We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alisan Oriental Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Alisan Oriental Restaurant
3 Mount Street | Claremorris, Claremorris, Ireland
+3539377899
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 Restaurants in Claremorris
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Galway, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Spent 2 nights in Claremoris and and went to Alisan based on Trip Advisor reviews. Delighted we did.
Best 'Chinese' we've had in ages. Menu has a strong Thai slant and it was Thai dishes we ordered. Most on the recommendation of the very pleasant waitress.

A little dearer that your average Chinese Restaurant but well worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
westmeath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“omg!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

we spent a week in claremorris and on night 2 we came upon alisans and omg! i have never had food nicer!! we returned 3 nights later and we were not disappointed the food was fresh tasty and yummylicious!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We dine here on a regular basis and can recommend Alisan as being one of the best Chinese restaurants around. The oriental style surroundings are clean and very comfortable. The staff are pleasant and efficient. The food is excellent although pricey in comparison with other Chinese establishments. However, you really do get what you pay for here. The quality is there and that is worth the little extra..............

A point of note:

The prices charged for drinks are too high and need to be reviewed by management.

A tip:

Try the Amber Fire Fillet Steak which is truly excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Hard-to-beat Chinese!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

After one let-down of an evening meal in our hotel stay in Claremorris, my friend and I decided we would look for another venue for the next evening meal. While in the hotel hot tub, the conversation turned to food, and a Claremorris local recommended Alisans and gave us directions. Since we both enjoy good Chinese food, we decided to give this restaurant a try. Upon arrival, we were immediately seated. There were 3 other tables occupied. All seemed to be locals: a group of 6 gals, a family of 5, and a family of 4. Seemingly, Andrea was the only waitress on duty. It took her at least 15 minutes to even bring us water! (Although she seemed to be attentive enough to the other tables). I convinced my friend (who was ready to get up and leave for lack of service) that those who recommended the restaurant made it sound like the food WOULD be worth our staying. Sure enough, once Andrea got to us and took our order, we had our food in good time. And it was FAB!!!! In fact, it was the best Chinese food I've had in Ireland since moving here 12 years ago! We will 'allow' Andrea a 'bad day' and encourage ALL to stop into Alisan Oriental for a meal of 'hard-to-beat Chinese'!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alisan Oriental Restaurant also viewed

 
Claremorris, County Mayo
Claremorris, County Mayo
 

Been to Alisan Oriental Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alisan Oriental Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.