We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McWilliam Park Hotel

Save Saved
You added McWilliam Park Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
McWilliam Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Claremorris
Uncasville, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

While having dinner in Claremorris I asked the bartender if he could suggest a B & B for the night. The couple sitting near me heard me ask & told me about this gem. The McWilliam Park Hotel. Beautiful hotel, nice people, very clean, upscale. It was like staying in a Sheraton in the US. I paid the B&B price of $65.00 for the night. This was one of my top 2 favorite hotels for my 13 day stay in Ireland. I would definitely stay here again without a doubt if in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    169
    84
    49
    22
    15
See reviews for
106
118
7
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tullamore
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was my third stay at this hotel. I found it another plesant experience. The room was fresh,clean and welcoming.
The evening carvery meal was a disappointment though. It seemed to have been hanging around too long.
The evening dancing was a real treat.Keep it up!!
We also enjoyed the pool etc.
Breakfast was excellent - plenty to choose from and I must say the full Irish was cooked and presented to perfection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have stayed here a few times- most recently on Aug 25th 2013- rooms nice and clean and comfy, meal very nice. Very child friendly hotel- playroom and the pool is a big hit with our children. Friendly helpful staff. Keep up the good work.

We would recommend it to prospective guests.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

tvisited hotel on the 17.08 2013 arrived at the hotel was met by receptonist nearly bit my head off as i had arrived at 13 50 for check in not 1500 pm my wife observed same never have i expierienced such a bad wellcome too busy to wellcome me i know that check in is 3pm but do not dismiss me in such a manner totally un professional also wedding on day wedding took over hotel incident in bar re same i have been a guest in hotel on many times worst expierience in hotel will not encourage guests to return we were trying to use local hotel as my wife is from area not good expierience at all

Room Tip: stay in old part of hotel in the back better rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

McWilliam Park is a wonderful hotel. We stayed there recently for two nights. The staff were excellent very helpful and friendly. The room had all you needed for a short break - tea , television and toiletries! The hotel was spotless. Plenty of seating in the foyer. There was entertainment in the bar both nights and a live band in the function room so If you like music and dancing it's the place to be!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleggan, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I think its a great hotel with mostly local staff employed and it also child friendly.
We are regulars for the country music weekends and have made so many news friends there.
Its on a 10 minute drive to Knock Shrine and 20 minutes to the county town of Castlebar.
In general i think the Mcwilliam Park Hotel and staff are super.

Room Tip: staff brillant everything perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shizuoka
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here. On arrival it was very noticeable it was a kids friendly family hotel which worried us as there was just the two of us.
However it turned out to be an excellent stay. The professional mainly local staff were extremely helpful and the food in the American west coast style interior restaurant was truly 5 star quality.
The jacuzzi and gym are great but this hotels staff make the awarded 4 stars in what could be just another Celtic tiger hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to McWilliam Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McWilliam Park Hotel

Address: Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Claremorris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — McWilliam Park Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4*McWilliam Park Hotel located in Claremorris, Co.Mayo. From the moment you walk into the McWilliam Park Hotel you will be welcomed with genuine hospitality. Dine in John Grays Restaurant with our A La Carte Menu. Our bedrooms are decorated with rich textures and plush furnishings, featuring flat screen TV, DVD player, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During the day, enjoy pampering in the hotel's health & beauty salon, take a swim in the 18 metre swimming pool, or unwind in the Jacuzzi. Enjoy outdoor leisure activities including a Cruise on Lough Corrib, Horse riding and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Venere so you can book your McWilliam Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcwilliam Park Claremorris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McWilliam Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.