We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Natural setting, cottage feel charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Westwind Inn on the Lake

Save Saved
You added Westwind Inn on the Lake to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westwind Inn on the Lake
Box 91, Hwy. #36, Buckhorn, Ontario K0L 1J0 , Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Buckhorn
Richmond hill
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Natural setting, cottage feel charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

This is a charming little inn, with a cottage feel. We stayed in one of the chalets. Plenty of room and very cozy.
Very quiet and peaceful. Definitly the place to go to relax.
The grounds are for the most part left natural with a lot of wild flower gardens.
The walking trail is maintained and a easy walk., with wildlife ( turtles, snakes, otters, turkey vultures, butterflies, etc ).
The breakfast went buffet this year and is fairly basic. At the end of our stay we had a chat with the owners and hopefully they will be adding a cooking and toast station.
The dinners are very good. The menu does not change on a daily basis, but there is plenty of food groups to choice from and they add nightly specials from Fri - Sun.
The staff were always friendly and curtious.
Definitly a return visit in the future.
Doug & Cheryl

  • Liked — Walking trails and the peace and quiet
  • Disliked — Buffet breakfast - not a fan
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    39
    15
    19
    13
See reviews for
15
92
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2008

This is a charming inn with lovely views. The staff are friendly, the facility is clean and the food is very good.
The pool is especially excellent.
I would highly recommend this facility for a couples getaway.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Water a little weedy.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

We husband and I decided to stay somewhere quiet at the end of a long and hectic trip. We stayed for 3 days in the separate cottage and had a wonderful room with a balcony. The whole area was so quiet and peaceful you could hear birds singing, see beavers and otters playing in the lake - quite remarkable. The staff went out of their way to be helpful and make us feel welcome and at home. The food was excellent, the dining room looked out over the lake and we were left to enjoy the surroundings and not hurried away from our table. We loved our time here and didn't want to leave but we had a plane to catch and had to come home. We would defifnitely stay here again. Thank you everyone for making our stay so memorable.

  • Liked — The peaceful location, good food and friendly staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

I discovered Westwind Inn at resorts Ontario website under "spas".
I had to write a quick note - My husband and I stayed for 4 days last week( July 8-11 ) and I am still smiling!! A resort with wonderfully friendly, knowledgeable staff who did not interupt our privacy. The rooms in the inn are very nice with balconys -not huge, however the resort is so representive of northern Canada we were rarely in our room. Hiking, swiming ( in the lake or their pool- which was so appreciated since the Lake was a little weedy this year due to zebra mussels effect ) but that made the fishing very succesful, :) We rented their motor boat for a day and both caught small mouth and large mouth bass. We took a wonderful 3 km canoe ride ( canoe provided by the resort) through this gorgeous lake and its interesting side bays . Two of the nights I had a perfectly timed massage- right at the resort. All meals are delish and in a restaurant over looking the lake .
WOW if you are looking, check these wonderful people out.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2008

July 9/08 We just returned from a five day vacation. This is an adult resort and we found it to be very, very relaxing. The activities included were canoeing, kayacking, paddle boats, water bicycles, new swimming pool, hot tub, sauna, mini putt, hammocks for two and last but not least beautiful views of lower Buckhorn Lake.
The food was excellent and the staff was very accomodating. The rooms were quiet.
Perry P and Cathy M

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2008

Extreemly over priced! There is a dining room but it wasn't open. Also a lounge...not open! The floors creep unbelievably, kept awake til after midnight. Could even hear the person above unrolling the toilet paper. The building was in need of a reno about 10 yrs ago. We were up at 8, no coffee or staff to be found. Finally left resort at 8:45 in search for coffee and breakfast.
I had planned a surprise romantic evening for my husband, looking for something diffrent to do.
Wish they had of told me ahead of time that there would be no food or ANYTHING to do. I would surely have taken my $185 elseware.
I cannot believe this is part of Resorts Ontario!

  • Disliked — Nothing for food or entertainment
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
itsirk, owner at Westwind Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, October 23, 2008
What a strange complaint!

Our dining room was open as our rates include meals.

We had many guests as "Sadley" said... and our rates include a lovely dinner and full hot breakfast.

However, "Sadley" booked "room only" no meals. They were quoted the all inclusive rate but I guess they were on a budget and requested a lower price rate with no meals.

Breakfast is served only to those on a meal package either full or Bed & Breakfast and not open to the public. There are no prices on the menu and no one is at the cash register.

We serve fresh fruit, juices, coffee, pancakes, eggs, sausage, ham, bacon, homefries, french toast, eggs benedict, cheese filled omlettes....muffins... granola... yogurt...

