBigiarini, Proprietario at Le Cantine, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Dear Bread,
We want to apologize with you for the delay on writing you back but as you know the restaurant business is a very busy one!
We want to thank you for your kind words. It was a real pleasure to have you and the others here and we are very happy to know that you enjoyed to stay with us as much as we enjoyed to stay with you!
We hope to see you again, sooner or later.
Greetings
Le Cantine's staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great authentic Italian food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was a fun restaurant where we were the only non-locals eating. The food was lovely and the service very welcoming.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cantine also viewed

Pergine Valdarno, Province of Arezzo
Ambra, Province of Arezzo
 
Pergine Valdarno, Province of Arezzo
Pergine Valdarno, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Le Cantine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cantine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.