We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A country hotel, getting better and better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riebeek Valley Hotel

Riebeek Valley Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riebeek-West
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riebeek Valley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Dennehof Street, Riebeek-West 7306, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Riebeek-West
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“A country hotel, getting better and better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

I have seen this beautiful Victorian hotel sporadically for the past 10 years, also attended a garden wedding where all the guests could stay in the hotel - a lot of fun! It is clear that the new owners are working non-stop at upgrades and expansions, with an amazing collection of antiques and paintings. The pool has recently been converted into an organic pool and this will take some time to optimize, but the water was lovely and soft. Everybody working there is friendly, proud of their work and very hospitable. I am sad to see these negative comments, because my stay was just lovely.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

the pond is smelly the garden and the building is in need of attention!!4 star? please the peson grading the place must be blind! everthing is old and in need of replacement, even some staff are neerly as old as the building, and the owner walking around with a cane lookoing like a hobo!!

Room Tip: Please rather stay in one of the B&B nearby or the Royal Hotel in Riebeek Kasteel, just eat at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Riebeek-West hotels

Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

I must say that i get really scared when i see a tourism grading of 4 stars for this hotel. It is in the region of a 3 star hotel and is in serious need of an overhaul. It says no diving in the swimming pool yet the pool , probably due to lack of care has been converted into a pond. The rooms are clean but very basic. They also are not scared to charge which i find the most upsetting as we paid R1450 for our double room. You can find a lovely B&B for half the price and better amenities.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2007

Avoid at all costs!

A has been hotel!
Advertised as a "Luxury" 4 star hotel, it would stuggle to get 3 stars!

Shabby, rundown, skeleton staff, dismal facilities, dirty pool, restaurant and food basic.

In desperate need of T.L.C.

Very, very disappointing, don't be fooled by the pics on the website, it doesn't look like that anymore!

Save your money go elsewhere!

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The facilities and public areas were neglected and rundown.
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riebeek Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riebeek Valley Hotel

Address: 4 Dennehof Street, Riebeek-West 7306, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Riebeek-West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Riebeek-West
Hotel Class:4 star — Riebeek Valley Hotel 4*

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riebeek Valley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riebeek Valley Hotel to your Saves list