We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of many stays.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McWilliam Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added McWilliam Park Hotel to your Saves list
McWilliam Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claremorris
Clonmel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“One of many stays.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have stayed in this hotel a few times, especially on music weekends, and always found it top class. Reception excellent, great rooms, top class bar, food top class, and always great music, wheather in the bar or the function room.The staff are very helpful, and always attentive to customers needs. In case they read this and get too big headed, I do have one complaint. We were in the function room one night, and got plastic containers for our beer. Had one from the plastic container, and went to the main bar for the rest, and brought them into the function room. Happy Days and had a great night. This only happened once, so maybe someone else felt the same as us.
So if you are in the West of Ireland, like good country and western music, head for the McWilliam Park Hotel, but get there early, there may be a big crowd there. We also got some great deals of the internet for the Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for what you want. The only person who knows what you want is you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hi James

Thank you for your lovely words on the McWilliam Park Hotel.
It is great to know that you enjoyed our hotel and its facilities.
I have noted your comments with regards to our plastic containers and I have passed them on to our Directors.

We look forward to having you stay with us again

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    100
    59
    25
    18
See reviews for
128
136
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Overnighted here recently on a business trip. Rooms and Gym are reasonable and bar is nice and comfortable however the food was poor. Stayed in the Bar to watch a soccer game and ordered soup and FishnChips. Soup cold and fish hot but tasted like the frozen variety you get in cheap section of Freezer store. A few chips in a bowl came with this. Not a bit like real Fisn n Chip fodder so why bother calling it Fisn n Chips? Really dissapointing especially if u are paying €15 plus. Breakfast was standard fare but whilst waiting I overheard a guest remarking they couldnt get a soft poached egg. Hey presto mine arrived and it was hard too. Staff are pleasant and place is clean and bright so management need to work on sorting the food issues out and then it might be a four star. At present its only a three (despite being advertised as a four). Friendly staff and good premises deserve better-so cmon Chef !

Room Tip: Rooms at front of Hotel face a main road if u are a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for your comments about your stay at the McWilliam Park Hotel.
We are disappointed that you did not find our food to the standards you expect from a 4* Hotel.

I have discussed this with our Executive Chef and we are in the midst of designing a new Bar Menu which we hope will satisfy your tastes.

We will also take into account your comments on the prices of the dishes.

We obviously disappointed you on this visit but I am confident you will enjoy a vast improvement on your next stay.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night 28th of April for 99 euro bed breakfast and evening meal. From the time we entered the hotel the staff were so helpful and friendly. Dinner was top class and the service was excellent. The food was of a very high standard. Breakfast was lovely with a huge range of cereals, nuts, seeds, breads, fruit, fruit juices and pastries. Full irish or whatever you wanted to order. Asked for a nice room when booking and got a beautiful room that was very spacious. We would highly recommend this hotel for service, food, and value for money. We will definately return. Would highly recommend this hotel for the golden oldies as the staff couldn't do enough for the older people staying there. The staff are a credit to the hotel nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: We got a top floor so it would be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed here on a 99 euro bed breakfast plus dinner package. Staff are excellent. Unfortunately the same cant be said about the food. Dinner menu, soup was fine, the main was cold and dessert poor. For breakfast my husband had the full Irish, which was okay. I had bacon and mushrooms. Big plate, with 2 small pieces of bacon. A couple of spoons of very tiny mushrooms. Not much bigger than a shirt button. Rooms are clean. Bed comfortable. Disappointed that in a 4 star hotel there is no fridge or mini bar.

Room Tip: Maybe eat somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Hi there
Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at the McWilliam Park Hotel.
We are disappointed that you did not find our food to the standards you expect from a 4* Hotel.
We are taking this very seriously and have highlighted it with the Executive Chef and her team.

Please rest assured we are using your comments as the basis for our training session and I am confident you will have a great dining experience on your next visit.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the near future.

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager


, the main was cold and dessert poor. For breakfast my husband had the full Irish, which was okay. I had bacon and mushrooms. Big plate, with 2 small pieces of bacon. A couple of spoons of very tiny mushrooms. Not much bigger than a shirt button. Rooms are clean. Bed comfortable. Disappointed that in a 4 star hotel there is no fridge or mini bar.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just back from McWilliam Park Hotel. What a weekend we had. We met our friends from Dublin down there. From the moment we arrived they could not do enough for us. Really friendly people. Will be back in a flash. The Manager came and set me up on my PC. Couldn't be nicer - didn't get his name - thank you so much. We were just so relaxed - music and food superb!!! They know how to treat people when they are on a break. Back to work tomorrow to save for my next weekend at McWilliam!!!!! Loved it. Thanks again to all the staff for being so helpful and friendly. Had a great nite in Kavanagh's bar last nite with a homely sing song and accordion player. Music there Saturday nite and on Sunday afternoon. Really brill!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I can only say this is a well run hotel at very reasonable price,on tuesdays you get a main course for €5 and there is good choice Even cup of te and biscuit free dont know how they manage to make money with those prices and a pleasent smile from all the staff highly recomend this hote,staff are very friendly,well done, MICHAEL DONEGAL TOWN

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Good morning Michael

Thank you for your very positive comments regarding your visit to the Hotel.

Our Tuesday €5 Lunch has become very popular and we are delighted with its success.

We are glad you commend our staff as we recognize that they are indeed an essential part of our success.

Look forward to see you back in the Hotel in the near future

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The McWilliam can be accurately reviewed as a three star hotel.
The walls are thin and the furnishings sparse.
The staff tries hard but clearly the hotel is average in it's amenities.
The food and the service in the bar areas were good.

Room Tip: try to get an end room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcwilliamparkhotel, Manager at McWilliam Park Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Travelingman826

Thank you for your recent review of our Hotel on Trip Advisor.

Our Hotel received its 4 stars from TAMS the body responsible for Hotel Classification in Ireland.
This was awarded and we receive regular visits to ensure we remain a 4 star standard.

We have a full maintenance programme to ensure all areas of the Hotel remain in the pristine condition that you would expect in a 4 star Hotel.

We are glad that you enjoyed our food and that you were well looked after by our staff.

We recognize that our people are our best asset and we are very lucky with the staff we have working at the McWilliam Park Hotel who are committed to delivering the best in customer service at all times.

May I wish you well in your travels and express our sympathies to all our friends in Boston at this troubled time for your city.

I look forward to see you back in Ireland and the McWilliams Park Hotel in the not too distant future.

Best wishes
Alan Hynes
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McWilliam Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McWilliam Park Hotel

Address: Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — McWilliam Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4*McWilliam Park Hotel located in Claremorris, Co.Mayo. From the moment you walk into the McWilliam Park Hotel you will be welcomed with genuine hospitality. Dine in John Grays Restaurant with our A La Carte Menu. Our bedrooms are decorated with rich textures and plush furnishings, featuring flat screen TV, DVD player, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During the day, enjoy pampering in the hotel's health & beauty salon, take a swim in the 18 metre swimming pool, or unwind in the Jacuzzi. Enjoy outdoor leisure activities including a Cruise on Lough Corrib, Horse riding and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your McWilliam Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcwilliam Park Claremorris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McWilliam Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.