We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of McWilliam Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added McWilliam Park Hotel to your Saves list
McWilliam Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claremorris
Doncaster, Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Just had two nights at this hotel whilst visiting relatives in the area. The hotel is immaculate and all the staff seem to have real pride in their jobs. Leisure pool, etc. was fabulous, the hotel had a real buzz about it. Had a family room (only two of us) beds and bedding were fabulous> there was a jive competition going on in the Hotel for the two nights and it was packed. They seem to have things on the whole time> Staff were all lovely, especially our breakfast waiter. Would highly recommend it, excellent offers

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    100
    59
    25
    18
See reviews for
128
136
7
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gorey, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

we have just returned from 2 nights in this hotel and I can concur with many opinions already offered by others. Friendly staff and surprisingly busy hotel but there were lots of little and not so little things that need to be improved for long term viability in a tough world. Above all else, the noise from the road to the front of the hotel throughout the night and particularly from 6.30am onwards is substantial yet the windows seem single glazed. The noise from other hotel rooms (babies crying) wasnt a problem on night one but woke me several times on night two. The pool is FREEZING and unsupervised - a little undaunting although there are signs everywhere to says so and there are staff around nearly all the time. Found the food fine but the full Irish was too greasy for the other half. Bar staff and bar food lovely. Didn't kill ourselves looking but is there anything to do in Claremorris??? Croke Patrick and Westport near enough but the traffic jams in Tuam on Sunday due to on going roadworks would put anyone off travelling.

Room Tip: Go for the back of the hotel, away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Hello, my fiance and two children had an overnight stay at the Mcwilliam Park hotel just after the New Years, we decided to go away for the night for a little peace and quiet after the christmas holidays.

When we arrived the hotel staff were friendly and courteous. We had booked a family room which was nice and comfortable, the furniture was a little out dated by the room e.g the tv and decor were modern in comparrison to the furniture, but it was still comfortable non the less.

We used the leisure facilities which where good, the pool was heated and there was a small pool for the younger children, which my son loves.
The hotel at night was nice and quiet, I would say because there where no parties or weddings on that night so we all had a great nights sleep, except for the chainsaw noise coming from behind the hotel early the next morning.

We where having a fantastic time until we went down for breakfast, we where kind of shocked that we had to have breakfast in the bar, and not a restaurant. I think the bar was the restaurant because it was set up for carvery too. The smell from the bar wasn't too appetizing first thing in the morning. They had no orange juice, it was just like squash (diluted), apple juice and water. There was no croissants or anything like that. When we did order our hot breakfast, we then went to make our tea, I poured out the milk into the three cups of tea, then I realised the milk was sour, so we had to get them replaced. There was only one waitress, and she was run of her feet looking after everyone. If you wanted butter you had to ask for it separate. I personally didn't like the sausages, they tasted like a cheap version of what a sausage should be. The breakfast was very small and looked like it was precooked a few hours before, and you also got one hard rock piece of toast with your breakfast.

We where having a brilliant stay until the breakfast let it down I'm sorry to say. I would say that the hotel is a nice 3 star, but i don't think its worthy of a 4 star.

Room Tip: Check to see if there is anything going on in the hotel e.g weddings or parties and if so ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times over the last two years and I enjoy it immensely every time!
My family and I stayed from Christmas eve to St Stephen's Day just gone. We received the adjoining room we asked for on the 1st floor.

We ate in the bar Christmas eve as we did not realize we had a meal for the restaurant but the food was excellent and it was taken off our bill as we did not eat in the restaurant.

Christmas day dinner was divine and the service was very fast. They must have been very organized! A pleasant girl named Michelle served us most days for breakfast and dinner in the restaurant and she is excellent at her job!
The food on Stephen's day was divine also!

We had two young children who went to the Busy Bees club every evening of our stay. The girl Catherine who minded them is a Saint!! And a wonderfully friendly and overall nice girl!!
That kids club was a blessing as it entertained the children from 5.30pm until 10pm giving us a nice break and a chance to relax.

We used the pool twice during our stay and I personally found it a tad cold but the jacuzzi made up for it :)

The reception staff were very helpful as we enquired about staying an extra night (unfortunately we couldn't in the end!)

There was entertainment in the bar and a superb table quiz!

Overall I enjoyed my stay immensley and so did my family!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are perfect with children as they are close to the lobby but we never h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012 via mobile

Hotel closer to a two star from food to service to bedrooms. No soundproofing of bedroom doors leading onto hotel corridors. Noise from hotel lobby and bar echoes throughout the building due to atrium lobby ceiling. Staff tried to do their best but four star training was not at all evident. Hotel creates jobs for the area and it would be a shame if the owners did nothing to address the complaints of guests as it has potential to be a good hotel. Very dissatisfied that no reduction offered after genuine complaints made. Don't stay unless you intend partying all night and don't require sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

absolutely fabulous.....have to say I won a competition for a weekend away in this hotel and normally when you win competitions a lot of hotels have the tendancy to shove you in the most "unbooked" room in the hotel...but not in the Mc William Park, the hotel was spotless clean and the staff were second to none. The room was absouletly beautiful and very very tastefully decorated and even a huge bunch of fresh flowers. The bar was busy they day we arrived but service was really really fast and food was great would definatly stay there again....(dropping the hint as we speak to OH for the 40th)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 via mobile

Generally a good hotel, but greatly let down by key items. The main issue is the acoustics of the bedrooms, which allows ever bit of sound to travel. When I stayed I was forced to ring reception at half one in the morning because un-controlled kids were running riot. The children's playroom is too small and most toys are broken (the staff were great...). I booked two nights but had to return home after one because couldn't sleep! Breakfast was poor. The bar food was over priced.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to McWilliam Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McWilliam Park Hotel

Address: Kilcolman Road, Claremorris, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Mayo > Claremorris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Claremorris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — McWilliam Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4*McWilliam Park Hotel located in Claremorris, Co.Mayo. From the moment you walk into the McWilliam Park Hotel you will be welcomed with genuine hospitality. Dine in John Grays Restaurant with our A La Carte Menu. Our bedrooms are decorated with rich textures and plush furnishings, featuring flat screen TV, DVD player, and complimentary Wi-Fi. During the day, enjoy pampering in the hotel's health & beauty salon, take a swim in the 18 metre swimming pool, or unwind in the Jacuzzi. Enjoy outdoor leisure activities including a Cruise on Lough Corrib, Horse riding and Golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your McWilliam Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mcwilliam Park Claremorris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage McWilliam Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.