We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Castello di San Sebastiano da Po

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Castello di San Sebastiano da Po to your Saves list
Castello di San Sebastiano da Po
via Novarina 9 | Via Novarina 9, 10020 San Sebastiano da Po, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

Atmospheric and architecturally fascinating place to stay made better by fantastic hosts and a genuine warm welcome. Luca and his family could not do enough to make our stay special and there was no better night during our stay than tucked up by the log fire with a couple of bottles of local red some prosciutto and good local cheese. An evident pride in the place is reflected in the owners approach both to the upkeep of the Castello and ensuring we had a great experience.We've stayed in some of the most expensive hotels in the world and wouldn't go back, we'd go back to this gem tomorrow.

Don't trust the sat nav to find the actual address, follow the Via Ragonda to the Castello at the end of the road

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
40
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stumbled across the castello by accident. It could not have been a better surprise. The castello was wonderful, every bit authentic but simple and unpretentious. Our hosts were charming, sharing with us their passion for art and the castle's history. We had a lovely meal at a restaurant a few meters away from the castle walls. Our stay was one of the highlights of our trip and we have every intention of going back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center
Top Contributor
368 reviews 368 reviews
193 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Wonderful, recommended stay in a noble palace, with rustic stables, Italian garden, greenhouse, yard, church and frescos-decorated ball room. Not everywhere in renovated conditions -and this is the real charm. Go there and forget the third millenium.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

My wife and I visited the castle about 6 years ago, from the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out we had an amazing time.

The castle is located atop a hill with fantastic views of the surrounding countryside and the foothills of the alps in the distance. We were hooked on the lifestlye after our first visit and have returned over the years with our growing family. The grounds are beautiful, secure and perfect for kids to explore. You enter the castle through a medieval gate into a fabulous courtyard were you are warmly greeted by the owners. The castle is stunning with lots of history and rustic charm. We ate simple sublime food in the surrounding villages and took day rips into Turin and the surrounding areas.

I would safely say that this hotel has something special when it comes to eascaping from our sometimes hectic worklife. We will most certainly return again and again and I will have no hesitation recommending it to couples or families looking for a little peace of heaven!

Room Tip: The loft / barn is perfect for kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

It's from 18th century so not the typical medioeval castle but looking more like an ancient Italian villa on the top of a hill. It's definitely magnificent, for its size and its park, perfect for weddings (it can do both ceremony and reception). The owner is a family who actually lives in part of the building. My impression is that the cost of maintenance must be huge and they struggle a bit to keep up with the intervention required. Our room was more like an apartment, with loads of ancient furniture (including a piano!). Not much had been changed since it was initially built, which is both the pro and con, as the smell of "old" was not necessarily pleasant, same for the dust. The bathroom was modern and spacious, but not that comfortable as it didn't have tower rails, no curtain or any other protection on the bath, and no curtain on the window. Not sure if that room is rented regularly as it didn't look anywhere similar to the photos on the internet. We went for a wedding and the hotel was full. The breakfast room was an authentic big kitchen from a few centuries ago with lots of ancient furniture and kitchen tools, but again not much attention to detail as a big light shade was broken and the quality of the food was average. With more attention to detail, this would be a 5 star luxury place.

Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

If you want to see real rustic Italy with all mod cons, this is a must.. Magnificent ancient italian castle with bags of space. Chivasso is a small town about 10 mins drive.- wonderful market, 45 minutes easy train ride to Turin and an hour from the picturesque Lake Orta and the vineyards of Barolo.

Luca was a charming host (and speaks perfect English!) giving plenty of advice on where to go and how to get there! Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was included and there were a number of restaurants within 5 mins drive (one within 5 mins walking distance). A tour of the castle will take you back in time and for the children there is plenty of space both indoors and out within a completely safe environment.

This was my second visit and I will certainly go again. May even learn to speak italian!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Luca is a wonderful host and his family's castle is really a very special place to visit. 22 guest rooms so lots of space and a pool is going in later in 2011. Great hiking and restaurants nearby. Would recommend to families, couples, anyone really! Dont hesitate to book!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Castello di San Sebastiano da Po? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castello di San Sebastiano da Po

Address: via Novarina 9 | Via Novarina 9, 10020 San Sebastiano da Po, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Turin > San Sebastiano da Po
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in San Sebastiano da Po
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Castello di San Sebastiano da Po reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castello di San Sebastiano da Po, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.