We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful lunch experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flint in the Vines

Flint in the Vines
at Shaw Vineyard Estate | 34 Isabel Drive, Murrumbateman, New South Wales 2582, Australia
02 62275144
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Winery, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night Food, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Flint in the Vines is a vineyard restaurant provides more than just a dining experience. There's outdoor movies, live theatre, live music as well as our casual dining. Outdoor dining on the beautiful terraces in summer or open fire places in the winter. There's space for group bookings and weddings or a special event. Flint resides in Canberra Wine country, just 30 minutes out of town. It provides a quick getaway, a destination, and an opportunity to explore the wine region.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“A delightful lunch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We had purchased coupons for four for lunch, but a minor car accident resulted in just two of us going. A pity for the other couple as the lunch experience was delightful. We were moved to a table for two and watched the theatre of couples, foursomes and hens' parties all having a great time. The view from our table was out over the grapevines of the Shaw Vineyard Estate at Murrumbateman which is about 30 minutes north of Canberra. The coupons provided for three shared courses - a duck fois gras, a fantastically slow cooked lamb shoulder with salad and a cheese platter. The food was great, the service was spot on and we tried Shaw's Riesling and the Pinot Noir which the staff chilled at our request while we awaited our second course. We are now looking forward to going to Flint again soon with the other couple and trying the al a carte menu while they use their coupon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vines f, Owner at Flint in the Vines, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Stephen R

The Out in Canberra Deal for the 3 courses with our slow cooked lamb shoulder as the main course is a fantastic way to enjoy the best of our offering in a beautiful setting. I bet you didn't eat dinner that evening!?!

Our young team of staff thrive on positive feedback, so your time to tell us about your experience is greatly appreciated at many levels.

Thanks again,

The Flint in the Vines Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    47
    18
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Amazing Customer Service From Katie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Flint in the vines has gone above and beyond exceeding my expectations as a customer. The staff are so friendly and helpfull i will definatly be using them again and recommending them to others!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vines f, Owner at Flint in the Vines, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
HI Sarah

thank you for your feedback. It is greatly appreciated and I am so pleased that we could do something that was went above and beyond your expectations.

Kindest regards

Flint in the Vines
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“look forward to coming back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Have been to this lovely restaurant a couple of times and definitely will come back again. Excellent service, beautiful food, nice atmosphere. Menu is being updated regularly and it always has exciting dishes to choose. Definitely would reccomend the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vines f, Owner at Flint in the Vines, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi AustralianPeople,

thank you for letting us know that you have had multiple enjoyable experiences at our venue. We do get it right, not always, but we do try! We love receiving positive feedback, it means a lot to us and our young local team of staff.

Thank you and we look forward to the next time you visit us

Flint in the Vines Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrumbateman, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“How lucky are we to have Flint so close!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We love Flint.
The managers are amazing with their welcoming professional manner.
So lucky to have such a top class restaurant so close to home.
Always updating and varying the menus and functions on offer.Fab,love it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vines f, Owner at Flint in the Vines, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
HI Jennifer D

Thank you for your kind and reassuring words. We work hard as a small family business to keep it real and personal to the best of our abilities. It is wonderful to know that it doesn't go un-noticed and that you have had an enjoyable dining experience with us.

Look forward to the next time you come by. Perhaps you should pop in for one of our summer moonlight movie nights, they are great fun!

Flint in the Vines Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
337 reviews 337 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

There weren't many lunch options in Murrumbateman on December 28 and luckily we were able to get into Flint In The Vines. The place was packed inside as well as on the patio. The servers were very busy but friendly and efficient. Everything we had was great - the mushroom tartin ($16), confit duck maryland ($33), and two pizzas - pear and gorgonzola and pulled chicken ($18). Gluten free pizza is available. The bottle of Baby Doll Pinot Noir ($39) went down well. The winery cellar door adjoins the restaurant and they have an amazing range of Italian pottery.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vines f, Owner at Flint in the Vines, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Hi Travelling Tex

thank you so much for your kind words. That time of the year is particularly busy for us as there are many passer-bys in the region so come without bookings. We are excited to hear that your experience was as it should be.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit

Flint in the Vines Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flint in the Vines also viewed

Murrumbateman, New South Wales
 
Murrumbateman, New South Wales
Canberra, Greater Canberra
 

Been to Flint in the Vines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flint in the Vines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.