Often on weekends people like to sleep in and breakfast does not start until 9:00 a.m. if that is what the guests request.

We are fully licenced and anyone at front desk or in the dining room is happy to serve drinks to our guests. We do not have a bartender sitting behind the bar .... most of the time guests have a drink at or just before dinner in the dining room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

My wife and I were looking for a quiet, romantic resort, and we thought paying a premium price, $1000.00 for 2 nights (including dinners and breakfasts) would guarantee us our best experience yet. We were extremely disappointed.

We had already stayed at the The Bear Trail Inn, The Ben Miller Inn, The Little Inn in Bayfield, and the Westover Inn. We enjoyed all of these inns, which were less expensive, so we were expecting something very special.

The location and scenery of the Westwind Inn are truly beautiful. The restaurant was also good or at least average for this type of resort.

Our dissappointment came with the lack of peace and quiet. The hall floor creeked loudly whenever someone walked by our room. We could hear other guests speaking through the walls and ceiling. On our first night, we were awoken at 4 a.m. to the sounds of our upstairs neighbours packing and leaving in the middle of the night. This was very surprizing as this resort advertises peace and quiet as a primary selling point.

Our greatest dissappointment came when my wife went to ask to be moved to a quieter room. There was no manager or any other staff available on site at 4 a.m., and no contact telephone number was posted at the front desk. Later that morning, we finally spoke to a woman who I believe was the owner. She denied that the inn was noisy and accused us of being overly sensitive. She said she had no control over when the other guests decided to leave the hotel. We asked to be moved to a quieter room in another building for our second night. The woman then accused us of being dishonest and trying to get a free room upgrade. We then believed that we couldn't possibly enjoy our stay, so we decided to leave the Inn. However, when we asked for a refund for our second nights stay, we were denied a refund. Then we decided to try to make the best of the experience and stayed the second night.

Finally, when we went to check out the next morning, the same woman said to my wife, "I am sorry you are such an unhappy person." We found this remark to be completely inappropriate and offensive, and we will never return to the Westwind Inn.

  • Liked — The location and scenery are very beautiful.
  • Disliked — It is not quiet, and the management was not genuinely concerned about our experience.
  • Stayed October 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Westwind Inn on the Lake, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
We are told by our many repeat & new guests that we provide more peace and quiet than most resorts and inns they visit. When there are a lot of people together in one building there is bound to be some sound created.

Most guests are early to bed and early to rise. No noisy night life offered. The inn is built of wood and wood floors do creak. There is very little foot traffic anywhere in the inn. The restaurant is open only for a brief time at breakfast and dinner and mostly for in house guests.

We have only 31 rooms in the main lodge and our check in is around 4:00 p.m. and guests arrive in time for dinner.

Check out is by 11:00 a.m. and very few check out before then as guests stay for breakfast. A few staff may pass by your door for a brief time for the breakfast shift which is not very early ...they are told to be quiet.. and they are. Most guests are up and showering by this time to be ready for breakfast.

Its true we do not have any control over another guest who wishes to leave in the middle of the night. Its very rare. Perhaps he had an emergency. Perhaps it was another reason. I am sure it did not take him long to leave and then there was silence since the room was empty. There were no other complaints.

Management phone number is clearly posted at the front desk if you need assistance, but if the offending person left, the noise was gone, so why move at 4:00 a.m. You would have disturbed a lot more guests by moving to another room at 4:00 a.m., not to mention waking up the owners who live on site and must be up early to start another day.

Move to another building? We would have gladly moved you there in the morning if there was a vacancy ( and if you wished to pay the higher rate).

Our chalet has 4 luxury suites , 2 on each floor. Very quiet, private, serene, built in 1997. Larger rooms. Higher rate.
.
As with most resorts/inns, there is no adjustment/refund for early departure, missed meals or late arrival.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Westwind Inn on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwind Inn on the Lake

Address: Box 91, Hwy. #36, Buckhorn, Ontario K0L 1J0 , Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Buckhorn
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Buckhorn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westwind is a quaint family owned resort providing nature, tranquility & relaxation. The inn houses 31 cozy log cabin style rooms with fireplace, balcony, antiques & original art-6 with jet tubs for two. Our chalet has 4 larger units with many extra touches. We provide a welcoming atmosphere with complimentary activities for every season, friendly staff, outstanding surroundings & superb dining. Majority of our clientele are repeat or referral, we hope you will become one also! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Westwind Inn on the Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwind Inn On The Lake Hotel Buckhorn
Westwind Hotel Buckhorn
Westwind Resort Buckhorn
Westwind Inn On The Lake Buckhorn, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Westwind Inn on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.