We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location good facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of McWilliam Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added McWilliam Park Hotel to your Saves list
McWilliam Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claremorris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Galway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Convenient location good facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Friendly efficient staff. Be sure to ask for a quiet room as hotel often hosts concerts which can be noisy. Popular lunch buffet in bar but no veggie option otherwise good and restaurant staff attentive. Good base from which to explore Mayo

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    112
    67
    25
    20
See reviews for
135
151
9
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We spent a lovely weekend here for a family wedding .beautiful food pleasant room .my only gripe was the noise at night. Due to there being three weddings taking place the very inconsiderate guests spoilt the reputation of the hotel by shouting at un earthly times ,I would like to express how lovely the staff were especially Gabrielle in the restraunt .would come again but not when weddings are taking place .also staff in spa were really nice and a credit to the hotel .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Ann

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hotel on Trip Advisor.

We value all feedback and it is only by taking it on board that we can continue to improve our service to our guests.

When we have large numbers of guests attending functions we do monitor all areas to ensure guests are not disturbed by those who wish to celebrate later.

We are sorry that we failed you on this visit and we are working with our staff to ensure more monitoring takes place and there is no disruption to guests.

Thank you for your comments to the Staff which we will pass on and use as basis for training in Customer care.

Best wishes and we look forward to have you as a guest again soon.

Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed her for 3 nights for a wedding and were very impressed. Rooms were clean, warm and beds were so comfortable. We didnt get our room serviced by choice over 2 days but found a bag of fresh towels on our door on the 2nd morning which was lovely. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The whole atmosphere of the hotel was relaxing and comfortable. The function room was lovely and food spot on. Great value for money - would definitely stay here again. Within walking distance of the town. Staff in beauty salon in the hotel were also great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Had a Family meal here in Feburary . From the time we entered J Gs Restaurant the staff were so helpful showed us to our tabels. once seated we were given the menu and a drinks order was taken. When the dinner arrived it was lovely loads of meat and veg and seconds helping if you need them.The staff were great very friendly and were great with children in our party bringing them a small treat after dinner.I would highly recommend this hotel for a meal and i will definately be returning sooner rather than later.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Hi Mickey Joe
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of the Hotel.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience at JGs Restaurant.

We look forward to you coming back to visit in the near future.

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel a few times, especially on music weekends, and always found it top class. Reception excellent, great rooms, top class bar, food top class, and always great music, wheather in the bar or the function room.The staff are very helpful, and always attentive to customers needs. In case they read this and get too big headed, I do have one complaint. We were in the function room one night, and got plastic containers for our beer. Had one from the plastic container, and went to the main bar for the rest, and brought them into the function room. Happy Days and had a great night. This only happened once, so maybe someone else felt the same as us.
So if you are in the West of Ireland, like good country and western music, head for the McWilliam Park Hotel, but get there early, there may be a big crowd there. We also got some great deals of the internet for the Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. The only person who knows what you want is you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi James

Thank you for your lovely words on the McWilliam Park Hotel.
It is great to know that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities.
I have noted your comments with regards to our plastic containers and I have passed them on to our Directors.

We look forward to having you stay with us again

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overnighted here recently on a business trip. Rooms and Gym are reasonable and bar is nice and comfortable however the food was poor. Stayed in the Bar to watch a soccer game and ordered soup and FishnChips. Soup cold and fish hot but tasted like the frozen variety you get in cheap section of Freezer store. A few chips in a bowl came with this. Not a bit like real Fisn n Chip fodder so why bother calling it Fisn n Chips? Really dissapointing especially if u are paying €15 plus. Breakfast was standard fare but whilst waiting I overheard a guest remarking they couldnt get a soft poached egg. Hey presto mine arrived and it was hard too. Staff are pleasant and place is clean and bright so management need to work on sorting the food issues out and then it might be a four star. At present its only a three (despite being advertised as a four). Friendly staff and good premises deserve better-so cmon Chef !

Room Tip: Rooms at front of Hotel face a main road if u are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the McWilliam Park Hotel.
We are disappointed that you did not find our food to the standards you expect from a 4* Hotel.

I have discussed this with our Executive Chef and we are in the midst of designing a new Bar Menu which we hope will satisfy your tastes.

We will also take into account your comments on the prices of the dishes.

We obviously disappointed you on this visit but I am confident you will enjoy a vast improvement on your next stay.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night 28th of April for 99 euro bed breakfast and evening meal. From the time we entered the hotel the staff were so helpful and friendly. Dinner was top class and the service was excellent. The food was of a very high standard. Breakfast was lovely with a huge range of cereals, nuts, seeds, breads, fruit, fruit juices and pastries. Full irish or whatever you wanted to order. Asked for a nice room when booking and got a beautiful room that was very spacious. We would highly recommend this hotel for service, food, and value for money. We will definately return. Would highly recommend this hotel for the golden oldies as the staff couldn't do enough for the older people staying there. The staff are a credit to the hotel nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: We got a top floor so it would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McWilliam Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McWilliam Park Hotel

Address: Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — McWilliam Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4*McWilliam Park Hotel located in Claremorris, Co.Mayo. From the moment you walk into the McWilliam Park Hotel you will be welcomed with genuine hospitality. Dine in John Grays Restaurant with our A La Carte Menu. Our bedrooms are decorated with rich textures and plush furnishings, featuring flat screen TV, DVD player, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During the day, enjoy pampering in the hotel's health & beauty salon, take a swim in the 18 metre swimming pool, or unwind in the Jacuzzi. Enjoy outdoor leisure activities including a Cruise on Lough Corrib, Horse riding and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your McWilliam Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcwilliam Park Claremorris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McWilliam Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.