We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing food in intimate surroundings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Fakenham Rd, Thursford NR21 0BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Thursford B&B and Inns
cambridge
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“amazing food in intimate surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed the night at The Old Forge and had a great time. Our room was nice, a little basic maybe but a comfortable bed and an en suite bathroom. The meal though was an amazing experience, everything was perfect in this small intimate restaurant. Breakfast in the morning was equally as good and we can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    4
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
1
25
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Just returned from a two night stay to visit the Spectacular. Food is, as always, amazing. Colin and Sarah are really welcoming and friendly and Colin (the chef) always takes the trouble to talk to the diners to ensure they are happy with their meal.

Will definitely return next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We booked the Old Forge for the second time, last night, before going on to the Just so good
Thursford Spectacular and received the same warm welcome as before (Xmas 2010).
Friendly staff showed us to our table and in no time Sarah was at our side just checking all was OK. Although it seems a strange time to eat, (4.30 ) our taste buds were soon buzzing with the
choices on the very full menu. I won't bore you with what we all eat but the 4 of us were really happy ( and Full) I know I shouldn't have but the Bread & Butter Pudding was crying out to be tasted so 1 ordered and 4 spoons , we all agreed that it was delicious.
Colin (chef a title he does not use) just checked every so often that all was OK.
Living in Norfolk we are very lucky to have many good Restaurants. But I can't wait for the spring/ summer to try one of Colin's, Fruit de Mer If it is half as good as last nights it will be wonderful.
Thanks to Colin, Sarah and the Staff

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munxar, Gozo
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had to travel to the UK and found this little gem on my travels. I was extremely tired and was in unfamiliar territory but the owners, Colin and Sarah offered me the warmest of welcomes. They advised me on what routes to take to my business destinations and when I returned in the evening an excellent menu awaited me. The rooms where clean and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning set me up for the day. I stayed for three nights and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times now over the past few years whilst working on setting up the Thursford Christmas Spectacular and it has never let me down. It's location is just a few minutes drive away from the venue and on a good road for getting around other parts of Norfolk. Colin and Sarah have always been great hosts and do everything they can to accommodate me and make me feel at home.

I still haven't managed to eat in the Restaurant for dinner due to always working late, but the Breakfast has always been fantastic. I'm staying here for 6 nights in a week so hope to enjoy the seafood then as I hear from many local people that it truly is well worth it.

Room wise it's a well ran B&B, so it's fresh and clean and gives a good night sleep. Broadband is available on request which means if you have Skype or Facetime and a laptop you can get past the typical Norfolk phone signal issues and still talk to your loved one if like me you work away.

I like it here, it's what a great B&B should be.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Very nice guy, good caracter and sometimes to familiar. Food was excelent, not realy cheap. The room we got was at the limit. No space, no shower, not what you can call cosy. Ikea furniture...
Very standard breakfast. Could not order. To expensive for the B&B.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

Found this fabulous restaraunt on trip advisor whilst looking for places to stay when attending the Christmas Thursford Spectacular show. What a find! The owners gave us a very warm welcome and although the room we stayed in was very basic, the food was out of this world! A little pricey but worth every penny! Can especially recommend the bread & butter pudding for afters!!! We shall be eating here again - shame we live so far away!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast

Address: Fakenham Rd, Thursford NR21 0BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Thursford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Thursford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant And Bed And Breakfast Thursford, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Forge Seafood Restaurant and Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.