We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Thai Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crawfish

The Crawfish
Holt Road, Thursford, England
01328 878313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Restaurants in Thursford
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Thai Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have passed by this pub over many years but had never been in. Having planned a trip to the coast we made a reservation for the evening on our way home. We were very impressed, having eaten in many Thai restaurants we found the food here superior to any sampled before. The menu had a interesting range of dishes and the the meals we chose were superb. To add to the experience the bar adjacent to the dining room boats two handpumps and I was able to enjoy local Beeston's real ale with my meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    13
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chorleywood, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai from an unexpected environment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I've had a lot of Thai food in my time and was not expecting much from a "pub" in the middle of nowhere however I have to say I'm so glad we took a chance and got a take away as the food was fantastic! Lovely meaty and saucy pork ribs, chicken satay with a superb peanut sauce, delicious red chicken curry packed full of tender chicken and perfectly cooked vegetables and plenty of creamy spicy sauce! I'm really looking forward to my next visit already!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Visited in July 2013 with local daughter in law, friends and friends from Cape Town. Do not be put off by the look of the place. Over the last few years have visited several times, the staff are very helpful with advice on choosing dishes. The food once again was delicious and were generous portions. Would advise booking as very popular. Can't wait to return. Also does takeaway.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Superb Thia food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Visited this restaurant twice in early June and the meal was excellent. Don't be put off by the dowdy appearance of the place both in its exterior or interior décor. The food is excellent. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were very lucky to get in on a Friday night as we hadn't booked and therefore took a big chance. The service and the food was excellent. The staff were really helpful in advising on the dishes. We'd eaten Thai food several times before and therefore already had an inkling about some of the dishes. However, their portions are larger than what we normally get when visiting Thai restaurants in the Midlands. If you love Thai food, it's a must. But, book a table first.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crawfish also viewed

 

Been to The Crawfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crawfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.