We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante La Maggiolata

Ristorante La Maggiolata
Via Matteotti Giacomo, 60, 52046 Lucignano, Italy
+39 0575819008
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 15 Restaurants in Lucignano
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

We enjoyed two types of carpaccio, both excellent, and two varieties of pizza, again both very good. Great wine, great service and we will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    8
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent meal in a lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We ate here twice whilst staying with my Mother in Law Victoria in Lucignano.

We found the food excellent on both occasions-simple Tuscan dishes well cooked from fresh local ingredients and nicely presented.

The wines were well matched to the food and Fabrizio the owner treated us like long lost friends

I would be delighted to eat here again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst restaurant experience EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

We arrive and get seated at the terrasse. To start we order a few vegetable plates and the tomato salad was : a not-ripe tomato simply cut. the 2nd one was called grilled vegetable: it was paper sliced vegetables (zucchini, carrot, eggplant) and there were so few that you could put them all on one fork and it would not even be a medium bite! My husband made a comment thinking we felt that we were in a third world starving country.
It started raining so we asked to move inside and the lady patron was very rude pushing us aside to remove all the cutlery and glasses from the new table making sure we would not touch anything. The poor nice man that was the water (he was trying) brought us our dirty cutlery and napkins and glasses. During our long time waiting for our pizzas we saw the lady-chef through the kitchen window looking at us very angry. At that time we just wanted to leave and asked the waiter if there was a problem. He said that the lady was very tired. After our pizzas were in the oven, she passed us with her umbrella leaving without a trace of a smile. Finally after 15 more minutes, our pizzas arrived and they were disgusting, you could taste the angriness in the not even dough (not cooked in the thick parts). The cheese was put in chucks and not the cheese written in the menu, the mushrooms were from a can. Our kids thought that their plain pizza was good even though too salty, surprisingly enough (they did not eat the thick parts). My husband and I felt like she made us pay for using an inside table by serving the worse pizzas you can't even imagine. When leaving, we saw on the door that the restaurant has many recommendations and so we thought it was important to rectify. No service industry should make you feel this bad! Total for this outrageous experience : a very bad feeling and a bill of 47 €
It is not a money question though but the waste of our time and traveling experience.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Spoiling the the true beauty and passion of Italian food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled on this place during our second visit to Lucignano. Writing this review and reading others i think this restaurant has had its day. Staff was fairly welcoming with only one table of people in the restaurant. Staff had no real proper training in serving, getting our order wrong. I also noticed the other table of diners were also frustrated and complaining. The food was frankly appalling for Italian cuisine, the vast majority of Italians cook with such passion and pride and there was nothing whatsoever to be proud about in this restaurant. Poor quality cooking, poor produce, such a shame to waste one special night of your holiday in such a badly run restaurant. Will certainly not be back, avoid !

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We visited here on a wet stormy evening. The girl serving/ hosting was very polite, but as became clear, needs training in service. The food was dreadful. We shared a Caprese starter. Cheese and tomato. Basic. What could go wrong? Unripened hard tomato, commercially produced Mozarella. Ok, so Hubster has a pizza. Easy.....? Topping tomato, unripe, Mozarella not even soft and ham, just the one skimpy meagre slice and you would need a chainsaw to cut it! I asked for a glass of house wine, it was the colour of urine, smelt like soggy socks, not even close to disgraceful! We asked for still water, it arrived making a noise like a fly doing its ablutions. Yes. Gassy and distasteful. In all, a dreadful experience, shame as the waiting girl was sweet.

We eat in all kinds of places, and my reviews are honest, so I cannot imagine how previous reviews have been so kind to this place.

I would avoid at all cost no matter how hungry!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante La Maggiolata also viewed

Lucignano, Province of Arezzo
Lucignano, Province of Arezzo
 
Lucignano, Province of Arezzo
Lucignano, Province of Arezzo
 

Been to Ristorante La Maggiolata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante La Maggiolata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.